Everything was white.

DSC_0022 (8)

I’ve had the kitchen door open big parts of the day so far and it looks like I can keep it open for some time more. There are plenty of clouds in the sky but the gaps between them are big enough for it to warm up the south side of my cottage quite a lot. It is around 14C (57,2F) at the moment but it didn’t start especially warm this morning.

 

DSC_0023 (8)

DSC_0026 (7)

DSC_0027 (9)

The steam pillar You can see here comes from bulls behind that mound :-)

The steam pillar You can see here comes from bulls behind that mound πŸ™‚

It was -5C (23F) and the world was covered in a thin layer of sparkly white frost. Our morning walk was quite nice anyway since there was no wind what so ever. The birds started singing like crazy as soon as the sun started to warm up the air. I could hear a lot of cranes too but couldn’t see a single one.

 

Too bad they grow so big before they let the lambs out.

Too bad they grow so big before they let the lambs out.

DSC_0030 (9)

DSC_0031 (7)

DSC_0032 (7)

Yesterday I did what I should have done already last spring, I dug up the wild gooseberry bush I had in my vegetable patch. The wild one behaves very different from the ones we buy I’m afraid, something I didn’t know until I dug up one πŸ™‚ All branches which touches the ground roots and a new busy starts growing up, Also it sends out shoots from its roots so suddenly it grows gooseberry bushes everywhere. Did I mention it is actually more thorny too πŸ™‚ So after a while it is utterly impossible to clean out weeds which grows beneath the branches.

 

The EU have now started to subsidies the landowners if they keep or improve ponds and wetlands. So now they rather let the ponds stay than let them become farm land :-) Good news for our frogs and salamanders. Not so good for those hating mosquitoes and flies but we can't get it all :-)

The EU have now started to subsidies the landowners if they keep or improve ponds and wetlands. So now they rather let the ponds stay than let them become farm land πŸ™‚ Good news for our frogs and salamanders. Not so good for those hating mosquitoes and flies but we can’t get it all πŸ™‚ This pond is at the moment four times as big as normal, You can see the fence where it usually is πŸ™‚

DSC_0034 (7)

DSC_0035 (8)

DSC_0036 (6)

The berries however is just delicious and unfortunately much smaller than on the bushes we buy. I could have taken all that if it wasn’t for the fact that it growed in the vegetable patch, there were simply no room for any vegetables πŸ™‚ Now I’ve placed it on my toss away mound, that’s the place where I toss everything already dead, pruning’s, dog poop and grass tufts if I make a new flower bed. It will most likely thrive there, spreading happily out into the cow pasture just outside the fence πŸ™‚ I already have more raspberry bushes there than in my own garden πŸ™‚

 

This young bull bellowed so loud that it could be heard all over the village :-)

This young bull bellowed so loud that it could be heard all over the village πŸ™‚

These two horses are so friendlt that even I wouldn't mind if they got lose like so many other animals get here :-) They always come to the fence so we can have a chat as soon as we walk by :-)

These two horses are so friendly that even I wouldn’t mind if they got loose like so many other animals get here πŸ™‚ They always come to the fence so we can have a chat as soon as we walk by πŸ™‚ The owner is very much the same too πŸ™‚

DSC_0043 (5)

DSC_0047 (6)

So now I’ve used a pitchfork and turned all the soil in the vegetable patch and also planted several flowering quince in my garden and one cherry tree. Well tree is a bit too much to call it πŸ™‚ it is still tiny but it managed to survive in a pot outside during winter so I thought I might as well give it a place already now in early spring. I have one more small cherry tree but it still stands in my cool cellar and I don’t trust the weather to be warm enough for it since it already has lots of small leafs.

 

DSC_0049 (5)

DSC_0052 (5)

DSC_0057 (5)

DSC_0058 (4)

I still haven’t figured out if I should try to make the vegetable patch I have bigger or if I should make another one elsewhere in the garden. I still have plenty of time to figure out that though, normally I wouldn’t plant any vegetables outside until the first week in June, since that is when we usually get our last night with frost. Nowadays however one never knows,perhaps this one was the last we had? I must also buy a plum tree this year, I’ve promised my neighbor that I should buy one so that they’ll get a better chance to get fruit on theirs. Just because they say a plum tree is self-fertile it doesn’t mean more than that it might give one or two plums, they haven’t lied but normally that’s what one get. It is always best to have another tree of the right kind nearby and then both trees might give a lot.

 

DSC_0061 (5)

DSC_0064 (4)

DSC_0073 (3)

DSC_0078 (1)

I think it is tie to go out into the garden again, I won’t mow the lawn today but I have to say that the grass has grown an awful lot these last days πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0079 (2)

DSC_0084 (2)

8 responses

  1. jaz

    we are colder here this morning than you! but warm weather is on the way and i am afraid summer is about to start here. high winds are on the way too. we need rain in the worst way! my garage plants are getting big!

    April 10, 2016 at 2:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m not surprised that You are, I’ve read about the cold winds on the east side of the US. It will be much like what it has been today the coming week, well predictions are as we all know not too reliable πŸ™‚ Warmer nights though.

      Summer already! I wouldn’t mind if it was our summer temperatures, we rarely go above 75F πŸ™‚ but I’m not saure I would like Your hot temperatures for such a long time πŸ™‚

      It just grows too fast now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 10, 2016 at 3:02 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    What a beautiful morning you walked in. Frost may mean it’s cold outside but it certainly makes up for that in the visuals.
    I love the way the light makes things fiery. The second friendly horse has a slash of flame on his chest and the lower bit of mane. I don’t think I’ve every seen that happen with fur. πŸ™‚ I didn’t notice the steam pillar until I read your caption. Then I noticed the cattle just visible over the ridge. Cool.

    So it sounds like your trash pile may soon have a gorgeous covering of wild gooseberry bush. πŸ™‚

    More great shots of Sune and Nova today.

    Here it’s only going to get into the 40’s F. It’s very sunny but it’s also windy which makes it feel colder than it is. We’ve been out a couple of times so far. The sun is not warming up anything out there.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 10, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true! and since there was no wind it didn’t matter if it was a bit chilly.

      I think it is just a thinn ray of sunlight that hits the horse that way, it was shadow everywhere else so it gets more visible then. The only thing I noticed was the frost at the tips of the mane πŸ™‚

      That mound will be a nasty way to get in or out of my garden but it will be full of delicious berries πŸ™‚ Perhaps I should get one of the smaller parts of it and plant it in a pot, where the grass can’t grow as good? I think I’ll do that after this πŸ™‚ By the way, You know those pink/ yellow dandelions? The ones that Orvar ate most of them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think three has survived in a pot so I’ll place it more sunny so we’ll be able to see some flowers soon πŸ™‚

      Predictions says sunny and warm till Tuesday, then unsteady weather Wednesday, Thursday and early Frioday and then warm and sunny again. Well we all know how great they predict weather here but hope is the last to leave as they say πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 10, 2016 at 5:29 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What a productive day you have had! I was tired just reading it πŸ™‚ we have had such a strange weekend of weather. Yesterday was gale force winds that knocked you sideways, today snowed all day but just a dusting stayed behind. We are having March weather in April. They are predicting 18 degrees by Friday. Feast or famine around here. Love the pic of the young bull bellowing, and of course of the horses. I felt like I haven’t sat down all weekend and am finally doing so. Have a good Monday!

    April 11, 2016 at 12:56 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It sounds as if it was more productive than it really was πŸ™‚

      They say we now have spring two weeks earlier than we had 100 years ago and they say it is because of the climate change. Last year we had a very late spring so I wonder what they said that depended on πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The predictions vary a lot here, what looked like a nice weekend now looks less nice πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 11, 2016 at 7:35 pm

  4. Hi Christer…It looks COLD! It was 70 here yesterday and I still thought it a bit cool by late afternoon. It’s rained now for the past three days on and off. Mostly on. Great for our water situation but..BUT ..it’s far from enough. This afternoon when leaving to visit another new grandchild..there were two ducks sitting on the curb near a lot of water that was sitting in the street… Howard said in his 60 years of living here he had never seen any ducks. Each was different. When we returned they had gone. More rain tomorrow they say. We will need a lot more to get California back on track. I doubt it will happen…and by the way. Have you been watching America’s Presidential elections? I would love to know what you think in Sweden. It’s a circus! πŸ™‚ Embarrassing for our nation.
    That poor bull must have been cold!

    April 11, 2016 at 8:51 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It was but kind of nice anyway since the sun shone and the rest of the day was just wonderful.

      So finally some rain but You need lots and lots of it, we could shipYou some with big boats because we have more than enough here πŸ™‚ I guess those ducks were happy for any kind of water πŸ™‚

      Yes I follow Your elections with great interest and is very happy it isn’t happening over here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The one thing one can say is that it isn’t the least boring πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The Repubklicans mostly scare me to be honest! Trump is more or less insane and Cruz is way too far right for my taste. Sanders has ideas I like but I doubt he would be able to do anything if he came to power since it doesn’t look like he is able to negotiatie anything with anyone. He would most likely piss off both Republicans and Democrates and Hillary has her own old problems. I do hope she will be nominated and I’m sure she would be abgreat President, as long as she is more careful with her e_mails πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 11, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

