I got one chanse and I took it :-)

DSC_0022 (9)

We started early this morning and were out before 6:30. We didn’t have any fog as I had hoped but the sky was almost totally clear so we would get sunshine. A bit cold so I wore a sweater beneath the jacket, I thought it is better to be a bit warm than to freeze. How stupid I was, it is better to freeze a bit because one will get warm just by moving around and wearing an extra sweater and at the same time being fried by the sun is like walking in hell 🙂 and that does not help with the temper when two leashed dog do what they can to tangle us all in to a lot of small trees and bushes 🙂

 

DSC_0026 (8)

DSC_0028 (9)

DSC_0030 (5)

DSC_0031 (9)

They were of course only leashed in the nature reserve, none of them have much of hunting instinct but a nature reserve with almost no smell of humans but loads of smells from animals can start hidden talents and that is something I really don’t want 🙂 We reached bridge three without and just as I walked across if one of the boards broke, thankfully it was close to the bank so it never fell down into the creek. I walked slowly backwards to land again and was thinking of going back home but then I figured that since it held enough when I stood at the middle of it I really should be safe walking across it. The creek isn’t deep but it is muddy and the water is a bit too chilly for my taste 🙂

 

Already here we could hear the Black Grouse roosters trying to impress the hens. There are very many out there now, it isn't that long ago they were almost extinkt in this area.

Already here we could hear the Black Grouse roosters trying to impress the hens. There are very many out there now, it isn’t that long ago they were almost extinct in this area.

DSC_0034 (7)

DSC_0036 (6)

DSC_0037 (8)

The sun warmed up the ground a bit too fast so long parts were more or less swampy, even where the path led us right. It was even worse when we reached the lake. It was impossible to go where we had been last week and that was quite annoying since I could hear cranes just nearby. I looked between all the trees towards the lake and suddenly there one was, a crane. There were too many trees to use the autofocus and I knew I wouldn’t have especially much time to get a photo. I focus between the trees as good as I could and suddenly the crane showed again. As soon as I got the photo the crane was gone again. We did try to walk around the southern part of the lake because I could see a small boat on the other side.

 

DSC_0041 (7)

DSC_0042 (6)

DSC_0043 (7)

DSC_0044 (7)

This lake is known as what we call poor lake. It isn’t very nutritious so either all the fish in the lake is tiny (we call those fish for thousand brothers, there are loads of them but all are tiny) or there are a few but rather big fishes in the lake. I did however find some folklore about it. It is said to have a powerful being living in it, something we call Sjörå (a kind of lake nymph), she’s also called the Lake Lady. She is unlike many of our beings not one to kill humans just out of blood thirst, unless one make her angry of course by for instance we killing or destroying the animals and surroundings. You will understand that it is her You see because she usually sits on stone in the water, combing her beautiful but green hair.

 

here You can see how one of the boards are much lower than the other. I have to admit I got really scared when I heard the cracking sound :-)

Here You can see how one of the boards are much lower than the other. I have to admit I got really scared when I heard the cracking sound 🙂

DSC_0049 (8)

DSC_0052 (7)

The ground was pretty good until we came out to the more open spaces in the bog.

The ground was pretty good until we came out to the more open spaces in the bog.

She has a somewhat strange herd of cattle, they are striped and the cattle usually grace around the lake. If one should come too close to them the cattle then will run straight into the lake and vanish. If one would fish in that lake and happens to catch a big pike it is best to put it out in the water again because it could actually be one of those striped cows. She will help anyone who will sacrifice anything to her, like a few coins or silver. She will then make sure one will get a good catch if fishing in the lake or warn if bad weather is approaching. Make her angry though and she will most likely drown the one doing that. She also dislikes the being living in rivers and creeks which we call Näcken (and also the Creek Horse which also lives close to rivers and creeks(Bäckahästen), so it can be a good idea to be a good friend to her. Näcken and Bäckahästen will kill You just for fun.

 

We never managed to get closer to the lake than this. There is one path leading to the lake from another direction and I think I'll try that one later this year.

We never managed to get closer to the lake than this. There is one path leading to the lake from another direction and I think I’ll try that one later this year.

I got one chance to get a photo of a crane and I took it :-)

I got one chance to get a photo of a crane and I took it 🙂

I tried to reach the boat but the surroundings were just too swampy today.

I tried to reach the boat but the surroundings were just too swampy today.

DSC_0064 (4)

I won’t go there tomorrow because it was just too wet now (unless the night gets seriously cold so the ground freeze again) so this was the last time this spring I could go there because from Monday until the early summer this will be a bird sanctuary and no one is allowed to be there. The bird sanctuary actually starts here in the village so unless one is going straight home to someone one knows here one can’t wander around as one wish. We who live here are of course allowed to walk around but not out on the bog. We were out for over three hours and as soon as I started to relax all my muscles got cramps 🙂 It didn’t matter what I did it just refused to let go for a very long time 🙂

 

DSC_0068 (3)

DSC_0069 (4)

DSC_0070 (4)
DSC_0071 (3)

It is time to take another cup of tea, then some laundry because I had no clean t-shirts left and after that a nap I think.

Have a great day!

 

One photo taken with the Retinette.

One photo taken with the Retinette.

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Adventurous walk.
    It’s surprising that you get muscle cramps since you do so much walking every day. I got them after walking around the wildlife reserve a couple of weeks ago but I don’t walk very much lately and certainly not the kind of hiking I was doing that day. As soon as I sat down on the couch the calf muscles started cramping up. Stretching stopped the cramp for a little while but they kept coming back all evening.

    Beautiful head studies of Nova and Sune. You picked a great background for them, too.
    They both have those lovely whiskey brown eyes that glow in the sun. Rocky’s eyes are black so you can’t see the pupils. He looks like a seal pup with those big soft black eyes. Piki Dog has two-color eyes; dark brown on the rims of the iris and medium brown in the middle. He always looks stoned. 😀

    Thanks for the story about the Lake Lady and company. I hadn’t heard of her but I have heard about the strange cattle that turn into fish. I would just point out that long green hair is not all that uncommon anymore so it’s not a reliable indicator of the kind of being you’re looking at. 🙂
    I wondered if the Creek Horse is similar to the Celtic Kelpie and it seems to be. A Kelpie can shape shift and become human but there is some disagreement as to whether or not it was dangerous.

    Today is cold and sunny. It looks as though the big snow is now going to be a big nothing but some snowy rain. My brother predicted that result because he had spent time getting his snowblower working so, of course, it would not snow. He should do that frequently. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    March 19, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I didn’t mention all the times I fell on that walk 🙂 Half frozen moss is quite nice to fall down on 🙂 It is my rheumatism which helps giving me cramps. I aparently have a Scandinavian version of Beschterews which attacks more than just the spine, it also does what it can to my muscle attachments and tendons. Mosat of the time I’ve no bigger problems but walking in soft mossand sinking in swamps makes it a bit more difficult when I relax afterewards. I still get cramp but it isn’t tyat bad any longer thankfully 🙂

      Sune does have rather wonderful eyes, Nova’s are pretty too but his are more towards golden brown than hers. I laughed out loud when I read how Piki Dog looks like 🙂 and a seal pup’s eyes are just adorable 🙂

      I hadn’t heard that this lake has a Lady of the Lake but I have read about them before. Bäckahästen is a sort of relative to Näcken but perhaps not so much to the Irish Kelpie. Bäckahästen is mostly known for luring children to take a ride on him and then he runs in to a deep river and drowns them. Näcken mostly lure young women, usually by playing the violin so great that they get enchanted and follows him down into the water to their deaths. For a reason no one rally knows early last century they started saying that he always were nude while playing the violin, that was never said before.

      Really nice day here and tomorriow will be much the same but after that it will get colder again. The Norwegian site says warmer weather than the Swedish one and I think the Norwegian is more reliable. Of course there will be no snow or just a little if he made sure his snow blower works 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 19, 2016 at 6:36 pm

      • Caryn

        Kelpie sounds like a combo of Bäckahästen and Näcken. Kelpie lures children and women to the waters with its flute playing. Some legends say she kills them and some say she does not. Some say she can also be a man.
        Pougha (or Pooka) is a cute shaggy pony that invites you to ride but then takes you on a wild trip through every bramble and brier, dumps you in the nearest mud hole and runs off laughing.
        At first I thought your two were like Each Uiske but that’s a horse from the sea. It lures people up to ride and then takes them out to sea, drowns them and eats them.
        I read somewhere that all of these legends were just by way of warning children and maidens away from tricky pieces of water.

        March 19, 2016 at 11:30 pm

      • I’ve never heard about the Pougha before and I sort of like it 🙂 🙂

        The Each-Usige was new to me too, I had to check what it was on the net. At least it kills because it is hungry even if I can’t say I like that it eats humans 🙂 Ours just kill for the fun of it and leaves the bodies to be found or rot.
        Yes these were great stories to tell children, I too would have stayed away from all kinds of water if someone had told me tyat when I was a kid 🙂

        March 20, 2016 at 3:17 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! What a great walk today for you! So many perfext pictures too! Its still a bit cold here after all the snow we got the other day. I wish it would warm up a bit so things would dry up. I am tired of mopping floors and wiping feet!! Or rather should I say my back is tired of mopping the floor! 🙂 we are heading out the door to meet my brother and his family for some pizza and listen to some music at a local pizza house. I am getting hungry so looking forward to it! I hope your nap was nice. I get to do some laundry tomorrow!

    March 20, 2016 at 12:04 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do enjoy my walks but I was soo tired afterwards 🙂 I never came around to take a nap though but I sort of half slumbered in front of the tv during the day 🙂

      It has started to dry up really well here so not much scrubbing the floors here now. I do hope we’ll get a dry spring just because I’m tired of muddy floors.

      Long time since I had pizza! Too far away to one to drive to and they don’t deliver this far out in the countryside. I hope the evening was as fun as it sounds!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 20, 2016 at 3:21 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    You have such wonderful spots for walking. I used to take my other dogs on a great walk near the river through the woods. They could be off leash and never bothered with other dogs. I’d never take Gracie there. She’d be pulling to try to get the other dogs.

    I know all those cranes get noisy but they must look magnificent.

    The nosiest birds are seagulls. They fly close to the ground if there is something to eat and they swoop just over your head. They don’t care about people around and sometimes will take food if it is offered.

    We’ve got snow coming!

    Have a great evening!!

    March 20, 2016 at 12:40 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes I do have wonderful places where I can walk but now many of them are bird sanctuaries until early summer so now I’ll have to walk elsewhere I’m afraid.

      We rarely meet anyone here and thankfully they suspect any human coming cklose to us so I can easily leash them. When they see who it is they let go of all suspicions and pull like crazy 🙂

      Yes they are impressive birds but a seagull is quiet compared to a crane 🙂 🙂 but the cranes usually go quiet as soon as the nesting starts, nothing a seagull ever would think of getting 🙂 🙂 I do like seagulls of all kinds and we actually have quite a lot of them here inland.

      Spring here today 🙂 I hope You won’t get too much snow!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 20, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

