I miss all the exiting stuff.

A19117_015

I spent most of the working day in the neighbor factory so time passed by so much faster than I ever could hope for. We had a rather beautiful morning here, -10C (14F) and lots of rime on the trees. We even had a beautiful sunrise and I hope the few photos I took with my Kodak Retinette will come out good. It didn’t take long until the clouds covered the sky and temperatures rose so nothing stayed until I came home from work.

 

A19117_004

A19117_006

A19117_012

A19117_014

It was around noon when I suddenly realised that the air in my face-guard started to become really hot and the temperature in the paintbox rose dramatically too. The overall I wear doesn’t breathe at all, which is a good thing since the paint is very toxic. So it started to feel like I was working in a steam bath. I had to sop working and walked around to see if there was a fire going on somewhere πŸ™‚ The cause to this was most likely that they had opened up a huge door and the cold air outside must have reached the sensors. Cold sensors mean they send signals to make it warmer in the paintbox and there ai was sweating like a pig πŸ™‚

 

A19117_017

A19117_020

A19117_025A

A19117_026A

The first thing I hear when I came back to my usual work place is that we’ve had a fire in the big oven at work, around noon! It wasn’t a big one and they could easily put it out with a normal extinguisher. The other painter at work, he works at a smaller paintbox with its own oven, noticed that there was unusual much smoke up by the roof and since he hadn’t let out any smoke in the department he walked to the big oven and looked in to it, good thing he did πŸ™‚ It turns out one of the heaters had become way too hot and broken down. Normally that just means it stops but not today.

 

A19117_027A

A19117_028A

Note to self, almost all older cameras need much better light to get less grainy photos :-)

Note to self, almost all older cameras need much better light to get less grainy photos πŸ™‚

A19117_030A

The heater was easily swapped to a new one and they have now cleaned the oven so we can start working as usual tomorrow morning. Exiting things liuke that never happens when I’m around πŸ™‚ It is easy to joke about it, that’s one way to sort of keep that bad thoughts about what could have happened if things gone wrong. I am very happy things like this rarely happens at all.

 

I deleted most really bad photos so these were all photos left taken with the Nikon this time.

I deleted most really bad photos so these were all photos left taken with the Nikon this time.

A19117_011

A19117_016
A19117_034A

A19117_035A

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

It is time to make something to eat and I think I’ll have cocoa today.

Have a greta day!

8 responses

  1. Christer,
    I’m glad everyone and everything was safe despite the fire. You do work in a place with lots of potential for danger.

    We may have snow later in the week, and I am grumpy at the thought of it. Though it isn’t unusual to have snow in March, I am just tired to winter. Boston has had a few days in the 60’s. All I want is one!!

    I’m going to watch the news shows to see what is happening. I know Trump has won most if not all, but I am wondering about Bernie and Hillary.

    Have a good day tomorrow. I hope it goes as fast as today!

    March 2, 2016 at 2:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We never really think of it but yes danger is very close all day. If powder paint and oxygen is mixed in the right way it will explode if fire is close πŸ™‚ So I am ver glad they could stopthe fire directly!

      We normally have lots of snow now but I wouold rather have been without the one falling right now, we might get up to 12 inches if we’re unlucky! It will stay a few days too and that anoyes me even more πŸ™‚

      I was surprised to see Rubio winning one state and Bernie winning more than one.

      It was a bit slower but I’ve been through even slower days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 2, 2016 at 5:59 pm

  2. Christer, some of your photos look like Christmas cards! So lovely! We have not had a winter to speak of here in southeast Texas, so I hope that does not bode badly for a really hot summer – even worse than usual!
    We had a great night here during Super Tuesday, today is Texas Independence Day, our world’s largest, champion rodeo is up and going, so all’s well here in the Lone Star state – Yee-ha!

    March 2, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    • Hi Hermit’s Baby Sis!

      They were a bit old so there was lots of snow when I took them. We didn’t have any snow left until today and now it falls again, we might be so unlucky that we’ll get 12 inches! Even Your less warm summers are much hotter than our warm ones πŸ™‚ So I can fully understand that You don’t want a hot summer.

      I was a bit disappointed when I woke up because most votes had been counted. I was surprised to see how fast they were in Texas, after all it is a big state with lots of people. But like I guessed, Trump crushed the others πŸ™‚

      Have a Happy Independence day!

      Christer.

      March 2, 2016 at 6:03 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’m glad that fire was extinguished very quickly. Personally, I would prefer not to have the excitement. I used to work in a transistor factory. The acid room blew up at least once a week and old timers knew that but newbies like me didn’t so we were understandably concerned the first time it did. In my last job we were always getting bomb threats. After 911 they got serious about security so the mail room was sealed off from the rest of the building and bomb-sniffing dogs patrolled the area. If we saw suspicious items in odd places we were supposed to call the bomb dog patrol. I had to call them one time when I found a sealed package in my bottom desk drawer. I hadn’t put it there. The bomb dog came and sniffed and did nothing so the officer opened the package. It was Christmas candy with a note explaining that a day shift worker had put it there for the night shift employee she thought sat in that space.

    I was looking at the fourth photo and wondered why someone had put a tiny string of lights on the ground. Then I realized it was a puddle of ice (?) reflecting a portion of the string of lights on the building. Cool.

    Yesterday was sunny but not all that warm because of the wind. Today is warmer and cloudy with rain and it’s not going to stay as warm as it is for much longer.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 2, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I hadn’t noticed that puddle so I had to check what on earth You were talking about πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a fire in the oven one time before. It was when they were repairing the painting box and we used a cardboard box to see if the paintguns would back when a bigger thing came along. It did but we forgot the box and it was so beautifulk when it suddenly burned like crazy in the oven πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We had problems for weeks with ashes on the thigs we painted after that πŸ™‚ This time they managed to clean the oven so everything was really clean.

      I couldn’t but laugh out loud when reading about that package :-):-) πŸ™‚ Too bad they didn’t think of putting the note outside the package πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We always had bomb threats at school every time we had big language tests πŸ™‚ The first time was a bit scary but after that we mostly complained about having to leave the building πŸ™‚

      It snows here and I don’t like it! We might get up to twelve inches until tomorrow morning. It is so typical, the roads were so good to drive on now!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 2, 2016 at 6:33 pm

  4. Glad to also read that there were no injuries to anyone, Christer. Your job does seem like it can be dangerous with the mix of paints and heat.
    I know you are not happy with the latest snowfall. Here in NH, we have no snow left except for some piles in parking lots. As much as I do like winter, that’s OK with me and I have already put away my snowshoes and am ready to get out the bicycle soon.

    March 3, 2016 at 1:30 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      If powder paint and oxygen is mixed in the right proportions it’s explosive if there’s a fire close but it is very difficult to get that right proportion but I would go out as fast as I could if I thought we wouldn’t be able to control the fire πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We didn’t get even close to how much snow they had predicted and almost all is already gone again πŸ™‚ I do hope for an early and warm spring!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 3, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

