and there it was.

Thankfully the road was still frozen when we started walking, it wasn't when we came home.

Thankfully the road was still frozen when we started walking, it wasn’t when we came home.

I do wonder why the ones working at the Swedish weather forecast serviceΒ SMHI get paid at all πŸ™‚ No sunshine, no warm weather and no fog what so ever. If the Norwegians can get it right why can’t the Swedes? All week they’ve promised sunny and spring temperatures and to be honest, we’re not close to that. It is however rather nice outside since there’s no wind at all and it is warm enough to make the roads muddy again after a reasonable cold night. It could be worse though, March can be a nasty cold month with lots of snow so I guess this is better after all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025 (5)

DSC_0026 (5)

DSC_0027 (4)

It sure isn't beautiful down stream the creek any more but I hope it will be again.

It sure isn’t beautiful down stream the creek any more but I hope it will be again.

Today I had decided that I would reach the lake in the bog and my biggest problem before we left was if I should bring the Hasselblad camera, loaded with B&W film. I decided I would left it at home because it does weigh almost 2 kg (over 4 pounds) and the bag has a tendency to squeek. At first it was like SQUEEEEEK, SQUEEEEEK, SQUEEEEEK all the time. I tried everything to stop it doing that and tape was the best thing I could find. Now the bag says sqrrek, sqrrek, sqrrek instead but at least more quiet but I can tell You that the sound does drive anyone insane after twenty minutes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Β >Naturally I should have brought it even if I would have gone mad long before we reached our goal.

 

DSC_0037 (5)

DSC_0040 (4)

DSC_0041 (5)

 

 

 

DSC_0046 (5)

So we walked down to the creek and the first thing I heard was a couple of cranes shouting in a field nearby, that is a wonderful sound at least as long they just are a few. When they reach over 20 000 it’s an awful sound πŸ™‚ I saw a fox hunting out on a field and it too heard the cranes. It can of course not take a crane unless the bird is more or less dead but as the opportunist it is it started walking towards the sound. The snow and ice on the ground cracked with a sound of an explosion every time I took a step so I knew that the fox most likely would be the only animal we would see on our walk. We did however see a few cranes, trumpet swans and geese fly above us though.

 

DSC_0048 (5)

DSC_0052 (4)

DSC_0061 (3)

DSC_0062 (3)

I followed the beekeepers instructions on how to get to the lake and when the creek reached its end it splitΒ in two, one towards north and one towards south. We followed the one towards north and did after a while find something looking like a path, the snow-covered it pretty good but it was visible every now and again. It felt like we had been walking for hours (which in fact we actually had πŸ™‚ ) and I was almost to the point of turning back since I thought I’d misunderstood the instructions when I finally saw it, the lake.

 

DSC_0071 (1)

Here the creek splits in two, we followed the one towards north.

Here the creek splits in two, we followed the one towards north.

I think this might have been one of the places where one controlled how much water would leave the area.

I think this might have been one of the places where one controlled how much water would leave the area.

The pines out here don't look healthy :-) They are probably much older than I am.

The pines out here don’t look healthy πŸ™‚ They are probably much older than I am.

The last few meters we mostly walked on ice I think. It is a swampy area where we finally reached the lake but thanks to the cold nights the ice still carried my weight. It is absolutely quiet out there, I think there is one property just beside the lake but that’s it and if I now the authorities right they have most likely forced the owners to sell because that is what they have done with all other landowners close or in the nature reserve. The authorities say they want to protect the area but since they now have forbidden any restoration of the ditches letting the water out of the area the water level will rise as soon as those ditches stop working. When that happens all the places they want to protect will drown so it is a somewhat strange way to protect anything πŸ™‚ Well, in time I’ll get a lake property with zillions of biting flies all summer long, am I not a lucky guy πŸ™‚

 

Finally! We've reached it!

Finally! We’ve reached it!

The end of the creek. It felt like I had found the source of the Nile :-)

The end of the creek. It felt like I had found the source of the Nile πŸ™‚ All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0081 (1)

The last part was filled with grass and Bog myrtle.

The last part was filled with grass and Bog myrtle.

I think we were out for almost 3,5 hours and we all took a nap when we came home. To be honest, I’m not sure anyone of us wants to go out again today but I’ll make a try later. It is time to make a pot of tea and then some more sleeping in front of the tv πŸ™‚ So was it worth walking out to the lake? Yes it was πŸ™‚

 

We can only see a small part of the lake and I've looked at maps but aren't quite sure where this is, I really need to buyt that map which shows even the tiniest of paths and creeks. I will come back here again. There is an easier way, I can drive much closer and get there by a walking on a bigger path the last hundred yards but that's no sport :-)

We can only see a small part of the lake and I’ve looked at maps but aren’t quite sure where this is, I really need to buy that map which shows even the tiniest of paths and creeks. I will come back here again. There is an easier way, I can drive much closer and get there by a walking on a bigger path the last hundred yards but that’s no sport πŸ™‚

DSC_0085

DSC_0086

DSC_0087

Have a great day!

 

Then we walked back home again.

Then we walked back home again.

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, that was quite the adventure today wasn’t it?!?! πŸ™‚ I don’t know if my back would like me walking 3.5 hours…it tends to complain after about an hour out, but you must have put on about one million steps! I wonder if you will be going back out for another jaunt? I would have had to take a nap too after that! Today we are sunny and 1 degree (but its only 840 a.m.) so we are to get a bit warmer. Then it looks like we get cold again mid week and snow! It is March. I think if I had a bag that squeaked like that it would drive me nuts! I can’t take background noise of any kind and that would make me insane too! πŸ™‚ Today we are having a birthday celebration for our 2 neighbors next door (he turned 80 in February and she turns 76 at the end of the month) along with our son’s birthday next week. We have known these neighbors over 45 years so its only right to celebrate! We will also celebrate our son’s birthday next Friday with a dinner out too. Such an exciting month! πŸ™‚ I agree with you that the creek is not as nice as it used to be, but perhaps in time it will fill in and be nice once again! πŸ™‚ Nice lake too!! I bet its lovely in the summer! I hope your evening is lovely! πŸ™‚

    March 12, 2016 at 3:44 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      First I want to congratulate You to the Bronze medal in the world championship in the ski biathlon relay! Your guys were really good!

      Well, I sort of knew how to get there but I leashed the dog the last part and they really don’t know how to cooperate with me when leashed πŸ™‚ It happens so seldome that I’m just glad they don’t pull the leash especially much πŸ™‚ My rheumatism in my spine get much better the more I walk around and it is even better if the terrain is uneven like it is all the way there. I will go there again before it gets too warm and all the ticks starts crawling up the small bushes.

      The warmer weather they said we would get is now predicted to come later next week, the Norwegians says so too so I guess there’s a probability that it actually happens πŸ™‚

      Yes that sound really bring out the insanity in us all πŸ™‚ I don’t know how but I sure hope I finally can get rid of it πŸ™‚

      Birthdays are always fun to celebrate πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately it isn’t especially nice by that lake in summer. Loads of biting insects will destroy any day there I’m afraid. The beekeeper and his girlfriend have bathed there though and they say the skin feels smooth afterwards, I wonder what it is that does that?

      They show Grimm on channel Six tonight and after that it’s the finale of the Swedish part of the Eurovision Song Contest. The big finale is sometime in May I think.

      Hasve a great day!

      Christer.

      Have a great day!

      March 12, 2016 at 5:02 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The lake looks interesting and worthy of further exploration. That was a walk and a half, though. No wonder you took a nap. I took one after I came home from my long jaunt yesterday but my feet and knees are still achy. They’ve not had that much use lately.

    Just as a fun experiment, you could try to find the area which is having the same weather as the Swedish weather service predicted for you. It does sound as if they are forecasting for some completely different place. If the Norwegians are forecasting your weather, maybe the Swedish service is forecasting for Finland or Denmark. Either that or they’re taking an average of the entire Nordic land mass.

    This morning there was frost on the grass and a wee nip in the air. Now the sun is well up and warming all. It won’t be the 70ΒΊF we had the other day but it will still be close to 60. I’ll take it.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 12, 2016 at 4:46 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes we all needed that nap πŸ™‚ It would have been much easier if the snow hadn’t been there, it almost carried me and when I broke through it was like walking in ice pellets. Still I did like this walk very much, too bad there was no fog.

      Yes I do wonder where these predictions fit πŸ™‚ They have one of the most advanced computers as help and still they get it wrong so often! Perhaps they gave us the weather for Estonia? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I just watched the ski biathlong in Norway (Oslo) and they had much the same weather as here so it wasn’t the Oslo weather we got either πŸ™‚

      I would love close to 60 πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 12, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      • Caryn

        They must have entered the wrong postal code when they programmed the computer. It’s giving you the weather for Sweden Maine USA. πŸ˜€

        March 12, 2016 at 8:48 pm

      • Either that or where the Swedish colony New Sweden was placed in Pennsylvania πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        March 12, 2016 at 10:31 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    That was quite the walk. Old Gracie would have waited to be carried. She’s good for a couple of miles but not more than that. She still has a lot of energy, but I hate to overtax her.

    I’m going to go grocery shopping on line. I have a list, and they’ll deliver tomorrow. I need cat food most of all.

    It has been sunny lately but it doesn’t do much good. The water is still cold, and if the breeze is off the water, we’re cold. Last week we were 20˚ colder than Boston. They got to 76˚.

    I’ve started watching a new program on scifi called The Magicians. I told my sister about it and she complained as she ended up binging until she caught up with the program. I think you’ll like it when it finally appears.

    Have a great Sunday!

    March 13, 2016 at 2:58 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We never reached the lake before because of Hectors bad joints but Orvar would have made it without any problems, we never walk fast and take breaks everywhere πŸ™‚

      No sun here and once again the swedish site had predicted semy sunny for this morning, I do wonder if they get paid πŸ™‚ I’m thinking of trying it myself with perhaps cards where each card has a meaning, like hearts are sunnt and dimaonds means temperature. I doubt I would be much worse πŸ™‚

      I’ll keep my eyes open, sometimes channel six get those programs directly and sometimes they miss something that would be obviously good πŸ™‚ Grimm is just getting better and better and we are just a few shows after You. I guess the 100th show was a good one!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 13, 2016 at 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

