It’s not a good sign, I already hate them.

DSC_0021 (2)

It has been a wonderful day here. Warm with an enough strong wind and the sun wasn’t just a disk one could see through the clouds, it actually showed itself parts of the day. It was even too warm to wear a very worn down fleece jacket when we were out walking. I had planned to go to town to the super market but it was just a too good day to waste on a super market visit. Tomorrow I must go though no matter how great the day might be.

 

The cranes didn't seem to be especially bothered by us coming but they made sure the distance between us was exactly the same all the time.

The cranes didn’t seem to be especially bothered by us coming but they made sure the distance between us was exactly the same all the time.

DSC_0034 (2)

DSC_0035 (3)

DSC_0046 (3)

DSC_0047 (2)

The predictions have varied a lot hour by hour but at the moment the big Swedish one says it will be much like today and unfortunately the big Norwegian one which usually is right says cloudy with possible some rain, even if it will be small amounts falling. I did sow annuals outside today so the little rain that eventually might fall will do good for them but I’d rather not have any rain at all, we have plenty of water as it is anyway.

 

DSC_0051 (2)

DSC_0053 (1)

DSC_0054 (1)

DSC_0055 (2)

There is one kind of seeds I always fail with when sowing them and that’s peonies. I have never been able to get a single plant but like a fool I keep on sowing them. It takes two years until one can see something above the soil, after the first winter outside it only grow roots and it is important to never let the soil dry out. So guess if I got surprised today when I found two small seedlings πŸ™‚ Now it is important to leave them alone another year, just make sure they get what they need like water and fertilizer. They are so sensitive that if one tries to move them to another pot they might die. Later on in their life they can take anything though.

 

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0023 (4)

DSC_0025 (4)

This is how the old tree stump with all those mossy tree funguses look now. The little spruce at the top now live elsewhere :-)

This is how the old tree stump with all those mossy tree funguses look now. The little spruce at the top now live elsewhere πŸ™‚ All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

The flies have woken up too now, at the moment it’s the kind that really doesn’t care about me but during the entire time I was out weeding two flower beds they insisted on resting on my head. I hate when they do that and especially now when I have so short hair and feel them as soon as they land. So I have already started to hate them and that’s not a good sign, after all they have just started to fly πŸ™‚ Tomorrow, if the weather permits, I’ll wear a cap when weeding some other flower beds. I have very few seeds to sow this year, I only have two more bags to sow and they need warmth to germinate but I do have some small bushes to plant this spring. Mostly Chinese Flowering Quince but also a few Katsura’s and something that I at the moment have no idea what it is πŸ™‚ It might be some kind of cherry, perhaps πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028 (4)

DSC_0029 (4)

DSC_0030 (4)

DSC_0031 (4)

DSC_0032 (2)

Ahappy dog :-)

A happy dog πŸ™‚

It is time to get something to eat and I’ll risk a sleepless night by having a pot of tea as well.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Peonies do seem to be rather tough. I have some really old ones that the first owners of the property planted. I dug them up at the wrong time because otherwise they’d have been destroyed. They did fine. I divided them and gave some to a friend who lives 90 miles north of me and has terrible weather. He’s dug his up and divided them several times and even gave some back to me because I thought mine had died out. They just keep on going.
    But if there aren’t any ants, they won’t flower. I thought that was an old wive’s tail but I inadvertently proved it to myself. The two red peonies planted by the lower stone wall always flowered beautifully. When I did the emergency move of the other pink peony I put it by the same stone wall but closer to the house. The next spring all three came up and started to show buds. The ants walked down the wall to the pink one and the first red one and that’s as far as they went. Only one or two ants went on to the second red one. The first two had many flowers. The last one had only one flower out of all the buds that started. And that’s how it’s been every year since. I’m considering laying down an ant trail to the third one. πŸ™‚

    Today it is snowing and 24ΒΊF. A fine spring so far. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    April 4, 2016 at 4:54 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes when they are older than towe years they are amongst the toughest but this early they can’t take much at all. I do hope I won’t kill these πŸ™‚ I have several more pots with peony seeds in them so I hope more will germinate but I’m happy that I at least have these two πŸ™‚

      Ants are important, they eat something sugary that the plants have on their buds and it seems the flowers need them to do that. I have so many small ant nests or what ever one should call it, that there’s no risk any peony ever will be without them πŸ™‚ An ant trail, a string of sugar perhaps πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 4, 2016 at 5:16 pm

      • Caryn

        If I use sugar, they’ll be full and won’t eat the peony coatings. πŸ™‚ I’m contemplating hijacking some ants from the second peony and laying down a scent trail by bouncing their little butts along the stone wall to third one. Would the UN be coming after me for ant rights violations? πŸ™‚

        I got 6 inches of snow today. Wet, heavy snow. Everything that was green is now white.

        April 5, 2016 at 2:39 am

      • Ants never get full πŸ™‚ It does sound easier with thin strains of sugar than to bounce their buts πŸ™‚ The UN is more or less paralyzed with other problems so I think You might get away with it πŸ™‚

        It is odd that it is warmer on this side this far north! I’m grateful though πŸ™‚

        April 5, 2016 at 2:30 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We have had snow and more snow, cold winds and cloud. March was a gentle month for us but April is so far turned out ugly. And we are due for more snow. After everything melted too!! No fair!! I am sure July will be decent here 😦 I planted seeds this past weekend too. Squash, pumpkins, tomatoes, swiss chard, onions. We shall see what springs up!! If not, I will make my purchases….but this weather needs to smarten up!

    April 4, 2016 at 6:11 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is an odd spring! Here it is warmer than usual and You on the other side of the ocean gets snow!
      The long term predictions, of which I believe nothing, says we’ll have a warmer spring and summer than usual. The further north the warmer it’ll be. I just hope it won’t rain that much πŸ™‚

      Too early here for any vegatables than tomatoes and peppers to be sown already. Well if it stays warm they could be sown now but normally I don’t put out seeds I’ve sown indoors until the first week in June, it would be a jungle in here if I started now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and there are always plants to buy if one would fail πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 4, 2016 at 7:05 pm

  3. I really hope your Peonies survive,, they are tricky to move,, I had Peonies that had been established for over thirty years and after moving them it took three years before they would bloom,, they know what they like and if we don’t please them they do poorly,, when we moved out of our house I made the people promise I could come back and get a piece of them if I ever live in a house again,, we tried planting some at our bush lot but they did not survive,,

    I would be happy if the flies never wake up,, I am dreading them!

    April 4, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes they can be grumpy flowers πŸ™‚ but usually they survive anything, not even old age seems to bring them down πŸ™‚

      When moving them it is a good thing to water them rediculusly much the first week.

      Normally I just dislike flies this early in the year but toay they managed to make me hate them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 4, 2016 at 7:20 pm

  4. jaz

    fly season…ewwww! i am glad we don’t have bad flies here. i have so many birds in my gardens that almost everything gets eaten!

    April 4, 2016 at 10:52 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I agree ewwwww!
      I do hope this isn’t a sign of how this summer will be.

      Unfortunately the bog is so big that it doesn’t help with many birds, we need a gazillion of them I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 5, 2016 at 2:19 pm

  5. Christer,
    I don’t think I’ve ever planted peonies. Maybe I’ll have tor ry a few this year but first the freezing temperature and the snow have to disappear. I have primroses in a pot on the front steps, but I was smart enough to believe the weatherman and brought them inside a couple of nights ago.

    We has snow then rain then snow again. I just threw deicer down the steps so Gracie won’t slide or fall. The news was filled with film of all the accidents on the highway. There were semis crashing into smaller cars then off the highway. There were white outs on the major highways.

    It will be cold for the next few days. Spring has disappeared.

    Have a good day!

    April 5, 2016 at 1:20 am

    • I do like peonies! Both kinds are really beautiful but perhaps the tree peonies are more elegant to be honest. The plants one buy usually only gives a few flowers in the beginning but when they have become a few years they overflow with them instead πŸ™‚ There is a peony for every kind og human, There are those who smells (not always nice though πŸ™‚ ) and those who don’t.

      I haven’t bought any primroses this winter, I think I’ll sow them next year instead.

      Almost summer warm night here, close to 50F that is and the days are rather warm too. I love this season πŸ™‚ The predictions says it will be much like this but slightly cooler and possibilities of rain, thankfully no snow here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 5, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

