I long for when they finally stay out all night!

All photos are from yesterday but one can't see the difference in the weather today. Snow, snow, snow.

All photos are from yesterday but one can’t see the difference in the weather today. Snow, snow, snow.

The snowfall started much earlier yesterday than they had predicted so I guess it’s not more than right that they got the ending of it wrong as well, it should have stopped this afternoon but it just keeps on falling and falling and falling. If the temperature hadn’t risen just above 0C (32F) during the day I think we would have gotten a snow cover at least 30cm (15 inches) thick. Oddly enough it wasn’t the snow cover that annoyed me most this morning.

 

DSC_0021 (3)

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0023 (3)

DSC_0026 (2)

I woke once again up to the nasty smell of cat poop filling up my home, at 4:10 am. I tried to ignore it but it is just impossible. I don’t know which cat it is but one of them refuse to cover their business when they are finished and that cat won’t live for long if I find out who it is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It doesn’t take long to fix but the smell stays for hours and I was wide awake when I had flushed it down so there was no idea going back to bed. Guess if I’m tired now πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029 (3)

DSC_0031 (3)

DSC_0032 (3)

DSC_0033 (3)

I had huge problems getting the dogs in to the dog house when I was going to work, not because the dogs behaved bad but because the lock had frozen so I couldn’t open the door πŸ™‚ After that I had to remove all snow from the car and there was lots of snow. So when I finally could start driving I was very late. I backed from my parking space out on te gravel road and guess if I was surprised to see that I almost had crashed straight in to my neighbor, the beekeepers car πŸ™‚ Thankfully he reacted fast πŸ™‚ I had to text him when I came to work and I promised that I would check next time I’m going to work so I won’t do the same thing again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0035 (3)

DSC_0039 (3)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0041 (3)

DSC_0042 (3)

The rest of the day has been rather uneventful thankfully πŸ™‚ A bit slow too but rather that than any more almost accidents and frozen locks. The roads home were much better than I thought they could be when it has snowed as much as it has. I must admit that the world look beautiful now but I do hope for an early spring, not so much because of the warmer weather as for the fact that the cats never are indoors at night when spring arrives, I really don’t like waking up to that smell πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0043 (2)

DSC_0045 (2)

DSC_0046 (3)

No matter how fun she has, she always look serious :-)

No matter how fun she has, she always look serious πŸ™‚

DSC_0048 (3)

Have a great day!

 

Ok, these four aren't from yesterday. They are taken with the Edixa Reflex.

Ok, these four aren’t from yesterday. They are taken with the Edixa Reflex.

A19116_016

A19116_027

A19116_033

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! My apologies if you get 2 replies, one longer than the other. I hit some wrong key and it booted me out but I had half a story going already! πŸ™‚ Oh yes, the smell. We get the odd one sometimes when they have just finished and its disgusting. I can’t believe little things like that make so much smell! πŸ™‚ I wish I could send you some of our weather. We are currently +5 and melting. Slowly melting, but melting nonetheless. πŸ™‚ Sliding around in your car is no fun. I slipped all the way into work this morning as it froze overnight and everything had a nice coating of ice on it this morning. I don’t like it when my car keeps going as my foot is on the brake. The last forest picture with Nova in it is incredible. Those trees are so gigantic – very beautifully humbling! I can’t get over how much Nova and Karma look alike. Even down to the little twist on the end of the tail!!! Except Karma’s chest is speckled black and white. Eerily similar!!! I hope your evening was restful and that tomorrow the sun will shine!

    March 7, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Only one comment from You too, the other one must have been pushed out into cyberspace πŸ™‚

      Yews how can these rather small animals smell so much and so bad πŸ™‚
      It’ll get warmer gere earlier than they predicted, now they say it’ll get warmer already on Thursday πŸ™‚ I hope all this snow melts away in a day or two πŸ™‚ Everything will get muddy but I don’t care as long as the snow goes away :-)The roads here are surprosingly good here?! With all that snow falling it should be rather bad to be honest.

      The problem here is that all trees in the forest have the exact same age, there was no forest here 70 years ago, barely any trees at all to be honest. So when they start cutting down trees in one place we all know the rest will follow not long after.

      Karma is much bigger though. Nova is an exact copy of Orvar’s and Hector’s mother (but she was twice thesize of Nova πŸ™‚ ) and I guess that old Erna would be even more like Karma.

      No sun today but more snow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2016 at 6:20 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That was the kind of morning that would have convinced me to go back to bed before something really awful happened. πŸ™‚ You could train Teodor and Bertil to use the toilet. πŸ™‚

    Lots of snow in your part of the world. Mine is gone. Till next winter, I hope. The rest of this week is supposed to be well above freezing.

    Yesterday, I got annoyed with the vicious roses and savagely chopped a lot of them way back. I chopped a lot of privet and pyracantha, too. Then I decided to clear what used to be the useless piece of grass by the back door. In spring and summer it’s covered in vicious roses, black raspberry, pyracantha and other volunteers plus a 10 foot black walnut and a slightly smaller box elder. Right now it’s just bare sticks and lots of leaves. I chopped down everything except the two trees. I left the leaves. Now Piki Dog has someplace near a door where he will condescend to poop. I feel very accomplished and very, very sore. πŸ™‚

    Hope the snow stops soon.
    Enjoy the day.

    March 7, 2016 at 9:26 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did actually think along that way too πŸ™‚

      I wish I knew how but I’m just glad that they use the shower if they refuse to use the litter bΓ³x and not somewhere else in the cottage πŸ™‚

      We even got more snow today but they now say it’ll get warm already on Thursday and stay warm for at least a week πŸ™‚ I willlaugh diabolicly when I see the snow melt away πŸ™‚

      You really did those roses a favor πŸ™‚ They will now grow even better but they will also give You lots of flowers πŸ™‚ If You want to get rid of those roses You’ll need to dig them up. Normally they will shoot new branches as long as there’s a piece of root left. It is a loosing battle no matter what one does. I need to check how my are doing since we’ve had two mild winters in a row here, I like them but not so much that I want them to spread πŸ™‚

      How nive for Piki Dog πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2016 at 6:27 pm

      • Caryn

        I did kill one vicious rose bush by repeatedly cutting it back to the root crown. There are so many of them around the yard now that it’s impossible to do that to them all. I have to pick certain ones to concentrate on and also make sure the sunny lawn stays well mowed since there are dozens of tiny vicious rose bushes in there just waiting to take it over.
        There’s no way at all that the pyracantha will disappear without heavy applications of Bush Be Gone which I won’t do. There’s a pyracantha root leaping up out of the lawn in the back that has to be two inches in diameter and the closest vine to it is 20 feet away. I might poison that one by painting the cut vine stem.

        March 8, 2016 at 8:10 pm

      • Yes that’s the only way if one doesn’t dig them up. I know that rose is forbidden to plant in several states in Your country. Not that problem here, yet.

        We certainly don’t have that problem with the pyracantha here, most of those species aren’t hardy enough but give the climate change enough time and they’ll be oests here too πŸ™‚

        March 9, 2016 at 6:14 pm

  3. Joy

    maybe those cats need worm medicine more often.

    March 8, 2016 at 1:30 am

    • Hi Joy!

      I have welcomed You before, haven’t I?

      I just did that so they are still worm free. I hope it’ll take some time til I need to do it again, I really dislike those worms πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2016 at 6:29 pm

  4. You reminded me of why I don’t have a cat. As much as I loved my cats, I did hate that cat box. My last cat, Bump, was perfect. In all the years we owned her, and she was a totally inside cat for her died was completely controlled, never did I know her not to cover, VERY carefully, her poo! Of course there was on her. If I could be sure of having another cat like Bumpy, I would have one in a heart beat. I would want a kitten and I am just too old to raise one and be sure I would be here for her lifespan..so..it’s just me and Mele’. And Howard, of course! πŸ™‚ We both agree that starting over with a kitten or puppy would not be wise. Yep..cat pee and poo smells to high heavens! πŸ™‚ Oh…and just so you know..it wasn’t Beril! He is just too proud to do such a thing. It was some strange cat that crept in during the night. Right? Right, Bertil??? πŸ™‚

    March 8, 2016 at 4:39 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I never have to go through that during spring, summer and autumn and winters without any snow so I do long for warmer weather now πŸ™‚

      All other cats I’ve had in my home have covered it when they were done but these two just don’t get that πŸ™‚

      I actually think You’re right! I think it is Teodor but I still haven’t been able to proof it πŸ™‚ I would however be surprised if it was another cat who sneaked in here during the night, I don’t have a cat flap on the door πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2016 at 6:33 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    I’d be crying if we got more snow like yours. It is just too much. At this stage I want winter gone. Today was warm off-cape but we had the wind which which it feel so much colder than it was. Tomorrow will be warmer in Boston, but we might even have a bit more heat than we’ve have. It will be in the upper 40’s.

    I have a meeting tomorrow but that’s it for the rest of the week. I do have some gifts to make so I may do that.

    We’ve started working on our Ghanaian trip for this fall. I am not spending much money so I can save it for the trip. I almost have all the money I need.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    March 8, 2016 at 5:11 am

    • Hi Kat!

      To be honest, we should normally have it much colder here now and possibly have lots more snow too but since it has been so warm it really didn’t make me happy seeing it fall and fall and fall πŸ™‚ We even got some more today but now they say it’ll get warm on Thursday so I hope it all will melt away fast!

      I wish I could say I would stay at home for the rest of the week πŸ™‚ Well, if I win te lottery tomorrow I can but the chanses are slim to none I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      Planning is almost as fun as the trip πŸ™‚ Good that You already have all the money, it is so boring to have to check if one really need everything one buy just to make sure there’s enough money for the trip!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2016 at 6:37 pm

  6. jaz

    oh wow! SNOW!!!! i need winter! it is 80 degrees here already and will be in the 70’s for the next 10 days. no spring this year. i hate this!

    March 10, 2016 at 12:25 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes and lots of it! It doesn’t melt away as fast as I thought it would because of the really cold nights we’re having. I’m not sure if I would like 80 though or even around 70 this early in the year πŸ™‚ I hope this doesn’t mean You’ll get a horribly hot summer!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 10, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

