It is another world out there.

DSC_0066 (8)

I really need one of those maps orienteers use so I better know where I am while walking on the bog. Not that I was lost but I did try to find where the lake is and I know I was close today but I should most likely have walked a hundred meters or two (much the same in yards) by the creek before I walked out on the bog. I have watched maps here on the net but they don’t show the creeks especially well and then it’s impossible to know where one really is.

 

DSC_0029 (11)

DSC_0032 (10)

DSC_0033 (12)

DSC_0035 (10)

 

We didn’t get any fog as they had predicted and the sun shoved up much later than predicted too but there was no wind so it was quite nice anyway. Nova thought it would be a good idea to get down to the badgers den, twice but I managed to stop her in time :-)Badgers are nice animals but I doubt even they would like a dog visit while they were sleeping through the winter πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0036 (9)

DSC_0037 (10)

DSC_0038 (11)

DSC_0039 (10)

I have no idea what scent those two dogs smelled when we went out on the bog but they started behaving crazy so I had to leash them. Not that it helped much because both still tried to follow the track after what ever it was that had passed πŸ™‚ Β As soon as we had passed bridge number three to the other side again they started to behave normal again and chased each other all the way home again. The sun broke finally through the clouds when we were on our way home and it has kept on shining all day long.

 

We call these huge rocks for Gianmt throws. Old folklore says it was giants who threw them when they heard the church bells sound, they really don't like that sound. So far they've always missed all churches :-)

We call these huge rocks for giant throws. Old folklore says it was giants who threw them when they heard the church bells sound, they really don’t like that sound. So far they’ve always missed all churches πŸ™‚

DSC_0043 (10)

DSC_0044 (10)

DSC_0045 (11)

Later we went out to the bog again but to where we usually walk. To be honest, I didn’t think the ice would carry me but it did, lots more trees here that shadows the ground and much less grass that weakens the ice. It is so nice out there, no sounds from the outside world reach us, it is a totally different world out there. Today I heard how the male Jay sounds when he wants to impress his female and I have to say it sounded very exotic. I didn’t understand what bird it was until I saw it. I thought they only screamed like they always do πŸ™‚ The Swedish name for the Jay is Nut screamer πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0055 (11)

DSC_0056 (10)

DSC_0057 (10)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0059 (9)

I’ve done the laundry and it is now hanging outside to dry, doubt it will though since I hung it on the north side of the cottage and there’s no wind at all. Doesn’t matter as long as it get that smell before I bring it in to dry instead πŸ™‚ It is time to give the dogs and cats their food and after that I might get something myself πŸ™‚ By the way! I only have twenty percent space left here so I’ll soon move again to a new blog with much the same name. I’ll tell You several times before I leave this place and I’ll give You the address several times before I do too.

 

DSC_0062 (8)

DSC_0063 (9)

DSC_0064 (10)

DSC_0065 (10)

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. I always wonder why you have so much more moss on the trees and rocks than we have here, we have moss, more in some spots but nothing to the extent you have, its beautiful, so are Sune and Nova, beautiful handsome dogs,
    I’m glad the Giants missed hitting the churches with the rocks,
    good thing the ice carried you!!

    February 28, 2016 at 5:01 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      We always have a very high humidity here in Sweden and lots of rain, all the time πŸ™‚ Moss, lichens and mushrooms just love that. I have lots of moss and lichens growing on my garden gate and I just can’t remove them because they are so beautiful, I think I’ll have to get a new gate instead πŸ™‚

      Those giants do aim bad πŸ™‚ This one isn’t even close to a church πŸ™‚

      The water beneath the ice isn’t especially deep but deep enough to give me wet feet πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 28, 2016 at 6:08 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wow, it seems like it didn’t take very long to fill up this space. Didn’t we just move last year? Seems like it.

    I think you mean topographic maps? Those show much more information than regular maps so creeks would probably be on them unless they were very small creeks.

    It’s always fun to discover something new about birds you think you know. For years I was trying to identify the owner of a particularly loud but not very musical call that I only heard in the spring. When the bird finally allowed me to see it while it was making this noise, I was totally surprised to see that it was a Tufted Titmouse. Who knew a small bird could be so loud.
    Our Bluejay has the screeching call, too, but it also makes many other noises. It makes a clicking noise and another call that sounds like a rusty gate swinging in the wind. It also mimics the Red Shouldered Hawk.
    Then there is the musical oody oop song. Oody oop.. Oody oop.. OodyoopOodyoop.
    When I hear it, and I don’t hear it very often, I think there’s a happy Bluejay. πŸ™‚

    Beautiful shots of Nova and Sune.

    Today is partly sunny and warm. It’s supposed to get into the 50’s Fahrenheit and stay there for the next few days. Fine by me. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    February 28, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is actually one and a half year ago now. The first real post was written the first of August 2014, I just checked it πŸ™‚ I think I still have around one month (or maybe two) left before I need to move, depending on how many photos I put in and if I remember to reduce the size on them πŸ™‚ Now I only have to come up with a new name. The cottage by the cranelake will of course be there but perhaps a continuing too, like this onewhich is life goes on πŸ™‚

      Yes that is what I mean πŸ™‚ They can be bought in any book store and thankfully we have one left in FalkΓΆping. Ours even show animal paths if they are clear enough in real life too. It is so annoying when I know I must be almost right but can’t see the lake because of trees πŸ™‚

      I have to say that I never would have guessed that it was a Jay sounding like that! I’ve heard both how crows and magpies can sound and they have a rather cute sound when they want to but this sounded very exotic. There was definitely something sounding rather much like Oody oop too πŸ™‚

      We don’t have tufted titmouse here but I found it on Youtube. I do like that sound!

      Really nice here today and now it is below 32 again so I brought in some really stiff t-shirts πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 28, 2016 at 6:20 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! i don’t think we have rock throwing giants here. today it is sunny and 70 degrees. you can’t tell by me because i am sick and must have a fever because i am dressed in heavy clothes and covered with blankets and i am still freezing. we just found out that we can rent penguins from the aviary next to where the wedding will be and have them walk around at the wedding. i can’t wait!

    February 28, 2016 at 7:48 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      You might be right about that, they all seems to have been here in Scandinavia πŸ™‚

      So You’ve gotten the influenza! I do hope it will pass really quickly because it is nasty.

      Do You know how penguins smell? Not nice πŸ™‚ and if they start pooping it really gets bad πŸ™‚ There is a small zoo where I grew up and they have always had penguins there and they don’t smell nice. What ever You do go there and check for Your self! Penguins are really cute but there are disadvantages πŸ™‚

      Take care of that cold of Yours!

      Christer.

      February 29, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

