Tonight they fly to the big party.

Old photos again today. I have a few new ones in the camera but I just didn't have the energy to get them in to my computer :-)

Old photos again today. I have a few new ones in the camera but I just didn’t have the energy to get them in to my computer 🙂

Tonight is the night when the witches flies to Blåkulla to have a party with the devil, at least according to old folklore. We actually call them påskkärringar which directly translated is Easter hags but the word kärring actually means my loved one in Swedish so it is hard to translate it good 🙂 Anyhow, tonight is the night. Blåkulla is most likely an island by the east coast of Sweden and its real name is Blå Jungfrun (The Blue Maiden). Naturally most of You think that witches fly by broom but not all do, many actually fly on an upside-down cow 🙂 Rather practical if one gets thirsty on the way 🙂

 

Three from the Zeiss camera.

Three from the Zeiss camera.

A19202_005

A19202_009

Anything could actually work to fly to Blåkulla so to make sure nothing one owned would be used by the nearest witch they put away anything they thought could be used in sheds or barns and then they painted white crosses on the doors. But it isn’t only women flying there to be honest, there are also men and quite a lot of children too. One way to at least make life difficult for the witches was to, on Easter eve when they were flying back home again, start huge bonfires and use fire works. Today most of us think of the animals and the environment since there usually are lots of bad thing in the fireworks like led so we don’t use that much of it, there’s even talk about forbidding it totally and I won’t mind if that happens even if I think it is beautiful.

 

Three from the Kiev.

Three from the Kiev.

A19220_022

A19220_023

One could say that this is the Swedish (and Finnish) Halloween because today in the eastern parts of Sweden kids dress up like witches or wizards and goes from house to house to get candy, we in the western parts do it on Easter eve instead. I doubt it will happen here though because the kids here are either too young or too shy 🙂 I don’t have any candy at home anyway so I do hope no one comes here 🙂 I will however look up in the sky to see if any witches fly over my cottage, I won’t start a bonfire or use fireworks but I will wave to them and wish them a happy easter 🙂

 

and three from the Retinette.

and three from the Retinette.

A19202_033

A19202_034

It is time to make something to eat. I’m not sure if I’ll just make a few  sandwiches or if I should have a piece of the Småländska cheesecake (slightly different from the American one) I bought yesterday 🙂

 

and three from the folder "For a rainy day".

and three from the folder “For a rainy day”.

Att spara 23 (11)

Att spara 23 (12)

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Love this folklore!! An upside down eh? That’s fun!! 🙂 All we get around here is a rabbit who leaves chocolate. Not that that is a bad thing….I do like my chocolate! But now my son is 20, we don’t really celebrate Easter anymore. Not like before. For this Easter I bought only a few chocolates and some almond milk – that’s our treat! 🙂 I LOVE LOVE LOVE the first fog photo and the first black and white of the empty road. Very nice!!! 🙂 We are pleasant here today, about 5 degrees. Then we get rain, then snow, then nice again. It is March after all. I am on holidays starting in just under an hour and this makes me happy! Not back to work till April! 🙂 Have a good evening!! I hope the cheesecake is delicious! I think we can buy that one at the IKEA here….

    March 24, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    • Dianna

      That should read an upside down cow…. 🙂

      March 24, 2016 at 8:09 pm

      • 🙂

        March 25, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think that actually could be a bit more comfortable since the back of a cow is rather hard, the spine looks as if it is just beneath the skin.

      The Easter Hare never became especially big here but we have him as chocolate figures. I never understood why we had a chocolate hare in the candy but since I was chocolate I really didn’t care 🙂

      I haven’t bought any candy tis year, ver rare when it comes to me 🙂

      Warm and drizzly a big part of the day here, not bad at all even if I would have prefered sunshine 🙂 I can’t remember when we had such a warm March before!

      I’m afraid thecheesecake was a bit too moist this time, still taste ok though. Yes I’m pretty sure You can buy it at IKEA 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 25, 2016 at 4:13 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I wouldn’t fly anywhere on an upside down cow. Sounds singularly uncomfortable for passenger and cow.

    Did you make a påskris this year? Easter is so early that I keep forgetting that it’s almost here. Every time someone mentions it I’m momentarily confused because it should still be far off in time. Like another month. 🙂

    No witches flying overhead on Easter eve here. At least none of which I am aware. Might have been some on the vernal equinox but I didn’t notice them.

    The deer have been out in the back yard again. One was very close to the house but it walked off when I came out with the dogs. That was the only reason I saw it in the first place otherwise it would have just blended in with the surround vegetation. It walked off quite calmly, too. There’s plenty to eat back there so they’ll be back.

    Today is cold, windy, damp and cloudy. The only thing to recommend it is that there is no snow attached. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    March 24, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think it actually could be more comfortable, the back of a cow is pretty hard since the spine is just beneath the skin.

      No I didn’t since Sune ate most of the decorations 🙂 We have all at work been looking forward to this long weekend so we weren’t surprised at all 🙂

      I’m not familiar with what customs American witches have 🙂 but I think You might be right about them flying at the equinox. They do fly very silent so if one doesn’t look up one will never know that they were there 🙂

      I haven’t had many deers in my garden this winter and now they prefer to stay in the firlds since the grass seems to ahve started to grow there. I do see them quite often but from a bigger distance than usual.

      Drizzly and warm here, rather nice even if I had prefered sunshine.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 25, 2016 at 4:20 pm

  3. jaz

    i would like to see all of those swedish witches! what is typical swedish easter food?

    March 24, 2016 at 10:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think I saw a few when I looked up in the sky, hard to tell when it is dark though 🙂

      We Swedes are rather boring when it comes to holiday food, it is much tyhe same every holiday. Pickled herring, ham, salmon, meatballs and prince sausages are the base to it all. We do however have any kind of way You can cook eggs 🙂 at easter and lamb is fairly common too. Back in the days the lambs born the same spring usually were too small so they ate yearlings instead and often the hen hadn’t started tp produce especiallymany eggs, so they took what ever egg they could find, like seagull and duck eggs. The Easter beer is usually a stronger than normal kind and then we have the schnaps which many think is important, taste like hell and I avoid it at all costs 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 25, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

