Toast and marmalade.

Only older photos today, this one is from the Edixa Reflex.

Only older photos today, this one is from the Edixa Reflex.

It is amazing how some days just pass by faster than light, still I can’t remember that I did especially much. To be honest I barely remember what I did πŸ™‚ I painted some and I cleaned some but nothing special to be honest. I looked out the windows every now and again too and did get a bit annoyed to be honest.

 

DSC_0054 (8)

DSC_0062 (8)

DSC_0063 (9)

DSC_0067 (7)

Yesterday they did promise lots of fog and we got none, still we got lots of sunshine instead so I didn’t mind that much. Today they had promised lots of sunshine and we had fog and frost all day πŸ™‚ All day I wished that I could be here at home, walk with the dogs and take lots of photos. There was some daylight left when I came home even if I had stopped by the grocery store on my way home. I just brought the Hasselblad camera with me and I do hope the photos didn’t become too dark. We’ll know when the film is developed.

 

DSC_0046 (9)

DSC_0051 (7)

DSC_0083 (2)

DSC_0084 (1)

I was cleaning the paintbox when I suddenly got a craving for toast with orange marmalade and cheese. I don’t know where that came from but I knew that I would have to go to the grocery store to get that white bread that is inedible unless one toast it, orange marmalade and some cheese because I didn’t have much left at home. I actually came home with most of it but instead of orange marmalade I had picked up a jar with apricot marmalade and one jar with pear marmalade πŸ™‚ I think any of those will do to be honest.

 

The eight last photos comes from the Edixa too.

The eight last photos comes from the Edixa too.

A19116_004

A19116_009

A19116_010

It is time to bring out that toaster of mine, I rarely use it so it always smell a bit odd when I start it up, just like old electric radiators that hasn’t been used during summer and as soon as they are started all the dust gathered inside them burn up πŸ™‚

 

A19116_018

A19116_019

A19116_022

A19116_023

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I LOVE marmalade! In fact, I like it the best over any other jam. No one else in the family likes it so it does take me awhile to use up a jar of it. Sorry to hear they switched the weather around on you and now you missed good photo opportunities! We are in a deep freeze since last night. -39 this morning with the wind. March is coming in like a lion!!!! So, I am slowly getting back into the world. And if losing Willow wasn’t enough, we now find out that one of our cats, Luna, is diabetic. So we have to give her twice daily injections of insulin. It never ends it seems. 😦 I have to say, I really, really like the forest picture with all the trees. That might be my new favorite! πŸ™‚

    February 29, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I like both just as much to be honest but I normally only ham jam with pancakes or on porridge.

      Yes it was so annoying πŸ™‚ I really wanted that fod on Sunday when I was goint to the bog, I might have looked even harder for that lake if we had had fog πŸ™‚ March is more like Meh here πŸ™‚ Cold at night and warmish duriung the day but they say we might get snow tomorrow. It might even stay for a day or two, it depends on what weather site is right πŸ™‚

      Thankfully cats seems to understand that thjose injections are good for them. I’ve known several cats who comes at the right time just to get that injection and then they’re off again πŸ™‚ I’ve just heard that cats actually are the only animals that can get healthy again after having diabetes for a while! Lets hope for that!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 6:49 pm

  2. Dust burning!
    I have always wondered about that smell.
    πŸ™‚

    February 29, 2016 at 9:41 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      πŸ™‚ It smells a bit nasty πŸ™‚ I’m so gad I knew that the first time I smelled it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 6:50 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Now I want marmalade and cheese. Yesterday I made a sandwich of sliced roast pork and cheese with fig and ginger jam which I toasted in my not dusty toaster.πŸ˜‰ The jam is really more like marmalade. It was yummy. It did need the bread that is inedible unless it’s toasted. I had to use some thin stuff that was hanging around. I used to have a great recipe for that bread but I’ve lost it.

    I have croci blooming in the yard! Yesterday I found pussywillows. It must be spring. Right.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 29, 2016 at 10:53 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I almost bought ginger marmalade but hesitated and bought the pear instead. The jars are small though so I might buy that onen next time I go to that store.Sliced roas pork with cheese and jam is anothet favorite of mine πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure what they do with that white bread, it is really spungy and tasteless πŸ™‚ but oh so great to toast! I’ve never baked it myself, the huge bakeries do such a good job to make it inedible so why should I πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I saw that on Fb yesterday, not even close here. It is warm here but not warm enough for either crocus or pussywillows, not long until it is though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 6:55 pm

  4. Christer,
    I like marmalade but never thought of pairing it with cheese on toast. I think the pear sounds great, but I am not an apricot fan. Orange marmalade I find a bit too sweet, but it was all I could get in Africa so I bought it. My dad loved raspberry jam so I always put some in his stocking. I have a fig jam which I really like. I can use that with cheese easily.

    Rain is coming and according to the weatherman we could have snow on Friday but he won’t commit as the weather could change between then and now.

    Tomorrow is primary day in several states when we vote for the candidate who will receive the states’ delegates at the nominating conventions in the summer. Trump is ahead for the Republicans many of whom are going crazy at the thought of Trump being their candidate for running president. Cruz said a vote for Trump is a vote for Hillary who is leading for the Democrats. I find Trump ignorant at best.

    Have a great day!!

    March 1, 2016 at 2:12 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I think cheese, marmalade and toast is the first thing I remember eating πŸ™‚ We had however a really good marmalade which was mostly apple but also grapes in it. They stopped making it though, too bad because it was really yummy! It turned out that there was some oranges in that apricot marmalade too. Normally I buy a British bitter orange marmalade, I think You would like that one if You think the normal one is too sweet.

      Snow is coming here and it might stay a day or two depending on which weather site is right πŸ™‚

      I soo look forward too Super Tuesday! It is so much more interesting when it isn’t here the elections are close. Trump will of course crush the others, I just wonder with how much and Hillary will most likely do the same with Bernie. I won’t be able to know anything until tomorrow morning, I think they start the counting rather late?

      I doubt any of the republican candidates have any chance towards Hillary, they have all insulted minorities so much now that none of them will vote for any republican candidate, I think if they are republican they won’t vote at all.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 7:04 pm

  5. Hi Christer –

    Loved all the photos taken with the Edixa. It seems like your winterspring is very slow getting to the springlije weather. Well, it is only the 1st of March afterall/ You will probably be a bit jealous when I tell you that all the flowering crab apple & plum trees in my neighborhood are covered in pink blossoms (beautiful) & I saw my first mosquito of the year (not so beautiful). We had an actual day without rain & the temp. was a balmy 69 degrees. Not exactly weather for shorts & flip flops, but I definitely can pack my winter coat away after wearing it one day back in November. Winter is coming to an end here.. Other than endless dark days of rain, we didn’t get much winter weather at all. A few inches of snow in early November & that was it. I actually miss the few cold months we used to have before Global warming messed-up the weather. I’ll be watching for your early warnings about the new website. I didn’t realize you could run out of room & need to take your blog elsewhere. I am now having to go to dialysis at 6 PM and go home at 2 AM. Hopefully, this will just be for a month or two. I get my days back, but I miss my evenings at home. The night time sessions runs 2 hrs. longer than the daytime session & is supposed to be less hard on my heart. The change happened because my blood pressure kept dropping too low and they can’t remove hardly any fluid when that happens. The doctor is hoping my heart will be less stressed by the dialysis process if the process is done more slowly. I’ll know if this schedule change helps me by the end of March.

    I laughed when I read about your craving for orange marmalade with cheese on toast. I had the same sort of craving myself only it was for a good toasted bagel with cream cheese & orange marmalade. I went to the store & bought all 3 food items. I never liked orange marmalade when I was younger & rarely eat jam, but I just needed to have that bagel with the cream cheese & marmalade – it was delicious. I once dated a boy in high school who’s mother served me a toasted cheese sandwich with jam on it. At the time, I had never seen that combination of cheese & jam served together on a sanwiich and I hesitated to even try eating it. Once they convinced me it was delicious, I gave it a try & actually liked it. I had never seen that combination of cheese & jam again until I read your post. I may not have thought of eating marmalade with sliced cheese, but cream cheese with marmalade is pretty much the same thing. As for the funky smell coming from your seldom used toaster, do you ever empty the crumb tray? If not, maybe that is why it smells funky when you do use it. I know a few people who never knew there was a tray at the bottom of the toaster that crumbs needed to be cleaned out periodically. They end up cooking a pile of crumbs instead of using the heat to toast their bread. πŸ™‚

    I am not looking forward to tomorrow because it is what we call Super Tuesday when 15 more States have primaries voting for the Presidential candidate from each party. I cannot believe the number of ignorant people who are voting for Trump. Every time I see him I feel like I might become ill. He is nothing other than an embarrassment to US politics & the people who support him should be ashamed of falling for his lies, blatant bigotry & the sense of entitlement he has thinking he will buy the presidency for himself so he can be King. I hope most people realize what is at stake & vote for the best candidate come the elections this November. Just in case, Trump somehow becomes president, many of us are looking for what Countries might accept us as emigrants fleeing a dictator & asking for political amnesty. Someone told me that Canada is already planning for an influx of American wanting to emigrate there if Trump becomes King. He thinks it’s a great thing that he’s using his own money tp buy the presidency as opposed to other candidates who depend on collecting donations to support their running for president. Please don’t think all Americans are stupid enough to vote for Trump because those people are in the minority.

    Have a great week

    March 1, 2016 at 10:24 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Winterspring at its best is slow πŸ™‚ It can start as early as late February, even if it usually sarts in March and continue all the way in to May. Normally spring won’t sspring until the middle of April here.
      I’m telling myself that I still have the best in front of me πŸ™‚ This year I really hope that my peach tree takes it slow so the flowers don’t freeze again.

      The mosquitos are still calm here but I have seen the first flies, the annoying ones but not the biting ones thankfully. I think we’ll have less this year since it has been rather cold without snow and the ground has frozen rather deep.

      I can e-mail the new address to You when I have one, haven’t come that far yet. Everyone get 3 gigabyte of free space to make a blog and when that is used one can either start a new one or buy more space. The problem with buying more space is that even if I don’t use all space during one year I still have to pay the coming year and they want my account number so they just can pick the money every new year and that I won’t allow. So it will still be here on WordPress, I like it so much here that I won’t move!

      The most important thing is that Your heart won’t get damaged by this! I would personally prefer the night time as You have now since I’m a morning person. I would just sleep there if possible and then be ready for the new day at home. I can fully understand that You don’t like it if You like the evenings at home as much as I like the mornings. I do hope this works!

      I have actually never eaten a bagel in my entire life, they aren’t popular here. Still I have a recipe so I could try to make some myself. Cheese, marmalade/ jam on toast is very popular over here and it is actually the first thing I remember eating πŸ™‚ I’ve never had it with creeme cheese though but I’m pretty sure it is just as delicious.

      My toaster doesn’t have a tray so I must turn it upside down and shake it allout πŸ™‚

      I am really looking forward to Super Tuesday! but I’m so glad it doesn’t happen over here πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure Trump will slaughter the other candidates and Hillary will most likely crush Bernie. I think that even if Bernie should win the republicans won’t stand a chance of winning anyway. They have all now insulted minorities and even if they are republican they won’t wote for any of these candidates.

      Yes Canada is ready for You πŸ™‚ If Trump actually would become president, which I doubt very, very much he wouldn’t behave the way he does now. No one wats a third world war so the militaries wouldn’t follow his orders if they were too crazy. His behaviour right now is just a big show and he sure knows how to keep an audience interesed.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 7:23 pm

  6. jaz

    i love toast with cheese and marmalade! my radiators always give off that smell when i first turn them on. i hope you are right about the republicans but people are acting really stupid right now. it will be interesting to see.

    March 1, 2016 at 9:08 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I don’t know why but it’s just perfect as breakfast on weekends πŸ™‚ It is an odd smell but I would miss it if it didn’t smell like that πŸ™‚

      I and much of the world hope so too! We would all feel so much safer if the Democrates win both houses and if there is a democrat as president!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

