And so it falls again.

DSC_0021 (2)

I knew the snow was on its way but according to yesterdays predictions it wouldn’t show up until late afternoon, so is anyone surprised it snowed like crazy here already when I got up at 6:20 am πŸ™‚ The flakes are the semi big ones that keeps on falling forever and really builds up to highs heights. Now the predictions says we’ll have snow falling until tomorrow evening and this time I’m afraid they might be right πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0023 (2)

I've sen a lonely Raven fly around a few days now and that's unusual here. Normally they are at least three or four and sometimes as many as twenty at the same time.

I’ve sen a lonely Raven fly around a few days now and that’s unusual here. Normally they are at least three or four and sometimes as many as twenty at the same time.

DSC_0025 (2)

DSC_0026 (1)

There’s a wind too that makes it rather nasty out there unless one can find wind free places. The bog close to the trees are such a place so that’s where we walked this morning. I must admit that I was rather surprised that the ice carried me since it has been rather warm during the days. I might go there next walk too just because it is so quiet there and it feels like the rest of the world doesn’t exist. On our way to the bog we saw a fox, a bit too far away but still near enough to be seen clearly. It knew very well that we looked at it but it just didn’t care. I understood that we never would be able to catch it even if we tried πŸ™‚

 

I've cropped these photos of the fox a lot so You would be able to see it properly.

I’ve cropped these photos of the fox a lot so You would be able to see it properly.

DSC_0037 (2)

DSC_0038 (2)

DSC_0039 (2)

The worlds biggest cross-country ski race (Vasaloppet) is on tv at the moment. If one isn’t interested in cross-country skiing it’s the most boring tv program there is, even more than those very quiet documentaries we Swedes seems to lave to make. You know the ones where almost nothing is said and the person they are filming eat breakfast or drink coffee while the radio is turned on in the background sending a local radio station with music no one really listens to any more πŸ™‚ The radio and the slurping of coffee or porridge are the only sounds in the entire documentary, usually they film something outside the windows, like birds eating in the snow os a car passing by on the snowy road. Those programs are not fun and Vasaloppet is even more boring.

 

The joy of having a stick with a plastic ribbon attached to it :-)

The joy of having a stick with a plastic ribbon attached to it πŸ™‚

DSC_0045 (1)

DSC_0048 (2)

DSC_0049 (2)

He has a ribbon on his stick!

He has a ribbon on his stick!

Give me a ribbon stick too!

Give me a ribbon stick too!

Well, who wants a ribbon anyway :-)

Well, who wants a ribbon anyway πŸ™‚

They started this race in memory of how the noble man Gustaf Vasa escaped the Danish soldiers, using skis and on the way towards Norway asked the people to help him fight the danes. Well, the have the race in the opposite direction so the finish line is where he was supposed to have started from and it turns out that he actually had now idea what skis are πŸ™‚ They found a letter written by him where he asked what those wooden things were πŸ™‚ He was a despot as king and gladly killed the men who finally helped him to the power. His sons were all more or less insane and did their best to kill each other too, Eric the 14th was poisoned with arsenic put in his pea soup when he wasΒ arrested while one of his brothers took the power.

 

DSC_0053 (1)

DSC_0054 (1)

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

It is time to get out on a walk again I think and perhaps I must shovel away some snow from the entrance stairs when we come back home again. I’ve filled the bird feeders but I’m pretty sure I’ll have to do it again, lots of birds out there and very little else to eat since the snow covers everything.

 

DSC_0062 (1)

DSC_0066 (1)

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi again! πŸ™‚ Maybe the raven flying around has lost his mates? That’s sad…I hope he/she finds their pals! The sun is currently shining, I can see if creeping into the kitchen. Our neighbor to the back of us cut down their MASSIVE elm tree on Friday. This makes me sad for a couple of reasons – I grew up with that tree and it provided such great shelter from the morning sun. But I won’t miss the little seeds it dropped every June. Millions of them. So now our kitchen will be filled with morning sun, which is not a bad thing, but lots of it! πŸ™‚ My friend and I were to go skiing on Tuesday, but now they are calling for rain so we will have to see. Not sure if skis will work well with rain. But not as interesting a story as you shared! πŸ™‚ Aren’t sticks that are found just the best thing ever? I know Karma carries sticks when we find them on our walks. My bird feeders are half full, I will top them up today. I have suet out for the birds as well, but for some reason this winter they didn’t eat much of it. I hope it gets finished before the warm weather starts. Have a good day!!

    March 6, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    • Hi again Dianna! πŸ™‚

      I guess it must have but there should be a few more flying with it so I do wonder what has happened.

      Snow all day here but it is melting as fast as new falls so I hope for the best πŸ™‚ It is sad when they cut down old trees but it is nice to get that morning sunshine. I would miss it here if a tree got that big. I have sunshine almost all day on the south side of the cottage during summer but it starts and ends by shining on the north side πŸ™‚

      The snow will ost likely be very sticky if it rains, I avoid skiing myself πŸ™‚

      Sticks are the best πŸ™‚ Nove did find another stick she chewed up even if it didn’t have any ribbon on it πŸ™‚

      It has been too warm here during winter for the birds to come to the feeders, there are plenty of insects and larvae beneath the bark on the trees which they prefer to eat first.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 6, 2016 at 4:46 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That was a funny photographic sequence with Nova, Sune and his ribbon stick. With my dogs it would be Rocky telling me to give him the ribbon stick that Piki Dog has because that would be the only ribbon stick worthy of having. And if Piki Dog found another ribbon stick, Rocky would want that one instead. I’m pretty sure Rocky was first emperor of China in a previous life. πŸ™‚

    My bird feeders are empty but it’s okay. The ground is open and there’s plenty of food under the leaves and in tree bark. Mostly I get English sparrows but the other day I did see a Red Winged Blackbird. He was the only one so probably he’s trying to get a head start on grabbing a good breeding territory. They usually arrive in all male flocks of starlings, grackles and other species of blackbirds. The females come in much later after the fighting has died down. πŸ™‚
    I was watching the bird feeder out the bathroom window the other day when I noticed something different way back in the tree line of the swamp. I could tell it was a big hawk. Suddenly everything went very quiet at the bird feeder. Birds and squirrels disappeared. The hawk lifted off and came in for a landing in the black walnut tree near the feeder. It sat there for a few minutes, looking around, but there was no food to be seen so it flew off. It was a Red Tailed Hawk. A very sleek and healthy Red Tailed Hawk, too.
    I really need to get into the habit of bringing the camera with me to the bathroom every time I need to go there.

    The snow that fell here some days ago is mostly gone but there are large patches all over that are still hanging on. The temperature has been only slightly above freezing but the sun was out yesterday and today so those patches will shrink. The standing water in my back swamp still has an ice crust over it and the ground is frozen. But, I have croci in my yard. The little clump of two flowers has grown to a clump of 5 and is hanging in there even though they got buried in snow. The vernal equinox is only two weeks away. Woo Hoo!

    Enjoy the day in spite of the snow.

    March 6, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ Normally she just takes it away from him but I guess she just felt nice or too old to take it away from him πŸ™‚

      I haven’t fed the birds this little in years, like You I think they can manage very well with what they can find in nature. Their job is to eat all hibernating pests they can so I won’t have to do much about them when it gets warm again πŸ™‚ But when we get lots of snow I always give them what they want, sunflower seeds.

      Lots of geese and trumpet swans have arrived here, just in time for the snow πŸ™‚ We usually have a few blackbirds which spend the winter here and they just love apples so every now and again I toss out some to them πŸ™‚ Doves and Common Buzzards have come too and at the moment both have troubles finding food but my guess is that most of the snow will melt away fairly quick.

      I wish we could have spring here when the equinox comes but I think that is to hope for too much πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 6, 2016 at 8:45 pm

      • Caryn

        Rocky would not take something from Piki Dog. He definitely was Emperor Qin Xi Huang in a previous life and emperors don’t take. They order a lackey to take it for them. πŸ™‚ I won’t, though, so Rocky resorts to tricks and treachery to separate Piki Dog from the coveted thing. Just like an autocratic emperor, no?

        March 7, 2016 at 1:04 am

      • Yes, he must have been a Chinese emperor in a previous life πŸ™‚

        March 7, 2016 at 6:22 pm

  3. Christer,
    I also always see ravens in groups. They even eat in groups. The birds I get now come in singly to the feeders. They are the usual, seldom a new bird. I haven’t seen a red winged blackbird in a while. The goldfinches are here, lots of them at the feeders.

    I didn’t even go out again today. It is still cold. I do have stuff to do most days this week so I have no choice but to go out. Luckily, though, it will be warmer. I’ll even take Gracie. I don’t like to take her if she has to wait in the cold car.

    Spring is only a couple of weeks away. I hope Mother Nature knows that!!

    Have a great evening!

    March 7, 2016 at 12:23 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We have had huge problems with ravens here, they kill both lambs and calves so I wonder if they have started to hunt them or even poisoning them (which is very illegal). I like them though and it isn’tr until one is close one can understand how big they really are πŸ™‚ I saw twop geese in the snowy fields, they tried to find some grass to eat but I’m not sure they were successful.

      It has stayed around 32 all day with lots of snow falling but it will get warmer here too. I sure hope nature knows we want an early spring here, normally it would take at least a month until spring arrived, as best πŸ™‚

      Have a great dayΒ΄!

      Christer.

      March 7, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

