I don’t mind driving slow but…

The snow and rather sharp light made it difficult to get any good photos, so it will be a mix with new and old photos today.

The snow and rather sharp light made it difficult to get any good photos, so it will be a mix with new and old photos today.

We were never hit with that snow storm the last time so I guess it was inevitable that we would be hit this time. It snowed all night and almost till noon and finally I think we got around 4-6 inches of the white garbage. I start working an hour earlier on Fridays so the plow lorries hadn’t plowed the road outside the village and if they had plowed the high way it couldn’t be seen. It worked rather well to drive on the road outside the village to the high way since there was almost no other car around.

 

They have started to clean up in the forest. These three photos show the pile after clearing up at just one place, it is huge!

They have started to clean up in the forest. These three photos show the pile after clearing up at just one place, it is huge!

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

 

 

 

When I reached the high way I saw a car coming and thought I just as well could let it pass before I drove out on the road, it is nicer to drive free from other cars when the roads are as bad as they were this morning. That was a stupid idea πŸ™‚ I don’t mind driving slow, especially when the road conditions demands it but the driver in front of me had some problems keeping the speed he wanted. It is very hard to keep the distance if the other driver changes speed all the time. It didn’t help that he (I write he but have no idea if it was a man or woman driving) had problems with the lights from the oncoming cars.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

So as soon as he finally seemed to be able to keep the speed he suddenly almost stopped because of the lights or what ever reason he could find, then he suddenly drove rather fast just to almost stop again for what ever reason he had. It was impossible to pass him so I just had to try to adapt my driving to his. I felt so happy when it was time to turn of the high way again and thought that finally I would get rid of him. Turns out he was one of those that know nothing about turn signals, he turned too!

 

Three from the Minolta X300

Three from the Minolta X300

A19054_027A

A19054_030A

Hasselblad 16 photo cassette.

Hasselblad 16 photo cassette.

We kept on like this for a few miles and more cars were driving behind me and the road got worse by the mile and then he suddenly understood that we’ve given up trying to keep the distance so not only my car lights filled up his car but also the ones after me, he can’t have seen anything to be honest. I think I could have walked behind his car and still Β have problems not getting to close, so he finally stopped by a small road and let us all pass. I just barely made it to work in time even though I had started much earlier than usual. By the time I had stopped working all roads were just fine again but we still have lots of snow left. It might with a bit of luck melt away until Monday when we’ll get more again. This is typical April weather, just one month too early.

 

Four from the Edixa Reflex.

Four from the Edixa Reflex.

A19116_024

A19116_025

A19116_026

The fire is burning in the stove, not because it is cold but the dampness is eating its way inside my cottage. It is time to make something to eat and then most likely fall asleep in front of the tv, again πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy Friday! πŸ™‚ We are having snow here too! It started with freezing rain when I left my house this morning, but now has turned to snow. Then we are to get really melting on the weekend – a high of 10 degrees apparently for Sunday!!! I don’t think I like that. That might cause some flooding. Sorry to read that you had to drive slow/fast behind that other driver. Always a challenge in winter. I cannot believe that mass of trees!!! Did they cut down the whole forest???? It makes my heart so very sad to see that. 😦 I hope your evening was nice and warm!

    March 4, 2016 at 8:13 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      A happy Friday to You too πŸ™‚

      The gravel raods are a mess here since the surface melts every day and freeze every night and it doesn’t help that heavy machines drive on them to pick up all that leftovers after the forest thinning.

      No they didn’t cut down the whole forest πŸ™‚ but it sure looks like it πŸ™‚ To be honest, looking at this as a forest owner who wants to make money on the trees they have waited way too long to do this, the trees just grew too close to each other so most were fairly thin but high.

      I wouldn’t have mind driving slow but the same speed all the time, to be honest I do feel sorry for that driver because it can’t have been easy to have all these cars behind either.

      We might get up to 7 degrees towards next weekend but it is too early to make any reasonable good predictions until then.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 4, 2016 at 8:33 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I really dislike drivers who do that. You don’t know what’s going to happen next. Speed up? No. Slow down? Maybe. Stop suddenly? Probably. Who can guess. It’s especially odious when you think you’re going to get out from behind them by turning off the road and then they turn off the road ahead of you. Arrrrgggghhh!!!!

    We have nuisance snow today. It’s snowed all day but nothing much has stuck anywhere. It’s very polite snow. πŸ™‚ It’s been below freezing all day, too, and the wind and dampness has made it rather brisk for walking outside.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 4, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is impossible to guess what they’ll do next and it was soo annoying when he turned in the same road as I was going to πŸ™‚ I was so relieved when he finally gave us a chance to pass!

      I wish we had gotten that kind of snow πŸ™‚ This one was wet and heavy and stuck to everything. It was quite nice taking a walk after work though since we have no wind but the dampness ate its way through the walls so a fire in the stove was necessary and to be honest it is never wrong with a fire in the stove πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 4, 2016 at 9:13 pm

  3. Christer,
    Down here, especially in the summer, it is slow cars which make me want to scream. Yesterday a car came right out and cut me off so they could get in front of me. I nearly hit the car. There was no reason for him to do that as there were no other cars behind me. If he had waited less than a minute, he’d have been out.

    A lot of old people live here, and they go slowly. I sit and curse. Sometimes you can’t see their heads from behind the car as the driver is so short.

    Snow makes people slow down, way down. I think they should know how to drive in snow as it is New England, and we get a lot of snow.

    Have a good weekend.

    March 5, 2016 at 1:44 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is the opposite here, in summer they drive fast. We have very little to see here πŸ™‚ What I just can’t stand is when they can’t keep a speed and goes up and down like a yo-yo. It is much the same here when crane season starts, they stop as soon as they see a crane instead of driving a few hundred yards more where they can see thousands and thousands πŸ™‚

      Whay can’t thsy just not wait that minute? It’s the same when they have to pass even if they will leave the road just as soon as they’ve passed me!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 5, 2016 at 5:36 am

Leave a Reply

