Springwinter day.

It looked rather nice for a while at least.

It looked rather nice for a while at least.

I think I would lie if I said we’re having another storm but the wind does blow rather hard today. It is well above 0C (32F) but the wind sort of destroy the feeling of warmer weather and the snow or/ and rain doesn’t help at all. Every now and again the clouds are so thin that the sun shines through but it really doesn’t help.

 

DSC_0024 (6)

DSC_0026 (5)

DSC_0027 (6)

DSC_0028 (6)

Normally one would say that up here we have four clearly divided seasons, spring, summer, autumn and winter but we Swedes have names for in the between periods too. Now for instance we have something we call springwinter. It’s not really winter any longer but spring isn’t near to start either. Nights are usually cold and days warm. It is sunny springwinter days that is perfect for those first picnics of the year. We just find a sunny spot where the wind doesn’t reach. One really feel energized after doing that πŸ™‚

 

A dead Juniper bush is a great place for lichens to grow on.

A dead Juniper bush is a great place for lichens to grow.

DSC_0031 (5)

DSC_0034 (7)

DSC_0044 (6)

Springwinter (in Swedish that’s one word so I write it that way in English too) is probably my favorite season, the birds sing, the sun stays up much longer and the first bulbs show and flower in the ground. Another season I like a lot is presummer, it isn’t spring any longer but really not summer either. Still rather cool nights (well it is never really warm here during nights, around 10-15C (50-59F) as warmest during summer nights) but days can almost be summer warm. There’s still no annoying flies disturbing but lots of “nice” insects flying around, the ones who doesn’t bit πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041 (5)

DSC_0042 (7)

DSC_0046 (7)

DSC_0048 (7)

Still a long time to presummer so I’ll have to enjoy this springwinter day as much as I can even if the weather really sucks πŸ™‚ I think I’ll take a nap and then we’ll go out on a walk again in the falling snow.

 

DSC_0056 (7)

DSC_0059 (6)

DSC_0060 (5)

DSC_0068 (5)

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. amazing photos and looks like an incredible place

    February 20, 2016 at 11:48 am

    • Hi Great Venture Surf Co and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Thank You and I do like living here where I still can find some older forest to walk in.

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      February 20, 2016 at 2:07 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Looks like the world is on fire again. πŸ™‚

    Love the names of your in-between seasons. I’m not sure if we have names for them though I have heard some people call them shoulder seasons. That seems to refer more to travel between peak and off-peak seasons. Up a bit north of me in New Hampshire and Vermont they say they have 9 months of winter and 3 months of bad skiing.
    Here where I am we have mud season in between winter and spring. In this age of climate change, Spring lasts a week or so and goes directly to hotter than the bright side of Mercury until September when it begins to feel like summer used to. That’s how it feels, anyway. πŸ™‚

    Today is dark and damp with a wind out of the northeast that’s rather chilly even though it’s 45ΒΊF. My silly Weather Widget forecasts a shining sun with rain drops falling out of it while the icon for the current weather is a big grey cloud. I think they’ve got it covered. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    February 20, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was for a very short while πŸ™‚

      Mud season would fit very well here in autumn, it always rain here then πŸ™‚ and the nine month winter and three bad skiing would fit prefect in northern Sweden πŸ™‚ We often switch from spring to summer during a week too but it never becomes that hot here, our summer days are more like Your late autumn days πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes it seems as if they got it covered over at Yours πŸ™‚ All weather sites saud much the same here, grey and dull with snow and rain and that’s when they get it right πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 20, 2016 at 4:04 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I like the idea of springwinter! I think we won’t see that for a couple of months now, but I am going to keep that thought in my head with the hopes that it happens sooner! We are going to get cold again this weekend – so different from yesterday when we reached about 4 degrees. Then the wind turned, big, big snowflakes started and then we get colder. -20 tonight. Such weird, weird weather. Its cloudy right now but I don’t think we will see the sun until tomorrow. I am almost done my week of vacation and to be honest, it could have lasted another week! πŸ™‚ But one must work if one wants to live – so off to work I go come Monday. I love the lichen-covered tree – incredible that lichen can survive even if the tree doesn’t. Have a good evening!!! πŸ™‚

    February 20, 2016 at 4:44 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Normally we don’t have springwinter here until perhaps in the middle of March but it looks like it has come early this year. I do like it when the sun shines and we walk out into the cow pasture, to the big stone and sit there in the sunshine, drinking coffee and just enjoy the day.

      The predictions say we’ll have above 0C during days and from the middle of the week rather cold nights. We might even get sunshine later next week πŸ™‚

      It is always too little vacation, no matter how long vacation one might have had πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 20, 2016 at 5:39 pm

  4. Christer..What wonderful pictures! I loved the detail..the icy snow on the very green moss…just beautiful! Looks cold, and of course to me, it would be very cold! All the animals I see in your photo’s look so acclimated to their environment…they always look warm in spite of the snow around them..and I notice the owners put out lots of hay for them to lay on…hay is warm. I’ve slept on beds of hay. It’s toasty. At least that’s how I remember it. It’s been a long, long time. πŸ™‚

    February 21, 2016 at 6:53 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It actually wasn’t especially cold. It is after all winter here and the temperature was well over 32F but I guess that if one lives in California and You already have hot weather over 32 still is very cold πŸ™‚

      Most animals here are outside all year but they all have barns where they can take cover if the weather gets too bad, mostly they don’t though. Yes hay is really warm and comfortable so I would also have slept on the food since there’s always new put out every morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 21, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

