It is a day for reading.

DSC_0027 (13)

Today has been anything like spring like, it has been more like an autumn day. Cold, a bit windy and rainy. We have been lucky when going out though, only drizzle as worst. Still, I’m thinking of going to the wood shed to get some logs and start a fire in the stove, mostly to get rid of the dampness that has eaten its way in to the cottage.

 

The Elm trees are in bloom.

The Elm trees are in bloom.

DSC_0026 (11)

DSC_0028 (13)

DSC_0031 (10)

The weather has however made me read a lot instead, at the time I’m reading J.K.Rawling’s book Fantastic beasts and where to find them. It is actually an encyclopedia with some funny notes but I have to say that the film seems very much more fun 🙂 I’ve only seen one trailer and they have taken huge liberties when making it and that’s a good thing. The book as it is now would be a lousy film 🙂

 

The Alder trees are in bloom too.

The Alder trees are in bloom too.

Mute swans.

Mute swans.

DSC_0048 (9)

DSC_0049 (8)

  I’ve done some laundry too but that’s it, this is not a day with lots of energy to waste I feel. I might make some pancakes and after that I’ll keep on reading or start hibernating til it is warm again.

 

DSC_0052 (7)

DSC_0056 (8)

DSC_0057 (8)

DSC_0058 (7)

Have a great day!

 

Two taken with the Hasselblad.

Two taken with the Hasselblad.

1003

14 responses

  1. Christer,
    I love staying inside, hibernating and reading. I get nice and cozy on the couch usually joined by Gracie who is smart enough not to want outside. Today we have a beautiful day. It is actually warm. We can finally welcome a warm sun and blue sky.

    My heat is not going o as the house is warm enough. Right now all the animals are sleeping and everything is quiet. I like mornings like that.

    The cats hate me. I have to chase Maddie to give her medicine twice a day. I chased her this morning and she evaded me so I still need to give her two doses of her medicine. She is sleeping on the chair, but I won’t bother her. She always sleeps there, and I don’t want to taint it for her. Fern has already had both her medicines today. She too is having her morning nap. My new ritual is to clean the newspapers and plastic Fern has peed on during the night. I am glad that she doesn’t use a rug or the floor. The vet said that should stop once the medicine kicks in, but Fern is in the beginning of kidney failure so maybe not. I don’t care. It takes about 5 minutes and I have had Fern for 17 years. Five minutes for her is nothing.

    I’m going to enjoy today, and I hope you do too. Cozy is always nice.

    April 17, 2016 at 3:14 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I like it in winter but now when spring is here I’d rather outside. The sun did show now in the afternoon soit got much warmer and nicer again.
      My heat is on and the cats are outside hunting something I guess 🙂 The dogs however is sleeping deep, Sune beside me and Nova in the livingroom. We have just come in after a walk and a having a few pancakes before that 🙂

      They tend to do that cats 🙂 Dogs are more forgiving even if it does look as if one has been beating them 🙂

      Yes a good friend as our pets are are worth five minutes of extra work. Bertil tends to go to the shower if he doesn’t want to go on the box. Teodor however can go anywhere so I try to push him outside when I’m leaving for work in the morning 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 17, 2016 at 5:02 pm

  2. Vi har också hållit oss inne idag, dwt är alldeles för fuktigt och blåsigt och kallt. Även om det klarnade upp på eftermiddagen. Men vi har inte läst så mycket utan glott på Formula One istället! Och 18.30 blir det Nascar som sen håller på i 4-5 timmar!! Så det var rätt skönt att det var dåligt väder idag…..:-)
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 17, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja skönt har det då inte varit, men nu skiner solen för fullt och det blev riktigt varmt och skönt. Lite för sent på dagen bara, nu vill jag inte gå ut igen 🙂

      Ibland är det skönt att kunna skylla på vädret när man helst vill vara inne och göra annat 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      April 17, 2016 at 5:04 pm

  3. jaz

    i wish i had your weather. i went out early to re-pot 100 tomato pants and never got to it before it got too hot. i cleaned my sink area and potting table and did some painting and then it was 80 degrees. so, i am done until evening when hopefully it will cool off a bit. it’s too early for this kind of weather!

    April 17, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      100! 🙂 🙂 Well if anyone knows what to do with lots of tomatoes it is You 🙂

      Yes that is a bit much this early, we did reach 50 now in the afternoon but earlier inthe day we had problems reaching 37. I hope we can get it a bit warmer and You a bit cooler!

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 17, 2016 at 5:54 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the two photos of Nova and Sune in black and white. Nova looks especially happy in hers.

    Don’t those big ant hills suffocate the trees they’re built around? Or is that the ants ultimate aim?

    The old quince bush has tons of blossoms on it this year. More than I’ve seen in previous years. Maybe it will have more fruit this year. I need to cut out all the ailanthus and the euonymous that are growing inside that bush before the leaves come out and I can’t see what I’m doing. It’s been too windy and cold or wet and cold to spend much time out there.

    It’s a fine spring day here. Sunny, not much wind, 58ºF. I’m just going to do nothing but enjoy it.

    Enjoy your day.

    April 17, 2016 at 7:59 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is the first time I’ve been able to catch that pittie smile, she rarely show it 🙂

      No the ant hills are very dry so that’s no risk at all. These ants just use the trees as some kind of support I guess. The Carpenter ants however would just start yto eat it 🙂 We don’t have termites but we do have carpenter ants, every tree house owners biggest fear but it is rare that they destroy an entire house thankfully.

      I guess the weather has been perfect for that old quince or it could be the last song before it leaves 🙂 Old apple trees tend to flower only every second year when they get really old but when they do they are filled with flowers, perhaps that’s the case with Your quince? My biggest problem with the quince is all the grass that grows up in it, I have the japanese quince and it is rather low so it gets covered with grass 🙂

      Still no spring feeling here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 18, 2016 at 5:18 pm

  5. California is having the same weather as Joyce is having on the East Coast. HOT and dry but we have WIND to go along with it.
    I am wondering what the stuff is that is heaped against the tree in the forest?? Strange looking.
    Beautiful photo’s of the dogs, Christer! How is Bertil doing?
    The cranes in flight are beautiful!!
    Mona

    April 18, 2016 at 6:23 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Oh how I wish we had, perhaps not hot but warm and dry and I wouldn’t mind some wind too if it was warm. The ground really needs to dry out now after all the rain we’ve gotten.

      Do You mean the ant stack? Big and brown? The Stack ant often use trees as a center pole when they build their stacks. The tree isn’t harmed in any way, on the contrary, the ants eat anything that is on that tree.

      Bertil’s doing fine, he’s out in the rain right now and I don’t expect him home until late if at all today 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 18, 2016 at 5:22 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That’s exactly how our Sunday felt too – very October-ish. Not anywhere near an April feel 🙂 That being said, I did manage to squeeze in one walk with Karma, but the rest of the day I spent indoors either knitting, baking or watching the rain. I hope that’s the last of the wet weather for both of us for awhile! It feels like a Monday today, and I am not sure if that’s good or bad. Love the pictures today – Nova looks like she’s smiling! 🙂 Have a good evening!!

    April 18, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The same today and I have plenty of books to read 🙂 This si however typical April weather up here, it is even better than one can expect this year 🙂 We were lucky yesterday to go out when it didn’t rain and the sun broke through in the late afternoon but it was gone this morning, lots of clouds and rain instead.

      That was the first time I’ve managed to get that pittie smile in a photo! She rarely show it so I think I can compatre it with winning the lottery 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 18, 2016 at 5:27 pm

  7. Ugh. Still cold there!
    We had beautiful weather.
    I burned brush and branches
    Although it’s against city ordinances.
    I felt daring. Well, sort of.
    I had the garden hose right next to me.
    Would have been a great weekend except I have some weird pain…
    Probably shingles.
    Blah.

    April 19, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes I read about Your pain on FB! What’s it like?

      My neighbor wants to do like You and burn grass and he wants me to help him but so far we’ve both lacked the courage. It is not against any rules here but if we loose controll of it we’re in big troubles 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 20, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

