Couldn’t be much better.

DSC_0020 (8)

The day has been a perfect springwinter day. The night was pretty chilly and they day has been sunny and reasonable warm. The weak wind has done a good job making it feel much colder though so I’ve tried to stay out of reach for it most of the time. One good thing in springwinter is that the mud still is deep frozen during the warmer days so we are always pretty clean after our walks.

 

DSC_0024 (9)

DSC_0027 (9)

DSC_0029 (10)

DSC_0031 (9)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

Yesterday on my way home I thought I saw a crane but believed I must have seen wrong but the news says I did see right πŸ™‚ It seems all birds now think spring has sprung and not far north from here several thousand trumpet swans are resting by a lake, still not a record number but chances are big they will break it. The first Doves have arrived to the village too, it looked like it was the Stock dove (Columba oenas, here in Sweden we call it Forest dove) and not the biggerΒ  Common wood-pigeon (Columba palumbus, here we call it Ring dove since it has a white ring around its neck). I could also hear and see the first Common Buzzard.

 

DSC_0033 (11)

DSC_0037 (9)

DSC_0038 (10)

DSC_0040 (9)

I don’t trust the birds though, they’ve been very wrong so many times before. Some weather institute is predicting a very warm spring here and I think it is the one that predicted that we were going to get a nasty cold winter this time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So I guess it’s best to make sure I have plenty of fire logs and wood prepared because they always seems to get it wrong πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t complain if they were right for once and that we’ll ge a dry spring too, so all fly larvae (the biting and blood sucking ones), mosquito larvae and ticks we still have around will die. I just saw the first flies warming up on my south heading wall, even though they don’t bite I do wish the birds will take them all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0043 (9)

DSC_0045 (10)

DSC_0046 (10)

I've always thought this looks like a big rib cage from a big animal but it is actually the rests of a juniper bush which was cut down long ago :-)

I’ve always thought this looks like a big rib cage from a big animal but it is actually the rests of a juniper bush which was cut down long ago πŸ™‚

I should have sown the first tomato plants now but I didn’t remember it until today and now I can’t remember where I put all the different seeds I have πŸ™‚ A good thing with tomato seeds is that they seems to last forever, they just take slightly longer to germinate if they are several years old. Last year was a really good tomato year and that was still a rather crappy summer here, so I’m hoping for a warm spring and a really warm summer this year. I’m also waiting for the potatoes I’ve ordered, I’ve gotten the bill via e-mail but no signs of any potatoes yet.

 

DSC_0050 (9)

DSC_0051 (8)

DSC_0053 (10)

DSC_0055 (10)

IΒ΄ts time to take another walk with the dogs before they’ll have their dinner and the :sun will go down. Today the sun went up at 7:08 and it will go down at 5:30 this afternoon. The sun now stays up between 4 to 6 minutes longer every day now πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0057 (9)

DSC_0059 (8)

DSC_0060 (8)

DSC_0061 (9)

Have a great day!

 

Here are four photos taken with the Nikon F 401

Here are four photos taken with the Nikon F 401

26

33

36

8 responses

  1. jaz

    i want to start my own tomatoes this year and i better figure out when to do that. i need pots too. we are supposed to have a very warm spring and i bet they are right. i’m glad i have the wedding at the end of the summer because it will make the time go by faster. i have so much to do. right now it is freezing here but will be in the 60’s tomorrow.

    February 27, 2016 at 3:49 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think even You so far south should start as soon as You get the time, especially if You’ll get that warm spring, who kinows how hoit the summer might be and tomatoes don’t like it too hot.

      I wouldn’t mind a warm spring at all πŸ™‚ but even I think temperatures around 60 this time of year is a bit high! You won’t have much time to think about it with that wedding coming πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 27, 2016 at 4:14 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love that last photo. The sepia tone makes it look old and warm though I suspect it’s the bog and it’s cold. πŸ™‚

    Your world was burning again this morning, I see.

    I just noticed the shingles on the barn in that third photo. Lovely patina on them. Very Christmas-y. πŸ™‚

    The birds are confused, I think. At least one great blue heron hung around here all winter. Most of the time the lake was ice free but not always. I assume he found something to eat somewhere.
    I’m on the lookout for the turkey vultures to return. Traditionally they show up on March 17th which is St Patrick’s Day (for those who want to be Irish American for the day) or Evacuation Day (for those who would rather be American Revolutionary War patriots or are Suffolk County government workers. Suffolk County government workers get the day off). Anyway, the turkey vultures have been coming back early for some years. Last winter was horrid so they stayed away until the normal time.

    Today is sunny and chilly at the moment. It’s supposed to get up to the 40’s Fahrenheit. It’s 10:30 AM and it’s still 24ΒΊF. I’m waiting. I was out photographing earlier and my fingers froze because of course I wore no gloves. Or hat. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    February 27, 2016 at 4:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is the bog and it was nasty cold πŸ™‚ The sun had just risen above the tree line so all the rime turned golden.

      It didn’tr matter how I adjusted the camera, the photo turned out that way anyway. In real it wasn’t that dark but almost as orange.

      Yes they must be and many take the chance of coming up here early because if the weather stays warm they’ll be the ones finding the best nesting places. Many die every year by freezing to death, not the cranes though, they get so fed that I’m pretty sure they’ll turn fat instead πŸ™‚
      No vultures here but there is one, I think it is a Griffon vulture, tends to come up here. One year it was in such a bad shape that after being fed they flew him back south with a plane πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We tend to forget those gloves πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 27, 2016 at 5:56 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    Last night was really cold. The day got up to 43˚ while last night was down to 24K. Today was windy and cold. I just hung around. Yesterday I had been quite busy doing errands so I figure I earned a lazy day today.

    Tomorrow is supposed to be warm though Boston will get a warmer day. Spring arrives there first. We have to wait until the ocean warms up a bit. On the south side of Route 6A, the old road running from the bridge to Provincetown, the daffodils have already bloomed. Mine are still just short shoots. I don’t see too many new birds, but I do hear them in the morning.

    I love that the sun stays around longer.

    Have a good day!!

    February 28, 2016 at 1:03 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Last night started out very cold but this morniung it’s just slightly below 32. Fog was promised in the big Norwegian weather site but it doesn’t look as if they got that right. Too bad I was going to try a really light sensitive film in my Hasselblad camera.

      No daffodills are even close to show here, only the snow drops flower but with this weather they’ll last for long. I did try to find any crocus at all but no luck so far.

      I can feel that life really is woirth living now when the sun finally comes back, it won’t take long now until we have over 18 hours of daylight everh day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 28, 2016 at 7:10 am

  4. Such beautiful green’s in your forest..and strange growth’s. I’m wondering if it’s because of the dampness.
    Beautiful pictures, Christer…

    February 28, 2016 at 5:53 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I think the dampness has a lot to do with it. Moss, lichens and all the strange mushrooms we have love wet surroundings. We always have a bad mushroom year when it is dry and the humidity sinks.

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 28, 2016 at 7:12 am

Leave a Reply

