We had spring on the spring equinox.

DSC_0020 (9)

We started our walk just as early today as we did yesterday but instead of going to the lake in the bog we walked to the lake in the forest. I thought it must have thawed that much so I would be able to see open water and perhaps some cranes too. The open water guess was right but there wasn’t a single crane there this morning, instead I saw three Mallards. I did manage to photograph them but to be honest, they are so tiny in the photo that it is hard to say whether they are birds or branches floating in the water πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021 (9)

DSC_0024 (9)

DSC_0029 (10)

DSC_0031 (10)

I didn’t put on a sweater to have beneath the jacket which I was very happy that I didn’t. It was below freezing when we started but the sun warmed up so good that it would have been too hot after just a short while. We came home after an hour and a half but the weather was just too good so we only had something to eat before we headed out again. We walked out on the bog where we usually walk and even if it was rather warm already then the bog was just enough frozen to carry me most of the time.

 

DSC_0033 (10)

DSC_0034 (8)

DSC_0035 (9)

DSC_0036 (7)

The cranes out there could easily be heard and I didn’t want to disturb them so I kept our distance all the time. Unfortunately I could hear the cars going to the big lake the whole time, I guess there are more people than cranes there now. Yesterday they counted 3800 cranes and by the sound of the traffic there must have been more than three times the amount of humans πŸ™‚ I’ll go there next week instead so I can take a few photos to show You. I think I’ll go there early on Good Friday perhaps even before the people in the caravans go outside and it will be easier to get a parking space too if I go early.

 

DSC_0038 (9)

DSC_0042 (7)

The first real good web for the year. I’ve also seen three butterflies.

DSC_0047 (8)

DSC_0049 (9)

They put up parking meters everywhere around the lake this time of year and the money goes to feeding all the birds. 25 000 cranes and I don’t know how many geese, swans and ducks there are sure eats a lot πŸ™‚ so we all pay the fee without complaining. As soon as the cranes have moved north (these flies to Norway) the meters are gone again packed away to get used next year again. I better make sure I have enough with coins, it costs around 20 Swedish kronor (around $ 2,2 US) to park an entire day there.

 

DSC_0052 (8)

There is actually three Mallards in the middle of this photo but not even if I magnifie the original photo they show especially well :-)

There areΒ actually three Mallards in the middle of this photo but not even if I magnifie the original photo they show especially well πŸ™‚

DSC_0057 (8)

DSC_0058 (7)

I just did the last of the laundry when we came home and then we went out again. This walk was however a bit shorter and only took half an hour. I just checked the thermometer and it is 11C (51,8F) outside right now, not bad considering the predictions were much lower. The snowdrops are still the only flowers in bloom but the lungwort will open up any day now if it stays above freezing during the day. Also both Scilla and tulips have started to show above the ground now. I planted the Shagbark nuts I’ve had in the refrigerator all winter in pots and placed them outside by the north heading wall so no sunlight can reach the pots. They all look just fine so I hope that at least some will germinate. The black walnut has survived the winter without any damages at all, it is now six or seven years old and perhaps 1,2 meters high (around 6,3 feet).

 

DSC_0059 (7)

DSC_0061 (7)

It's best to always stay close to a good chimney, one never knows if someone will try to take it.

It’s best to always stay close to a good chimney, one never knows if someone will try to take it.

DSC_0067 (5)

It is time to feed all the animals and after that I think I’ll have something myself too.

Have a great day!

 

From the Retinette.

From the Retinette.

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The first photo reminded me of a Van Gogh painting. The light in all the photos today is beautiful. I love the horse from between the trees. It’s like you were stalking him. πŸ™‚

    It’s sort of spring-ish. No butterflies. Only regular flies and small insects. The other night I was visiting a friend and I had to stop outside her door to figure out what the odd noise was. It was spring peepers singing. That’s what we call tree frogs around here. The ones in my back swamp aren’t singing yet. The male cardinal is sitting out in very prominent spots all day. He’s not singing, though, and the females have disappeared. It’s possible there are nests somewhere nearby but I don’t know. It’s dangerous for him to sit out in the open like that. The sharp-shinned hawk is a bird-eater and hangs around a lot.

    Unless you are right up on top of them with a telephoto lens, mallards often look like sticks in the water. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    March 20, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like the light we have from spring to early autumn, I can’t say what it is but there’s something we don’t have the rest of the year.
      Yes it does look like I’m stalking it but to be honest, it is only four trees there πŸ™‚ They heard me and thought it was the owner coming to feed them πŸ™‚

      Warm and sunny here today again, last week they predicted snow and cold now πŸ™‚ The flies we have seems slightly confused and really don’t know how to navigate, suddenly they hit me in the face and falls down to the ground πŸ™‚

      We only have tree frogs in the most southern parts of Sweden, we had them in Gothenburg when I grew up and I loved that odd sound they had πŸ™‚ Yes that is stupid of him to sit so the hawk can see him so easily, that red color really screams out wher it is πŸ™‚ I hope he’s quick to fly away if the hawk comes along!

      Yes mallards do look like sticks πŸ™‚ especially the brow variety You have. I had hoped for something more rare but I gues I’ll have to be happy with what I can find πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 21, 2016 at 6:35 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like spring has truly sprung in your neighborhood! Wr are decent enough today for weather. About 5 degrees which isn’t bad but lasr week it was 13, so it could be better! I think that’s nice that the charge for parking goes toward feeding the cranes. And it is reasonable to park there so why not! πŸ™‚ Last night coming home from our dinner we were in our downtown area, waiting to cross one of our most busiest streets in the city Portage Avenue. I noticed in the middle of the 4 lanes of traffic was a Pigeon just walking around in circles. We weren’t sure if it was injured, confused or scared, so we crossed the lanes and parked the car. My husband got out, put on some gloves and ran into the street to collect the Pigeon. He brought it to the sidewalk and placed it in a planter that was nice and dry. There was a bit of newspaper he found and put it in with the bird. Poor thing. I dont know if it survived but at least someone didnt kill it by running it over. Not sure why it was in the middle of traffic to begin with. That’s my bird story! πŸ™‚ just got back from walking Karma, Tucker could not come as he got a haircut yesterday and he’s too cold to go out. He will shiver for the next few weeks until his hair starts to grow again. Have a good evening!

    March 20, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes spring has really sprung here, 14,5C today. Last week they predicted snow and around 2C this week πŸ™‚

      Yes no one will complain about those prices for parking when the money goes to the birds. We don’t pay parking fees in any of the counties around here at all otherweis.

      How odd that pigeon behaved! I wonder what was wrong with it? I agree, it is better to die in a dry planter than being hit by a car. I do hope it just was stressed and that it could go on living after Your help!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 21, 2016 at 6:40 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    We have crocus blooming now, and I can see the yellow on the daffodil buds and the flowers in the middle of the iris fronds so we are well on the way to spring. A red bush in my garden has buds as well. t was pruned to quite low last fall, but it has done well.

    The parking portable meters are a great idea. There are already so many cranes, and there are even more still on the way. It is wonderful that the money is used to feed all those birds.

    It is a sign of spring for us when the herring return home to spawn. The weather has to stay 50˚ or warmer for a few days so it is definitely spring. There is a herring run close to me, and I always go down and watch them. The seagulls also go down to the run to watch them, oops, eat them.

    Snow will start late tonight, around eleven, then continue most of the night. Boston has already cancelled school but down here will wait to see how much snow actually falls.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    March 21, 2016 at 12:48 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is odd that my crocus always are late, they are usually the earliest flowers but here they show long after most spring bulbs πŸ™‚ My irises always look dead this time of year but give them a few more days with warm weather and they’ll strat too πŸ™‚

      The first time I saw those meters I got a bit annoyed because I thought they had put up them to make money but then I read the sign πŸ™‚ Parking is otherwise free in this and the neighboring counties. I think those with caravans get a cheaper price though, they can stay for weeks and it would be very costly if they had to pay full price the entire time they are here. They are almost the only tourists we have here so we better take care of them πŸ™‚

      Yes I doubt the seagulls only would watch them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I hope You didn’t get much snow, it is so depressing this time of year!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 21, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

