It was almost soundless.

The evening sky yesterday, that was when I heard the hogs so close.

The evening sky yesterday, that was when I heard the hogs so close.

We can actually see the sun today, it is a round shiny disk behind the clouds πŸ™‚ but I must admit that it is quite nice outside. Almost no wind and reasonable warm as well. The starlings have arrived and I think they are one of my favorite birds just because their song is so full of all kinds of sounds. We had one coming here for severalΒ years and it sounded like a cuckoo clock πŸ™‚ Today one sat in the top of a spruce and it had a really exotic sound to its song.

 

The morning sky this morning.

The morning sky this morning.

DSC_0025 (1)

The Fieldfare (Turdus pilaris). They can empty a cherry tree in a few minutes and are therefore not popular amngst cherry tree owners :-)

The Fieldfare (Turdus pilaris). They can empty a cherry tree in a few minutes and are therefore not popular amngst cherry tree owners πŸ™‚

DSC_0029 (1)

We walked to the little lake in the forest this morning, as we have done every Saturday morning for several weeks. It is so nice to walk in that somewhat old forest and who knows for how long it will stay, all trees here are more or less the same age so when they start cutting down the trees in one part of the forest the rest of the trees will follow pretty soon I’m afraid. Today I had no big hopes of seeing any cranes, I’ve realised we get there just too early, it seems all cranes first fly to the big lake to eat, they put out food there every day now and when they’ve done that they spread over the entire area.

 

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0033 (1)

DSC_0034 (1)

DSC_0037 (1)

There were a few duck in the lake but nothing more when we arrived. I stood there for a while just enjoying all the sounds and trying to see what ducks it was. The dogs got bored quite fast but since I could hear how some cranes were flying around I wanted to stay a few more minutes. Suddenly one arrived. It sailed down almost soundless. I thought it was going to land on the north-western bank but it turned in the air and followed the open water for a while until it landed in the reed. Now I understand why I couldn’t see the cranes last week, they totally disappear when they walk in to the reed.

 

DSC_0038 (1)

DSC_0039 (1)

DSC_0042 (1)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

We have also walked to our part of the bog and today Bertil followed us out there. He wasn’t totally happy about us going out there and I think wild hogs were close, I could hear them yesterday evening very close to the beekeepers cottage. They are surprisingly noisy to be honest. I really wanted to take a photo of Bertil with one of my old cameras but he just refused to look towards me and I really didn’t want a photo of his behind only πŸ™‚ So to get his attention I tossed away a twig, not big in any way. I’m quite useless when it comes to aiming but of all times today was the day I was good at it πŸ™‚

 

It came gliding downwards just as I was going to walk away.

It came gliding downwards just as I was going to walk away.

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

Isn’t it typical, for once he actually listened to me and turned around just as the twig fell down and hit him in the head. I’m pretty sure I won’t see him until tonight again, he was pretty angry and who can blame him πŸ™‚ I took a tour in my garden when we came home and to my big surprise I saw that the garden was more alive than I could have thought. The crocus flowers and so does the lungwort, The deep blue Hepaticas are in bloom too and there are still a few snowdrops looking beautiful. I could even to my even bigger surprise see a few chionodoxa’s with big buds. I have a few in my garden but they really don’t like it there but today I found a few new ones where the water barrel stands πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

It is time to make a pot of tea and after that I think it is time to take a nap.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

DSC_0068

DSC_0073

14 responses

  1. poor Bertril,, he will hold a grudge lol,,, beautiful photos, the cranes must make deafening sound when all together!!
    The photos of the moss covered trees are beautiful,,

    April 2, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I did feel so sorry for him! It doesn’t seem he will holΓΆd a gruge at all πŸ™‚ We just met him when we were out walking and he was just like normal πŸ™‚ I don’t think he understood that it was I who tossed the twig πŸ™‚

      Yes so many cranes sounds really bad πŸ™‚ One or two sounds beautiful tough but very loud.

      I do like moss!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 2, 2016 at 3:33 pm

  2. Christer, have you ever wondered if in time man will cut down all the tree’s and we will end up with a cold dead planet. Not sure why I think such dread thoughts, but from time to time I turn cold with the thought. I wish they would just stop..but of course they won’t. Since I moved into this little home, I’ve planted 13 trees around our little home. I have to laugh and wonder what great good I think I am doing. πŸ™‚ Now I am in a conflict with the city because they have marked our beautiful big pine tree to be taken out. It’s lifted the curb a bit and the (haha) water backs up in front of the neighbor’s driveway. I argued with them…told them that my husband had planted that tree when he was just 24 and he is now 83. Can’t they just level the curbing and gutter?? Surely they know how to do that… Breaks my heart to see that big healthy pine destroyed. Sorry this is so long.
    I am one of those “tree huggers” I guess. Just so upsetting.
    Mona

    April 2, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      At least here in Europe they must replant the areas where they have cut down the trees and almost all do πŸ™‚ So at least over here we will have trees left πŸ™‚ but I am certain that we will kill this planet though or do as a good job as we can before we all die ourselves πŸ™‚

      Any planted tree helps a lot! They do give us oxygen and they clean the wir for us too. I’m afraid there’s very little to do about Your pine, they can cut of the root but new ones will soon fill its place. But to be honest, it doesn’t rain that much in California so it can’t be such a big problem, can it? I do understand how You feel!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 2, 2016 at 3:39 pm

  3. p.s. I meant to comment on the photo of Teodor. He is looking so fat and sassy. All of your animals look beautiful and healthy!

    April 2, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    • Unfortunately he’s unhealthy fat now. It is like picking up a big rock when I must lift him up πŸ™‚

      April 2, 2016 at 3:40 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s always the way when you aren’t trying to do something that you end up doing it perfectly. My father once threw a black walnut at a squirrel up in the tree because it was cursing him out. He didn’t think he would hit it at that distance but the walnut clonked the squirrel in the head and knocked it out of the tree to the ground. It shook its head a couple of times and ran back up the tree. And continued cursing. πŸ™‚

    Chionodoxa are like goats. They show up wherever you didn’t put them. I planted some at the southwest corner of my house. They bloomed one season and then LeRoy the Peke scratched them up. Over the next decades, chionodoxa showed up on the north side of the house then in the open lawn to the west of the house and finally, after 30 years, back on the southwest corner of the house where they started. But there are only three small plants in that spot while the other areas have many clumps of them.

    Today is grey and rainy but it’s warm. Tomorrow and Monday will be snowy so I can probably kiss the chionodoxa flowers good-bye for this year.

    Lovely shots of the crane. It’s amazing how something that large can disappear so easily into the bushes. When the deer move out of the open part of the back swamp and into the trees, they just vanish even though they’re standing just a few feet in under the trees.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 2, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ So true and to be honest I did get his attention as I wanted πŸ™‚ but he isn’t angry, it looks like he doesn’t understand that it was from me the twig came πŸ™‚

      I guess that both Your father and the squirrel was just as surpised πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Squirrels seems to be angry all the time, no matter when one see them they curse like insane πŸ™‚

      I don’t know why the chiodonoxa don’t like my garden,theyt thrive just on the other side of the hedge πŸ™‚ I was happy to see these but I can’t put back the water barrel until they have flowered.

      Above 50F here and still only a bright round disk showing through the clouds but it is a very pleasant day. No snow pΓ₯redicted here thankfully πŸ™‚

      Yes I did see where it landed still I couldn’t find it again πŸ™‚ I’m glad that I for once actually got to photograph a crane by that lake, they just hide too good normally πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 2, 2016 at 3:47 pm

      • Caryn

        I was surprised to note that the grape hyacinths have bloomed in my yard. Just in time for the snow. πŸ™‚

        You can’t put the water barrel back until the leaves have died back, can you? They can’t be under a barrel if they need sunshine to build next year’s flowers.

        April 3, 2016 at 12:27 am

      • My grape hyacinths are still far from flowering but they have started to grow,.

        NO I can’t but I can move them. This is actually a really good time to do it because bulbs grow as best in the autumn so now is the least risk of injuring them. So I’ll do that so I can get that barrel back πŸ™‚

        April 3, 2016 at 5:50 am

  5. Christer,
    The shots of the crane are wonderful. It is also a short film as you’ve caught all the movement.

    Poor Bertril. I don’t think any of my animals would hold a grudge. They’d run away then come back shortly after. One of my cats has started pooping and peeing on the mat near the door. I called the vet, and she wants me to bring in each cat for bloodworm as that could be a sign of something wrong. Maddie will go first then Fern. That is all I need-more vet bills after I paid almost $400 for Gracie’s exams. It would be so much easier if they didn’t use the same box and eat out of the same dish.

    Nothing else except it started raining again!

    Have great evening!

    April 2, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      One never know how well the autofocus works so I thought I better just keep the shutter going πŸ™‚ I deleted several that just were too blurry πŸ™‚

      If any animal would hold a gruge it would be Bertil but it seems he never understood that it was from me the stick came, thankfully πŸ™‚ He stayed in the forest until we went there again and then he followed us home again.

      Yes sick cats can do like that but I do hope autocorrect jumped in because bloodworm sounds like something truly nasty, I hope You meant blood test? I hope they find what ever is wrong and that it is easily fixed!

      Cloudy morning here but it looks like there’s no wind πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 3, 2016 at 5:48 am

  6. Dianna

    Hi again!! Just wading thru all the posts – I am enjoying them thoroughly!! Has Teodor ever gotten chubby!! Our Luna was like that before her diabetes kicked in and made her svelte! I am sure once summer rolls around and he’s out and about that he will lose some of the weight. Winter does that to animals and humans alike! πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      He has always been fat but it gets worse every year. Unlike Bertil he has been out every day this winter, still he just get more fat πŸ™‚ I do wonder who’s feeding him, if they see him eating any other cats food I do hope they’ll chase him away πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 4, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

