It felt colder than it was.

They could hear my neighbor so they stood there looking towards their house :-)

They could hear my neighbor so they stood there looking towards their house πŸ™‚

We almost saw the sun today,it never broke through the clouds but I could clearly see that shining disc trying. Unless it was a UFO of course πŸ™‚ They tend to shine very bright in films, I guess it is the friction that heats them up when they fly down from space πŸ™‚ It did feel much colder than it looked on our walks today and the weak wind there was did what it could to make it feel colder and it was pretty successful.

 

DSC_0023 (1)

DSC_0024 (1)

DSC_0025 (1)

The old gatepost.

The old gatepost.

We walked to the little lake this morning like we have done these last Saturday mornings but as we came closer to home I felt that we hadn’t been out long enough so we continued out on the gravel road by the fields. I was hoping to see some deer but there was none. I did however see several tracks from them and also from at first two foxes walking side by side and then from a third fox walking a yard beside the two. It must have been a cub from last year, they wouldn’t have accepted any other fox that farΒ in to their territory.

 

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0031 (1)

DSC_0032 (1)

The nights are still so cold that the little lake still is frozen.

The nights are still so cold that the little lake still is frozen.

 

We met the beekeeper on our way home, he had gotten the cold where they get fever but was on the way back. I wish I had gotten that one because when it is over it is really over and not like the one most of us gotten which comes back every now and again all winter. I asked about the lake in the bog and now I understand that I must walk at least two hundred more yards until I can turn towards the bog so I can see the lake, I might walk that way if it is nice enough weather tomorrow morning. Before we continued home I got a jar with honey πŸ™‚ It is a great thing to have a beekeeper as a neighbor πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034 (1)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0035 (1)

DSC_0038 (1)

DSC_0041 (1)

I was thinking of walking to the bog on our second walk but then suddenly all the hunters turned up and went out into the forest. I have absolutely no idea what they thought they would get in the middle of the day, especially since they didn’t bring any dog. To be honest, that was just a stupid idea I think. Anyhow, that forced me to walk elsewhere and since I didn’t want to walk on muddy roads we instead walked out on the fields, where the castle cattle walk all summer, the ground hadn’t thawed there at all and we could have walked for miles if we so had wished, at least I didn’t wish that πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042 (1)

DSC_0044 (1)

DSC_0046 (1)

DSC_0049 (1)

It is time to make the last cup of either tea or coffee, if I drink any after five I’ll stay awake all night. I do miss my late night pots of tea.

 

The last one from the Hasselblad with the  photo cassette for this time.

The last one from the Hasselblad with the photo cassette for this time.

 

Have a great day!

4 responses

  1. Christer,
    All the pictures have a sense of cold about them. The snow adds to that feeling. Gracie would love to be able to run like that though I’d have to spend a lot of time making sure she wouldn’t run after a deer or a fox before I’d take her off the leash. She used to run all over the street if she got loose when she was younger. The other night I opened the back door for her to go outside when I noticed the wind had opened the big back cake. Gracie was on the top step. I screamed and she ran into the house so I got to close the gate.

    It was really cold today. I went out just to get the paper. I didn’t even go and get the mail. Every time Gracie came inside her fur was really cold. She didn’t even stay out too long at all.

    It is supposed to get warmer later this week. I’m not sure I believe it!

    Have a good evening!

    March 6, 2016 at 4:34 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Back in the days both Orvar and Hector used to take walk by themselves πŸ™‚ but everyone here knew about it so they always drove very carefully around here πŸ™‚ Sune and Nova stays at home all the time thankfuklly and they always behave when we’re out walking.

      Looks cold outside but I don’t think it is, there’s a weak wind though so it might make it a lot worse. We’ll also get it warmer later this week but we all know how predictions can change to the opposite πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 6, 2016 at 6:53 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Catching up today as I was out most of the day yesterday! There is such a bad flu going around here, they are calling it an epidemic. I have instructions at work that if anyone calls in ill, I need to get pertinent details. This year the flu here is H1N1 – a very bad one indeed! We are melting today, and for the start of the week more melting and rain. Then we will likely get snow as we always do. March is a tricky month here! I wish I had a neighbor that kept bees. We go thru a lot of honey here. Especially in our tea. Off to read today’s post! πŸ™‚

    March 6, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      WE have the same one here (and so far it has killed a lot of people, not older ones but people in their 30’s to 40’s.) They say we have two other ones too going around so I guess if You don’t already have them they will come sooner or later to You too.

      Well I wouldn’t say we’re melting but thye snow is πŸ™‚ It looks like almost all new snow has melted away but more is on its way they say.

      It is April which usualyy is the tricky month here, can be summer warm one day and bitterly winter cold the next. This month has started as an April month so I hope April will be like a May month πŸ™‚

      It’s always a good thing to have a beekeeper as a neighbor πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 6, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

