For the first time this year.

From the Kiev 4.

From the Kiev 4. All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

We had thick fog again this morning but since I start working an hour earlier on Fridays it was just too dark to take any photos. ย Too bad because I was all alone on the big road and could have stopped slightly illegal on the wrong side of the road to get a foggy river photo ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think I would have dared even if the light was right ๐Ÿ™‚ but it sure was tempting ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I think it was on Tuesday evening I took these four photos.

I think it was on Tuesday evening I took these four photos.

I was looking for the cranes that You can see fly away in this photo and really didn't see the deer until I took the next photo :-)

I was looking for the cranes that You can see fly away in this photo and really didn’t see the deer until I took the next photo ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0026 (7)

DSC_0028 (8)

Time just flew away at work and so did the fog outside, so by the time I was driving away from work the sun shone and it still does. I stopped at the grocery store and just as I walked in so did around fifty school kids from the nearby school. I must say they behave much better than we did when I was that age but they do have a tendency to be everywhere at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0038 (7)

DSC_0040 (5)

DSC_0043 (6)

DSC_0046 (7)

I did think that it would take forever to get out again but they all just wanted one or two things each and it seemed as if they had just the right amount to pay so it didn’t take any longer than it usually does. It was so warm in the car when I drove home that I had to let the climate control start to cool it down ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0047 (6)

We could to my big surprise walk out on the bog despite the warm and sunny weather.

We could to my big surprise walk out on the bog despite the warm and sunny weather.

DSC_0049 (7)

DSC_0050 (5)

A smell reached me when I came home and opened up the car door, I can’t say what it was but it smelled spring for the first time this year. As if there were lots of flowers in bloom. It can’t have been that though since only a few snowdrops still flower here. I did however buy a small pot with dwarf daffodils, or as we call them Easter lilies. I’m not sure if they smell at all because only one of the buds has opened up some but I’ll know as soon as they do.

 

I think this is Eriophorum brachyantherum. Called Close-sheathed cotton-grass. We call it Myrull (mire woll).

I think this is Eriophorum brachyantherum. Called Close-sheathed cotton-grass. We call it Myrull (mire wool).

DSC_0052 (6)

DSC_0053 (5)

I think this is what we call window lichens. It was placed between the one glass windows and the extra winter windows during winter to suck up all the moistness between the windows.

I think this is what we call window lichens. It was placed between the one glass windows and the extra winter windows during winter to suck up all the moistness between the windows.

It is time to give the animals their food and I’ll have something as well I think. I think I’ll have cocoa even if it is warm and nice today.

 

Four photos taken with the Kodak Retinette. This is at work early in the morning.

Four photos taken with the Kodak Retinette. This is at work early in the morning.

A19202_021

The old forge to the right.

A19202_022

Perhaps I should clean the lens more often :-) but I do like the rays from the car headlights.

Perhaps I should clean the lens more often ๐Ÿ™‚ but I do like the rays from the car headlights.

 

Have a great day!

4 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I got a bunch of cut daffodils from the store the other day and they are perfuming the place. When I go outside I can still smell them. I think the perfume atoms are stuck inside my nose. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I know what you mean about the strange smell outside that smells like spring but isn’t flowers. I always figured it was the components of the soil coming to life again after a frozen winter.
    Speaking of coming to life, one of the quince seeds I’ve had in damp paper towels in the fridge has put out a tendril. I have to get some potting mix to put it in. The other seeds are not doing anything at all. Maybe I’ll plant them anyway.

    Deer are easy to overlook even when they’re close to you. I had four in my back swamp on the part that’s closest to the house. I knew they were there. I knew where they all were standing and eating and I could still lose them if I looked away for a second. They were standing out in the open on the greenest part of the swamp and they still could disappear into the background just because they are the color of dead grass, dirt and tree bark. Once they moved off into the trees I lost them completely.

    It started out sunny but a cold north wind came up bringing in the clouds. There are still some periods of sun but they aren’t warm. Still waiting to see which way that snowstorm goes. An inland track would be bad.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 18, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      One flower has opened up some and it has a weak scent, it might become stronger as time goes by though. Daffodills usually smell a lot, not always nice though.

      Yes You are most lijkely right about that, it is a sweet smell and I guess it is the decomposing of grass and leafs that create that smell. Silage for instance has a sweet smell too.

      You can either keep those seeds in the fridge for a few weeks if You want more control of thm or sow them in pots and place them outdoors in the colder weather. If one germinates the rest will most likely follow too.

      Yes deer tend to vanish in front of us ๐Ÿ™‚ I was more interested in the cranes so I didn’t even look for any other animals.

      I do hope that the snow storm won’t hit You, it could have fallen duriung winter if it has to fall at all ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 18, 2016 at 7:39 pm

  2. Dianna

    Me again! Just a quick one before heading out for supper. I love the very first picture! Great capture. The early morning sky is very pretty too!

    March 20, 2016 at 12:08 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I really like that first photo too even if it just is a tree stump.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 20, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

