He does like his baths.

Lots of hibernating butterflies are out trying their wings now.

Lots of hibernating butterflies are out trying their wings now.

There was a thin but very hard sheet of ice covering the windows on my car this morning, it was a see through ice but since it was a bit uneven I had to scrape it of. Well at least some of it, what was left could easily be melted with the washer fluid, it smells nasty but doers the job even on much colder mornings. The rest of the day has been rather wonderful, a weak wind, almost no clouds and almost 10C (50F) here in the village.

 

Sune decided it was a good idea to take a bath in this mud :-)

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

Sune decided it was a good idea to take a bath in this mud ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The weather predictions for the coming weekend has changed so much lately that it is hard to believe anything they show right now. Some times they’ve shown sunny and warm, sometimes cloudy with rain and anything in between other times. At the moment they show mostly cloudy all weekend and also for Monday and Tuesday. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were right since I have two days vacation on Monday and Tuesday :-)I had two days left from last year, I was supposed to use them during Christmas but we had so much things to so that it wasn’t possible to do as I had hoped.

 

DSC_0029

A male Chaffinch.

A male Chaffinch.

DSC_0032

DSC_0036

The tv is on in the livingroom and they show a nature program at the moment. I think they are showing wolves attacking a musk ox and by the sound of it the musk ox is beating the crap out of the wolves. No, no it sounds as if they said the musk ox fell down into a ravine that it can’t get up from but it didn’t sound as if the wolves were able to go down either. I guess that is what is called a lose-lose situation.

 

Thankfullly he later decided to take a bath in the creekbelow as well, so much cleaner :-)

thankfully he later decided to take a bath in the creek below as well, so much cleaner ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

It was so nice when we were out walking after work today that I almost forgot to take any photos. The birds were singing and the air smelled so nice. I could hear a four-wheelerย in the distance but no other man-made sounds. A few cranes trumpeted out on the bog and the ravens were playing in the air. I saw the first leafs showing today as well, the Honeysuckle has started in the forest, it won’t take long until the first flower buds will show now. I better check how things goes for the one I have in my garden too.

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

The Honeysuckle.

The Honeysuckle.

DSC_0046

Have a great day!

7 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It was very considerate of Sune to wash himself off after his mud bath. Mine would find something even nastier to counteract the mud. Something like rain-soaked deer scat. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I often forget to take photos if the day is so beautiful. Sometimes I just want to experience it instead.

    Things are budding enthusiastically here, too. I found the first clump of chionodoxa a few days ago. Within 24 hours of that, many clumps are blooming all over the lawn. They hide until they’re ready to flower and then POOF! there they suddenly are. It’s magic.

    I told you I planted the 5 quince seeds into starter pots. One of them had sprouted a bit in the refrigerator so I decided to move them along. The sprouted one has popped up its first leaflet. The others are inactive still. They’re in the unheated back hall where there’s light and it’s cooler.
    It will be great to get a new plant from that old quince. It doesn’t flower much now and seldom has fruit. It’s very old. The house was built in 1908 and the shrub was there when my parents bought the property in 1947. That bush is somewhere between 69 and 108 years old. Older than I am!

    Today the weather is cloudy and warm. Tomorrow it will be rainy and cooler. Then we will have cold and snow for Sunday and Monday. It’s Yoyo weather season. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    April 1, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was happy that he did ๐Ÿ™‚
      Rain -soaked deer poop is seen as a delicasy by my dogs so they would not roll around in it, they prefer wild hog poop instead ๐Ÿ™‚ Speaking of wild hogs, I could just hear them very close to the beekeepers cottage. He told me a day ago that he hgad heard them in the evening and today I heard them too. A bit too close to home I think!

      Yes today was a day of just enjoying how wonderful it was.

      Scilla is on its way up here and I’ve seen some tulips on the soth-east heading wall of the cottage but that’s it. Most of the chionodoxa grows outside my garden so I’m not sure on how far they have come.

      If the little quince plant grows very fast, it most likely does because it is indoors. Even if our eyes says it is a light space it most likely is rather dark for the little plant. If it does just put it outside in the shadows during the days and indoors at nights. Absolutely no sunlight the first weeks!

      You could try to prune the old quince, it’s done the same way as with apple trees and best done in early autumn. It could give the old plant several more years. It is fantastic that it still hangs around! I don’t think I’ve ever heard about a quince that old but I’m not surprised, they are tough ones.

      Yes it is yoyo weather season now ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 1, 2016 at 7:58 pm

      • Caryn

        Thanks for the info on pruning the quince. What I really need to do is cut out the usurpers that have grown in amongst the quince branches. There are a lot of ailanthus growing in there as well as a large and robust euonymous. I’ve managed to cut the ailanthus back several times but it just keeps regrowing. The euonymous is beyond my crappy pruning saw. Also, the quince has a spreading growth and it’s right next to my neighbor’s driveway. I suspect that the euonymous is giving the quince some protection from the weight of snow that is blown onto it when my neighbor clears her drive.
        I’m not sure if the little seedling is growing too fast. It’s probably an inch tall. I could put it on the south-facing glassed in porch where it is very bright all day. It gets very warm out there especially on sunny days.

        April 2, 2016 at 3:32 pm

  2. jaz

    hi christer! it is supposed to snow here this weekend. it’s pretty funny that after all this hot weather, we will have snow for the opening day of baseball. it won’t stop my guys from going to the game though! they can’t wait!

    April 1, 2016 at 10:51 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have heard that many of You’ll get snow and some lots of it too! If it didn’t want to fall during winter it really could stay up there in the sky now too ๐Ÿ™‚

      I wouldn’t let any snow stop me from going to the opening day of baseball either ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad that it is such a tiny sport here though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 2, 2016 at 4:53 am

  3. Hi Christer,
    We will be having really cold weather this weekend. Some places may even get snow. Today it poured, and I really mean poured all day. It came down in sheets at times. Despite the rain, it was fairly warm.

    Gracie has been out a to in between the rain storms. She also went and buried a bone I gave her. I don’t want to see it when she digs it back up and brings it inside. The last one she buried was disgusting.

    Have a good weekend!

    April 1, 2016 at 11:27 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve heard about that snow and I’m glad that it isn’t here it will fall ๐Ÿ™‚
      It’ll be fairly warm here but cloudy, we’ve had sunshine all week so why couldn’t we get it now during the weekend too? By the looks of it it will stay cloudy until next Wednesday when I start working again.

      I am so glad that my dogs eat what ever they get directly ๐Ÿ™‚ They know that the other one will dig it up and eat it if they buried it ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m glad that Your computer problems are over!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 2, 2016 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

