It has been quite pleasant.

DSC_0036 (8)

The day started out slightly foggy and drizzly, the fog gave up but the drizzle kept on until early afternoon. It has been warm though and the wind has been rather weak so it has been pleasant to take walks anyway. I had planned on doing some repotting of plants but instead a took a nap, an hour and a half long nap and the only reason I woke up was because of a telemarketer. I was actually quite happy she called so I finally woke up but not so happy that I bought anything from her πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0039 (10)

DSC_0042 (8)

DSC_0043 (9)

DSC_0044 (8)

I have tried to find any folklore about the beings and their activities at Easter but have found almost nothing, only the witches seems to have been active this holiday. I guess however they are out and about like always though even if humans were more concentrated on scaring witches. I did however find a lot of sites about the old Norse believes and can dig in to that if You wish to know more. The Norse beliefs (or Asa tron as we call it) is a growing religion here though even if few say it out loud yet. Almost all swedish names for the days in the week comes from the Norse gods. Monday and Saturday sort of linked to it too since Monday is the Moon’s day (it was pulled across the sky by the horse Rimfaxe) and the sun was pulled across the sky by the horse Skinfaxe).

 

DSC_0047 (9)

DSC_0050 (7)

DSC_0054 (8)

DSC_0055 (7)

Tuesday (Tisdag in Swedish) is Tyr’s day, he was the son Of Oden. Wednesday (Onsdag in Swedish) is Oden’s day. Thursday (Torsdag in Swedish) is Thor’s day (His name in swedish is Tor) and Friday is Freya’s day (She’s called Freja in Swedish), Saturday however has nothing to do with any beliefs, it is the day for baths πŸ™‚ Saturday is called LΓΆrdag in Swedish and to lΓΆga is to take a bath in old Swedish πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0060 (8)

DSC_0065 (7)

I had high hopes of seeing cranes by the little lake today but there wasn't a single bird of any kind there :-)

I had high hopes of seeing cranes by the little lake today but there wasn’t a single bird of any kind there πŸ™‚

DSC_0057 (9)

It is time to shave off all the hair on my head again, it doesn’t matter how much I wash my hair, I can still find powder paint if I scratch on my skull πŸ™‚

 

Instead I found the cranes just a few hundred meters (much the same in yards) away from my cottage. Unfortunately my camera preferd to focus on the trees :-)

Instead I found the cranes just a few hundred meters (much the same in yards) away from my cottage. Unfortunately my camera prefered to focus on the trees πŸ™‚

DSC_0077 (4)

DSC_0079 (4)

DSC_0082 (2)

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. such beautiful photos, I heard the cranes fly over yesterday, poor things, in a blizzard, they must have wished they could turn around, spring has not found us yet,

    March 25, 2016 at 5:13 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I do often wonder if they actually turn back if the weather gets too bad. Here they feed them so I think they saty for that reason. They are much tougher than one can think when seeing them though.

      Spring has sprung here, very early to my big happiness πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 25, 2016 at 9:56 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of the little moss garden. It shines as if it had its own tiny sun.

    Doesn’t it figure you hike all the way to the lake to get pictures of cranes and all the while they’re hanging around your house. πŸ™‚ Nice shots of them landing.

    Speaking of shining. I had to google Hrimfaxi and Skinfaxi because, of course, my first thought was Tolkien’s Shadowfax. He took a lot of stuff from Old Norse and apparently there is a relation. The names are great. Frost Mane and Shining Mane. I’ll never have another horse of my own again but if I did, these names would be high on the list of possibles. They probably wouldn’t work for dogs or cats. Well, maybe lions. πŸ™‚

    It’s cold, dank, drizzly and seriously cloudy. Not a beam of brightness anywhere. The weather widget says it’s supposed to be 60ΒΊF. Hah! At this moment, 2PM, it’s 37ΒΊF which is lower than it was this morning when I woke up. Silly weather widget. Must be forecasting for Baffin Island. πŸ™‚

    Sorry about Sune eating all your PΓ₯skris decorations. I saved my branches from last year but now don’t remember where I put them. Oh, well.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 25, 2016 at 7:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that one too!

      I really thought there would be cranes by the little lake too but I think I was there too early in the morning. The cranes I photopgraphd came to hat field much later. There are now around 15 000 by the big lake though so I think they could have come to the small one too πŸ™‚

      Yes he did get inspired by the old Norse faith but turned it to somewhat racist instead. There’s nothing racist in the Norse beliefs at all. Those names do sound like they belong to horses and no other animals to be honest. It would sound strange if I called for any animal with a name ending with fax and it wasn’t a horse πŸ™‚

      It sounds as if they have used the Swedish forecast service πŸ™‚ I have a weather widget in my phone that loves to say there’s thunder going on in the village where I work. Doersn’t matter if the sun shines, it says thunder anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      That dog eats most anything he can reach, so fra he has stayed away from my bills though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 25, 2016 at 10:03 pm

  3. Christer,
    I love all the Swedish folklore stories. We learned the days of the week were named by the Romans. That is not as exciting as in Swedish.

    The day started out okay but it started raining about noon and is still raining. I guess I should be glad it isn’t snow. My sister got 17 inches and is expecting 7-9 more on Sunday. They will have warmer days later in the week so the snow will melt quickly.

    The picture of the two cranes in almost a mirror pose is my favorite. They are such beautiful birds. The osprey are coming back here to nest. That is a sure sign of spring.

    Have a great day!

    March 26, 2016 at 2:09 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We do have a rather living folklore and I’ve noticed that more and more people are trying to find these old stories and make sure the next generation continues to learn about it.

      I didn’t know about our Saturday though and laugfhed out loud when I understood what it meant πŸ™‚

      I’m so sorry for Your sister πŸ™‚ The sun has just risen here and with some luck we’ll have sunshine all day and fairly warm too, we are just about to go out on our morning walk.

      I hope they will return top the same field or perhaps even closer to the one just outside my cottage, as long as they believe we won’t walk towards them they can stay for a long while.

      I think it was an ospreay I saw yesterday actually!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 26, 2016 at 6:53 am

Leave a Reply

