It won’t be long until they figure it out.

DSC_0024 (12)

It is so typical, I’ve woken up around 4am to 5am the entire weekend so I thought it would be easier to start the first day after daylight savings time. Naturally I felt like dead when the alarm woke me up at 5 this morning. The one day I would have liked to wake up just before the alarm started πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029 (15)

I just took a few pohotos today, the shower we see here hit us after just a few minutes.

I just took a few pohotos today, the shower we see here hit us after just a few minutes.

DSC_0032 (14)

The day has been so, so. Some parts passed so fast that I had hopes the week would too and some parts didn’t pass at all πŸ™‚ but it has felt like it was Monday today, so now I must convince my brain that it is Wednesday tomorrow so the day will pass faster. Tuesdays almost never pass fast so I’m afraid my brain will think it is Tuesday tomorrow.

 

But I still have plent slightly older photos to show.

But I still have plenty slightly older photos to show.

DSC_0056 (10)

DSC_0057 (12)

The old village school works as a cafΓ© this time of year.

Lots of birds nest at the factory and most of them crap on our cars (I have to say that it is rare that they crap on my car though). Seagull nest on the roof and Barn Swallows and doves nest beneath a big roof where we have materials we’ll paint. So now they have done what they can to prevent the Barn swallows to nest beneath the roof but I’m not sure they are successful, they don’t seem to care about the doves that much though. The Seagulls however is something they fight with a rabid energy.

 

DSC_0027 (12)

DSC_0030 (10)

DSC_0034 (11)

They tried to shoot them but we were rather many who protested against that so they stopped, now they tries kites. Last year they actually managed to scare the gulls (they put them up after the younglings had fled the nest) but we’re not so sure they’ll work this year. The gulls are there watching the kites and they are very intelligent so I think it won’t take long until they figure out that those hawk like things never leave a certain area. Pigeons have already stopped fearing them πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0079 (5)

DSC_0085 (2)

DSC_0088 (1)

 

I like Seagulls and since they don’t crap on my car I hope they’ll nest on the roof this year too πŸ™‚ I do like the Barn Swallows but it is nasty with all that crap and it is so strong that the washing machine can’t get rid of it all, still it is nice when they fly in to the factory to pay us a visit before they fly out again to catch flies πŸ™‚

 

I don't long back to this no matter how beautiful it looks :-)

I don’t long back to this no matter how beautiful it looks πŸ™‚

Att spara 22 (4)

Att spara 22 (14)

It is time for something to eat.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Christer,
    I really like the old school house. The red is a great color. I always think of a poem or something which mentions the red school house.

    We had huge problems with Canada geese roosting on baseball fields. They ruined the fields and left bird poop everywhere. They tried the fake birds but that didn’t work. They then tried fake dead Canada geese and that worked.

    We are supposed to be getting warmer by the end of the week. It’s about time we had a warm day. I am so tired of chilly.

    Nothing much going on the rest of the week. Next week is busy with more doctor’s appointments. I’m so glad all of this, except the cardiologist, is only once a year.

    Have a great evening!

    March 29, 2016 at 9:14 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like it too and it look much bigger than it actually is.

      They have big probloems with Canadian geese here too, they destroy crops and any grass close to water even if it is in the middle of cities. I don’t think they have tried dead geese here, they tend to shoot them instead. Many places here in the countryside hang up dead Jackdaws and Magpies in the trees (unfortunately real dead birds) and there isn’t a jackdaw or magpie anywhere near those houses. They can be annoying but I rather have them living in my garden, than dead in the trees.

      Nothing much will happen here either and I don’t think I’ll go to my hip doctor this year, they say it looks so good that I only have to go every second year now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 30, 2016 at 5:33 pm

  2. jaz

    i love that old school house. i would like to turn it into a home! we have seagulls here and we are far inland. the birds have been crapping all over my car!

    March 29, 2016 at 11:19 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is actually quite tiny πŸ™‚ A kitchen and a very small room on the upper floor and below is a small cellar. It does look bigger in the photo though.

      The seagulls at work must know I like them because my car is almost always clean πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 30, 2016 at 5:35 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I read this earlier and meant to come back to comment but didn’t manage it.

    The schoolhouse is lovely. I like the red house with the fancy white window frames, too.

    My mother used to complain about the birds crapping on her car. She even had a beautiful old black walnut tree next to the driveway cut down because, she said, the birds sat in it and crapped on her car. Odd thing is that my car was parked right next to hers and the birds didn’t crap on it. Both cars were red, too. I’m still annoyed about the tree. It was the only shade on the west side of the house. I rarely had to use AC when the tree was there. Now I have to use it most of the summer.

    I thought I might have to take Piki Dog to the emergency vet last night. He ate chocolate again. This is the second Easter in a row that he has managed to find and consume the Cadbury Mini Eggs. Fortunately the vet said he hadn’t eaten enough to be dangerous but I should watch him for a few days in case he developed any problems. And then she said “See you next year”. :0 No, no, no. We are not going to make this an annual event.

    Today is sunny and not windy so comfortable to be outside.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 30, 2016 at 11:17 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like both buildings too but especially the school It is tiny on the inside and very easy to warm up. There’s a fire place in the little class room and it just takes a few minutes until the room is almost too warm πŸ™‚

      I think birds deliberately choose a certain car and just continues to poop on it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is like a light version of the Hitchkock fil The Birds πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Some dogs are more sensitive to chocolate than other. Piki Dog is obviously not the sensitive kind πŸ™‚ Orvar ate almost half a pound of chocolate and the only problem he got was a bad stomach πŸ™‚ Sune wouldn’t hesitate to eat chocolate if he could but Nova does thankfully not like it at all.
      No it is best not to make it an annual event πŸ™‚

      Sunny and rainy here today, typical April weather here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 31, 2016 at 6:01 pm

  4. The windows in the old schoolhouse are beautiful & give the red building lots of character. There seems to be no shortage of crapping birds around the vicinity of your factory. At least most of these birds eat your dreaded flies and lots of other pesky bugs. I wonder what the birds see in your car that they don’t splatter it with poop? Maybe they know you feed the birds in winter & so they grant you this privilage, but not your co-workers πŸ™‚ The cranes always look both awkward with their long legs and strange gate, but they also manage to look quite royal & elegant at the same time. Are there still hoards of onlookers driving in to see the migration?

    We had a sunny spring day today and the temps are almost reaching the low 70s. Because it has been clear during the day, the nights are quite cold. When I got out of dialysis at 3 AM this morning, there was ice on all the windows. Good thing I don’t have to drive far because I was mostly driving blind since the ice did not want to melt very fast with just the defroster running. Almost all the trees here have leafed & my allergies are bad this year. I have been buying lots of Kleenex tissues as I am sneezing like crazy this week. Spring is both a blessing & a curse! Have you shaved your hair off yet? Once the hair is gone along with the bits of paint, how do you get the paint off your scalp? It seems like one problem leads to another. I guess I would rather cut the paint flecked hair away than try to scratch it off my bald head – just saying. How are all your plants/trees that wintered over in the basement? Hopefully, they all survived and can soon be taken out to your garden. e

    I have been in the hospital the past couple of weeks because my dialysis gra[t had a blood clot in it and that led to 4 surgeries to try and find another spot to use as access. I am beginning to look a bit like Frankenstien with all the incisions & scars. A friend commented that if I ever go missing, they can tell the police about my many “identifying marks” pn my body. The worst part was being forced to be on the” Renal Diet” which consisted of about 6 items all of which tasted disquisting! No sodium, no potassium and no phosphates. After these are removed everything tasted like wall paper glue & I’m not joking! The only thing worse than being ill is starving from lack of anything nutritionally fit to eat. Even the people taking the food order over the phone snickered & agreed that this menu was not fit for humans or animals. You know you’re hungry when sugar free Jello tastes delicious. The hospital chef clearly lacks any passion for their job of creating recipes with limitations, I guess they never thought to use herbs, onion or garlic to give their gruel some flavor. Next time, I will make sure to hide some snacks in my bag, so I won’t perish from starvation.

    March 31, 2016 at 1:33 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I have been wondering how You have been since You’ve had the night shift at the hospital. I do hope it has helped as They thought it would!

      Too bad I live far away from all those birds we have at work but we have plenty here too and we still have way too many flies. The only thing that helps against them is a warm and very dry spring, most of these fly larvae needs wet or very moist soil to survive so a dry spring is what we all hope for here.

      Yes there are almost more visitors than birds by the lake now πŸ™‚ Thankfully this village is a bird sanctuary in spring so we don’t get the visitors into the village and bog. Almost only we who live in the village are allowewd to move around here. Visitors may only stay at the property they are visiting. Of course everyone is breaking that but at least no others come in here because of the sifΒ΄gns at the village entrance.

      Still no leafs on the trees here but those wikth allerigies have huge problems now. The Hazel and birches are the worst at the moment but soon the Alder trees starts too. I’m so glad I have very little problem with that, my oldest brother suffers right now. I do hoipe it gets better soon for You!

      The good thing with poweder paint is that it is easily removed with water and soap but if my hair is longer than 1,5 inches it starts to get hard to remove the powder. The sweat while working together with the powder becomes something like concrete πŸ™‚ but as soon as I shave off the hair I’ll just put my head beneath a water tap and rinse it off πŸ™‚

      Everything I put down in the cellar has survived this winter πŸ™‚

      Yes why can’t they get someone who can make food edible in hospitals, that is even more imnportant if one need to go on special diet like You had to! Hospital food is bad as it is. I thought nothing could make sugar free jello taste even remotely good πŸ™‚
      That is a good plan πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 31, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

