I could see their breaths.

DSC_0021 (6)

It was a tad chilly here this morning, only 1,5C (34,7F) but the sunshine didn’t have many clouds to fight its way through so it did feel warmer than it actually was. On tv they said we might have a big chance to see the sun today, on the web however we didn’t have any chances to see the sun and it is the same forecast business saying both πŸ™‚ I guess the chances of getting it right gets bigger if they have different forecasts in different places πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024 (8)

DSC_0026 (6)

DSC_0030 (8)

DSC_0031 (6)

We walked to the little lake and the birds were singing like crazy. There wasn’t a single crane by the lake but I could see some ducks and two Trumpet swans (or as we call them Song swans). Lots of ravens in the air too and I do wish they for once could sit down close so I could get a good photo of anyone of them. That only happens when I’m driving it seems and then it is impossible to stop. Just a week ago a big raven sat down on a high tree stump just beside the road and the sun was reflected in some of its otherwise pitch black feathers, it looked magnificent.

 

DSC_0034 (6)

This is the second bike I've found here. Who in his/ her right mind bikes out here, toss away the bikes and then walk for at least an hour before they come close to a bust stop?

This is the second bike I’ve found here. Who in his/ her right mind bikes out here, toss away the bikes and then walk for at least an hour before they come close to a bust stop? If someone not known to the village had driven her and tossed old bikes the word would have run through the village in seconds πŸ™‚

DSC_0036 (5)

DSC_0037 (6)

We also walked out to the bog but no sight of any moose this morning and it was so chilly that not even Sune wanted to take a bath in the creek πŸ™‚ I could see the dogs breaths in the air and I wonder if it might have been colder out there than elsewhere, it sure feels like it many times but that could be the ever-present dampness which give that feeling.

 

DSC_0044 (5)

DSC_0047 (5)

Well, the ravens aren't that beautiful right now, they seem to be moulting.

Well, the ravens aren’t that beautiful right now, they seem to be moulting.

DSC_0051 (5)

It’s so fun because I just checked the latest forecast on the Swedish website and now it suddenly shows that we’ll most likely see the sun the entire day, at least between the clouds that might pass πŸ™‚ I feel that I have chosen the wrong career πŸ™‚ I think I would get it right just as many times as they do just by using a deck of cards and giving the different cards different meaning πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0061 (4)

DSC_0067 (2)

DSC_0068 (2)

DSC_0073 (2)

I feel that it is time to take another walk and after that a short nap would be great. I really need to replant some potted plants today and also start looking for places in my garden where I can plant some flowering quinces I once sowed. No rush with the latter though, spring is still young to be honest.

 

DSC_0080

DSC_0083 (1)

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0090

DSC_0093

DSC_0099

The Hepatica self sows well in my garden, they do so much better if there are ants around. There's a sweet thing on the seeds that ants love to eat so they carry away a seed, take the sweet part and drops the seed, preferable on the way down to their nest. I've read that the best place to sow a hepatica seeds is to dig it down 7cm (almost 3 inches).

The Hepatica self sows well in my garden, they do so much better if there are ants around. There’s a sweet thing on the seeds that ants love to eat so they carry away a seed, take the sweet part and drops the seed, preferable on the way down to their nest. I’ve read that the best place to sow a hepatica seeds (as fresh as possible) is to dig it down 7cm (almost 3 inches).

12 responses

  1. It’s very cold here too.
    I’m kinda mad about it as I had a trip to a special garden nursery planned with my sister.
    Now we’ve put it off because I would have no place to store the flowers until it warms up again.
    So we are waiting until Mothers Day weekend when the whole whole shops for flowers.
    Grrrr
    Maybe the bike is an attempt at folk art? Lots of people around here stick old bikes in their yards.
    (not me but…)
    Great photo of Sune.

    April 9, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      To be honest, it is warmer than usual here even if it is a bit chilly πŸ™‚ If climate had been like it used to I would not have done anything with plants until the middle of May. I like this warmer climate because so many plants that normally isn’t hardy here thrives πŸ™‚

      You could buy the plants and cover them with a blanket when it is too cold.When is it You have Mothers day? We have it the last weekend in May.

      No that bike is just tossed there, the cottage is more or less a ruin and no one have lived there for ages πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 9, 2016 at 3:09 pm

  2. I meant world not the second whole

    April 9, 2016 at 1:12 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You have discovered the secret graveyard where old bicycles come to die. πŸ™‚
    Most likely someone drives as close to that spot as they can without being seen then walks the bike down there to toss it. But it’s weird how they manage to do those things without being seen.
    Many, many years ago a shopping cart suddenly appeared smack in the middle of my back swamp. How the person got it there without sinking up to his armpits in muck is a mystery to me. He’d have to have been Superman to toss it from more solid ground. At the time, the closest grocery store that used wheeled shopping carts was in the next town a few miles away. The cart is still there. None of us was going to slog through the muck (if we even could) to fetch it. It’s mostly buried and all that can be seen is the upper rear quarter. It’s surrounded by swamp grasses and skunk cabbage. Very decorative. πŸ™‚

    Beautiful photos of the dogs today. I love the photo of Sune looking directly at the camera.
    I also love the one of the leaves on the dewy lawn.

    It’s cold but sunny here. The weather widget says it’s cloudy. There are some clouds so I guess it’s right. Sort of.
    I think you have hit on how the Swedish weather service works. They have a bunch of people ask Tarot cards what the weather is going to be and then they average the results. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    April 9, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You might be right about that! If I find one more I’m sure You’re right πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      They would have to pass the “wrong people” if You understand how I mean and they don’t miss a thing πŸ™‚ They must have come by bike at night to pass them without getting noticed πŸ™‚ The shopping cart is just as puzzling πŸ™‚ Just imagine if a archeologist comes to that place in just a hundred years or so, what would they think when they found what was left of it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I did get a few good dog photos this morning, my favorite one is the one I put in my NG album.

      We had some sun during the day but it was mostly cloudy until fiveish, after that we’ve had sunshine all the time. I hope tomorrow starts the same.especially since we’re going to have below 32F temperatures. It is so damp here now that I’m pretty sure we’ll have frost covered trees and bushes.

      Yes I think that is the case πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t read those cards any worse than they do πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 9, 2016 at 5:32 pm

  4. jaz

    hi christer! it was very cold here today too. i drove to west virginia in a blizzard and it was beautiful! i need to repot some of my bigger plants now too. i started way too many this year. i just dug up my first ramps and they are small. i guess i better buy more when i go to the ramp festival this year. it will be 70 degrees by next weekend. i am afraid this is the last snow we will see until next fall or winter.

    April 9, 2016 at 8:09 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think I would get depressed if we got a blizzard now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but it does look nice in photos, that I must agree on.

      That’s always a problem, more plants survive than one think in the beginning and suddenly there are loads and they grow too fast too πŸ™‚

      I’ve been thinking of planting Ramson, a relative to Your Ramps but if they like it here they will most likely spread insanely fast so I’m not quite sure what to do yet.

      We might reach the lower 60’s with a bit of luck here next week πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 9, 2016 at 8:20 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Whoa areNova’s teeth ever huge!!! She looks like a prehistoric snaggletooth! πŸ˜€ great photos today. The moss covered rocks is a favorite. We have had strong 80 km winds today with a mix of sun and coiudr. They say tonight we will get snow and rain mix and more winds like this tomorrow. Yuck. I am making blueberry bran muffins and will grill a bit of steak for supper with some squash and baked potato. A good weekend supper! Have a good evening although its late there now!:-)

    April 9, 2016 at 11:14 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They do look big but the camera lies here πŸ™‚ That stick isn’t that big to be honest πŸ™‚

      Nasty winds! No snow predicted here and it will stay calm and around 11C-12C all week long

      That food sounds delicious! I had pancakes πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 10, 2016 at 4:21 am

  6. its wonderful the EU is letting the wet lands stay as they are,, its that way here as well,,
    I’m glad the farmer is as friendly as the horse too!!
    I do not for the life of me understand why people throw away things like bicycles and trash on others land,, we have found trash on our land too,, it makes me so angry!
    Beautiful photos!

    April 10, 2016 at 5:02 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is one of the few good thing the EU has managed to do πŸ™‚

      No why do they do that?? I can’t for my life understand how they think?!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

