They’re back!

Can You see them :-) Cranes! I did of course not bring the tele-photo lens but I've cropped the photo a lot and if You click on the photo it will get bigger.

Can You see them ๐Ÿ™‚ Cranes! I did of course not bring the tele-photo lens but I’ve cropped the photo a lot and if You click on the photo it will get bigger.

We now have around 250 cranes here by the lake and the first caravan has arrived too ๐Ÿ™‚ This year they say they’ll only count the cranes every second day until they reach over 10 000, that’s when they start counting them every day. I think the record is somewhere around 25 000 during one day. There are also more or less the same amount of humans there too at the same time but fewer caravans ๐Ÿ™‚ ย Naturally hunters now scream that they need to shoot some since there are so many, well not hunters around here though because that would be like cursing in church ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I took a few photos on my way home. This is the church in Kvรคnum

I took a few photos on my way home. This is the church in Kvรคnum.

This building stands on the mountain. I think it has been some kind oยดf factory but I really have no idea.

This building stands on the mountain. I think it has been some kind of factory but I really have no idea.

DSC_0024 (4)

The Abbey ruin in Gudhem.

The Abbey ruin in Gudhem.

We’ve had a perfect springwinter day here. The night was nasty cold, it fell down to almost -10C (14F) but the temperature rose up to almost 7C (44,6F) and the sun shone almost the entire time. If I would have been at home today I would have packed a picnic bag (I have only two baskets and one is occupied by the cats and the other one has other things in it ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Then I would have walked out on the bog and found a sunny spot to just sit and enjoy the day. We did go out on the bog after work but the ice had started to melt even in the shadowy places so to sit down and enjoy the day would feel a bit stressful since I wouldn’t know if it would hold me on the way back home ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0028 (5)

The church in Gudhem (means God’s home).

DSC_0029 (5)

DSC_0031 (5)

DSC_0033 (5)

We might get much the same weather tomorrow if the Swedish weather site’s predictions are right. They say it will start foggy and I won’t mind that and after that it will be semi sunny. The Norwegian however says cloudy all day and not as warm as the Swedish site. I do hope the Swedish one is right for once ๐Ÿ™‚ even if I know the Norwegian usually is more accurate but I’ve heard that even a blind hen can find corn so who knows ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0041 (4)

The church in Bjurum, just beside the lake.

The church in Bjurum, just beside the lake.

DSC_0045 (3)

Dagsnรคs Castle.

Dagsnรคs Castle.

I’ve started a fire in the stove, it isn’t that cold in here but I’m tired and feel a bit frozen anyway. We were all tired at work and a new wave of colds have hit us. So far I don’t feel I’ve caught anything so I hope it stays that way. No big difference in Nova’s ear but it’s just the second day she gets her medicine so It will take a day or two until I can see a difference I think. Sune is just as healthy and happy as always ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Geese and the roof on the first caravan for the season :-)

Geese and the roof on the first caravan for the season ๐Ÿ™‚

Turns out it is Canadian geese.

Turns out it is Canadian geese.

We have four cars on my little gravel road and normaยดlly it's fine but now the forest machines have destroyed it totally and everything is muddy. They will fix the road but they can't do it until it is dry.

We have four cars on my little gravel road and normally it’s fine but now the forest machines have destroyed it totally and everything is muddy. They will fix the road but they can’t do it until it is dry.

DSC_0056 (2)

I’ve just tossed Teodor out the door. Three times he has gone to the door to get out and every time I’ve opened the door he has turned back again. The fourth time I got tired of it and tossed him outside ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s a limit to how patient I am and four times was at least one time too many ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Breakfast table on the bog :-)

Breakfast table on the bog ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0070 (1)

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

It is time to make something to eat and today I’ll make a sandwich or two on hard thin bread probably with lots of cheese and spotted sausage, really tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! There they are!!! There are quite a few cranes aren’t there? Glad to hear they are coming back – that’s such a good sign! ๐Ÿ™‚ Please point those Canadian geese my way! We have heard and see the geese now for a couple of weeks when we were having really bad weather and I thought to myself, this can’t be right!!! But they are truly the harbingers of spring! We are currently sitting at 9 degrees today! I haven’t seen this kind of weather for a few years! My son turns 20 next Friday and I can recall having one of his parties when he was around 4 or 5 and it was raining with no snow. Well, this weather is very close to all those years ago. I am amazed at the weather! And at having a child turning 20! Not sure how that happened as I am pretty sure I am only 23 myself…. ๐Ÿ™‚ Kidding of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ I plan on going for a really, really long walk tonight! They are calling for snow next week but that’s far away. However, it is March so anything can happen! I hope Nova’s ear gets better soon! Last night Karma decided it would be fun to rip up a bed sheet and eat it. Then she tried to pass it and it got stuck. I was home late from work and I had vision of thousands of dollars again at the vet for them to try and get it out. Luckily enough my husband took her for a really long walk and she passed it along herself ๐Ÿ™‚ Animals!!!! Have a restful evening!

    March 11, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is nice to see them back and soon the noisy from the lake will be so loud that it can be heard for miles and miles, they are no quiet birds ๐Ÿ™‚ 250 so far. I am however surprised that I saw Canadian geese! They are usually not the first ones to arrive, normally they come a bit later than the other geese.

      It is a time loophole You know! It somehow allows children to become older than their mothers ๐Ÿ™‚ No one really knows how it works but it happens everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚

      April is our month when anything and everything can happen, March is usually cold and snowy. It looks like the Norwegian site was right again, no fog this morning so I guess it’ll be cloudy all day but plus degrees and that’s the important thing ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m so glad Karma managed to get it out!! That could be a very expensive thing to fix otherwise.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 12, 2016 at 6:55 am

  2. Dianna

    Me again! I wasn’t finished! ๐Ÿ™‚ I forgot to say that those photos today are really out of this world amazing!!! Well done!

    March 11, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    • I’m glad You like them ๐Ÿ™‚

      March 12, 2016 at 6:56 am

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Yes, it looks like they’re back. Cranes and neck-craners. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I didn’t know you had Canada Geese over there. They get around. Saw a lot of them here yesterday.
    Yesterday I went to a wildlife refuge that I hadn’t been to in 30 years. It’s not out of the way for me but dogs are not allowed in the refuge because it’s an important nesting site for some endangered species. I’ve almost always had a dog with me when I was in the area.
    It was a little changed from what I remembered. Most of the dirt road is paved and the trail heads have been improved with hard surfaces and restrooms. As I remember, there was one rest room right at the entrance to the park and nothing else anywhere else in the park. Not a good idea when 7 miles of beach is open to the public and you don’t want people tramping into the dunes behind the beach.
    The place was still as quiet and beautiful as I remember. I walked out on Hellcat Swamp trail and sat out in the middle of the marsh for a while. The only sound was a faint which I first thought was tire noise from the highway but it was actually the roar of the waves way back beyond the dunes. Later on I walked through the dune trail to the beach. Blue water, white surf, blue sky, pale sand. Perfect. I will go back more often than every 30 years. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love that last photo. It looks like a smiling bird. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also like that factory building. It’s a good color and it has those cool rusting pieces of farm equipment in the garden. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cats. Always looking for the door into summer. You were very patient. I used to boot mine out on the second request.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 12, 2016 at 3:16 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have so much Canadian geese here that they destroy fields with crops totally. They decided they would let out Canadian geese here when they had shot all geese we have to the brink of exstinction. They thrived here in Europe since they had very little competition from other geese. All other geese were protected so now they too are quite a lot again.

      That wildlife refuge sounds much like this area but they never pave any roads in ours and restrooms are extremely rare anywhere here ๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully most people hold on until they get home again ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love to hear that sound but no oยดcean near here. I could go to our biggest like during a storm though, it isn’t far away and is so big that it behaves like an ocean. I think dogs are allowed everywhere in areas like that here as long as they are leashed.

      I do like that factory building too but I’ve never had the camera with me when I’ve been driving there. I really should bring a camera with me all the time (I never remember that my phone has one and I always have problems getting them out of the phone to the laptop).

      I guess I was kind yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚ but there is a limit and he passed it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 12, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

