Back to work tomorrow.

DSC_0024 (5)

So far the day has been a bit chillier than yesterday, we even had some thin fog for a while but now the sun seems to break through the clouds and it feels warmer as soon as it does. We had a light rainfall during the night so everything smelled so nice this morning and it did help my seeds to get a good start. I know we’ll have setbacks but as long as they aren’t too cold the seeds will do fine, after all it is Scandinavian wildflowers so they should manage the climate.

 

DSC_0027 (5)

DSC_0030 (5)

DSC_0032 (3)

DSC_0035 (4)

I passed the lake when I drove to town this morning, I think there were only 50 or so caravans left so I guess lots of cranes have moved north now. There were still around 15 600 cranes left by the lake but many of the ones with caravans follow specific cranes all the way to their nesting places in Norway. I wonder if they can follow them by GPS? After all, how easy can it be so see which cranes is which otherwise πŸ™‚

 

I had to brighten this one up a lot. Taking photos of a tiny squirrel towards the light isn't easy :-)

I had to brighten this one up a lot. Taking photos of a tiny squirrel towards the light isn’t easy πŸ™‚

DSC_0041 (4)

Mostly ducks but also a couple of geese in the tiny lake today.

Mostly ducks but also a couple of geese in the tiny lake today.

DSC_0052 (3)

 

My neighbor from the farm up the slope asked me if I had seen our new neighbors. I was a bit confused until he told me that every day a bunch of cranes were walking not far from our homes, I can actually see them from mt home πŸ™‚ To be honest, I haven’t even looked around here, I thought it was a bit too noisy with tractors driving around spreading manure now. I’ll look out later today to see if they are there or if they only are here in the morning.

 

DSC_0064 (2)

DSC_0066 (2)

DSC_0068 (1)

DSC_0070 (1)

Tomorrow I’ll work like normal again. I have had two rather wonderful days and I wish I could have taken the entire week. Well I could have but I’ll be needing five days around christmastime, christmas is mostly over a weekend this year so it’s best to have some days vacation left so I at least get one week off.Β 

 

DSC_0079

DSC_0081

DSC_0082

If You look at Nova's eye You can see that she actually is looking at me :-)

If You look at Nova’s eye You can see that she actually is looking at me πŸ™‚

It is time to give the animals what they want, food. I’ll have some as well I think.

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That photo of Nova is hilarious! I can almost hear her say “I see you buddy!” Too cute! πŸ™‚ Too bad we both didn’t win the lottery, then we could stay at home all day and do whatever we feel like. That’s the life! πŸ™‚ I hope you get to see some cranes, that would be spectacular. Make sure you have a camera ready, just in case! We are due more snow today and tomorrow, something to make us all white and fluffy again, but hopefully this will be that last winter we have this year! Enough of it already!!!! πŸ™‚ I did see 2 robins yesterday, and around here that is a good sign. The one had a really big belly so I am sure she was filled with eggs! πŸ™‚ Always nice to hear the robins in the morning and at night…then you know spring has arrived. Have a good evening!

    April 5, 2016 at 6:44 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yeah, she had full control of what I was doing even if she didn’t want me to know πŸ™‚

      I think I leave too early for work to see them in the morning so I can only hope they continue to come here through the weekend. It would have been nice towin the lottery πŸ™‚

      I know we’ll have setbacks but I sure hope I’m wrong πŸ™‚

      Here it is the Blackbird that tell us spring has come πŸ™‚ They sit at the top of trees singing from the first signs of daylight. The cranes start a bit later πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 5, 2016 at 6:50 pm

  2. Christer,
    We could set a new record low temperature tonight. It will also be freezing cold tomorrow. Even the weatherman said it was January or at least felt like January. It will get warmer by Thursday.

    We didn’t get much snow but a bit of it is still on the ground under bushes and trees where the sun doesn’t shine. Spring has been waiting a long time.

    Nothing much is happening around here lately. Half the time I just stay around the house and read. Tomorrow I have a few errands and a doctor’s appointment so I’ll be out and about.

    I hope you’ll be fine going back to work!

    Have a great day!!

    April 5, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It was the opposite in southern Sweden yesterday, they almost broke the heat record. Today however is chgilly and rainy so it looks like I chose the two days vacation right πŸ™‚

      It wasn’t fun going back to work but I survied πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 6, 2016 at 5:32 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I probably meant to comment here yesterday morning but then got distracted by life or something. It couldn’t have been very interesting because I don’t even remember what it was. Probably paying bills. πŸ™‚

    That’s a lot of bull in the top photo. Does he have a name?

    The flowers in the lawn seem to have survived the second snow as well. Most of it melted away yesterday in the cold sunshine. One of the peonies has shoots about 6 inches tall. That was a surprise. The other one next to it doesn’t seem to have any though the grass around it was frozen and difficult to move out of the way.
    The little quince has 3 1/2 leaves now. I put it on the front porch where it gets all the sun that’s available. It was getting leggy.
    Now I want to try growing a dragon fruit from seed. I have half of one left. The stuff online is confusing as to how to harvest the seeds. There doesn’t seem to be a consensus as whether the fruit around the seeds should be removed or not. Some say to put the fruit in a tea stranger and rinse off the flesh. The seeds seem small enough to go right through a tea strainer. Others say don’t bother. Just plant them.

    Yesterday was sunny and cold. Today started out sunny and cold but now it’s cloudy and colder. Rain is supposed to be happening soon.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 6, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Life has a tendency to do that πŸ™‚

      No that bull has no name, it is one of the thirty or so that walks in the pasture which is placed exactly in the middle of the village. I don’t think he even is the biggest πŸ™‚

      Spring flowers are much tougher than they look, a little snow and cold weather is nothing πŸ™‚ None of my peonies show much yet but the rhubarbs grow nicely now. Not long till rhubarb pie πŸ™‚

      Most seeds are covered with anti germinating hormones, so they would most likely germinate faster if You do wash them. Some however, like tomato seeds germinates already in the frige πŸ™‚ It is a nice cactus that can grow really long and has the most wonderful flowers if one is successful. When it flowers it does so during the day which is a plus πŸ™‚

      Rain, rain and even more rain here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 7, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

