It changes quickly.

The swamp behind my garage.

The swamp behind my garage.

Is anyone surprised if I say that we almost all day had grey and rainy weather? 🙂 They had predicted sunshine from the morning but it didn’t show up until just before I stopped working 🙂

 

DSC_0022 (12)

DSC_0024 (14)

DSC_0025 (12)

We also had a nasty wind all day, not that I noticed it much here before I went to work but I did notice it very well on the road to work 🙂 It had also calmed down pretty much when I came home so the walk was really pleasant. Sune took a bath like always in the clean creek and Nova rolled around in the dry grass.

 

DSC_0029 (11)

DSC_0030 (11)

DSC_0034 (11)

So I was sitting here in the kitchen looking at Facebook when suddenly the cottage got hit hard by a strong wind, the entire cottage trembled and suddenly the ky got all black and rain started to fall. The wind hit several times and I started to wonder if we could have a tromb nearby. A tromb is a small tornado which can damage houses if one is unlucky.

 

DSC_0035 (12)

DSC_0037 (12)

DSC_0038 (12)

  The wind was so hard towards the door that I had problems opening it but I couldn’t see any tromb, doesn’t mean we didn’t have one though. They usually only show on warm summer days but it did get rather warm pretty fast so that could have triggered one to start. Now it has stopped to blow but the sky is just as black and it rains some.

 

and three photos from the folder "Eor a rainy day".

and three photos from the folder “For a rainy day”.

Att spara 21 (13)

Att spara 21 (14)

That was probably the most exiting thing that has happened here since the farmers garage blew up in the air 🙂 It is time for tea and something to eat.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. So you end this post with the sky black and it’s raining?
    How do we now know whether Dorothy’s house is on top of you all!?

    April 19, 2016 at 8:26 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      🙂
      Well, Dorothy’s house didn’t land here but if it had it sure hadn’t been in Kansas any more 🙂

      It turns out this was much bigger than I tought, most opf my work friends had had it too. So we’re guessing it might have been a thunderstorm front. Thye had thunder north of us.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 20, 2016 at 5:52 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Well, that was way more exciting than shopping for dog food and making chicken stock. 🙂 But neither of those things will damage my house, probably, and that’s okay with me.

    The swamp behind your garage is even swampier than the swamp behind my house. I can see standing water down there but most of it is hiding in grassy areas that look solid but aren’t. Deer seem perfectly capable of walking across that area without sinking in but people can’t. I don’t know how the deer do it. They weight as much as some people and they have tiny feet, too. They should sink up to there bellies.
    I was down there early this morning with the dogs. There must have been 6 or 7 bunnies hiding in the brush. A bonanza of bunnies! I foresee very little success with any vegetables I might wish to plant. 🙂

    Today was cold and damp for most of the day. The sun broke through about an hour ago but it’s still cool. Yesterday I was in a tee shirt and flip flops. Today I had tee shirt and heavy sweater and real shoes. It’s the in between season.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 19, 2016 at 9:12 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I think I’ll have to agree on that 🙂 It was much bigger than I thought though and all my work friends had had it too. We’re guessing it was a thunderstorm front, it did thunder further north of us. It would be odd if the chicken stock damaged Your house 🙂 You could become famous if it did 🙂

      They have recently cut away bushes and trees so the grass hadn’t had a chance to grow there before but I’m pretty sure this is what we will have to get used to now when they aren’t allowed to clean the ditches. Good for wildlife, less good for us because this means lots of mosquitoes 🙂 I’m thinking of buying small fish that eat mosquito and fly larvae and put in there. Perhaps not illegal since the water stays where it is but frowned upon :-)I won’t plant any skunk cabbage though but I’m pretty sure it would love that place, it now days grow wild here in Sweden too 🙂 I actually saw a hare today, we havenm’t had any here for almost two years now. I wouldn’t mind if they could stay away for ever.

      Sunny all day until I stopped working, then the clouds started to fill up the sky 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 20, 2016 at 6:07 pm

  3. Christer,
    We don’t have tornadoes here though there have been some in other parts of the cape. The extreme weather we get are hurricanes in late summer into the fall. We have been lucky the last few years as they’ve blown out before they got to us. Some have done terrible damage.

    It was colder than I expected when I went out as it was so sunny and pleasant looking. It was only 53˚ by around 1. Gracie and I finished our errands and came home to nap.

    Lots more flowers are up now. I check my front garden every couple of days. My tulips are now up and close to flowering. I love spring.

    Have a great evening!

    April 20, 2016 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Real big tornadoes is something we’ve never had but these trombs show every now and again. Ten years ago there was one up on the mountaing creating havoc with barn roofs and campers. They are more common by the ocean thankfully. Hurricanes are really rare here, I think our worst one reached number one on Your scale and the country stood still in many places for weeks and even months.

      We reached 50 today and it was really warm 🙂

      The wood anemones are in bloom in most places but they still only have buds in my garden. My tulips also have buds 🙂 I love spring too 🙂

      Have great day!

      Christer.

      April 20, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  4. Vi hade det jag kallar “till-och-från” väder igår, men idag är det strålande sol och blå himmel. Väldigt trevligt – om det inte hade blåst något så fruktansvärt! 😦 Dessutom är det inte speciellt varmt heller, bara 7 grader. Så det känns som minus 5!! 😦 😦 Alltså blir det inget “trädgårderi” idag. Räfsar man ihop en hög torra perenner/gräs så lär den ju inte ligga kvar någon längre stund! 😦 😦 😦
    Fast inget ont som inte har något gott med sig. 🙂 Jag fick katalogen över lökar från Dix igår, så nu har jag fullt upp eftersom den endast innehåller namn, inga bilder. Den är i A4 på 35 sidor, mycket tätskrivna på latin. I år är jag inne på att endast köpa Narcisser till parken. Har planterat en hel del, uppåt 500, men jag har endast satt dom i kanterna på tomten. Antingen mot vägen eller mot kohagen, den senare har jag c:a halva biten kvar av. Sen kan man ju börja sätta dom i mitten och då kan jag hålla på hur länge som helst med hur många lökar som helst. Fast idén är att försöka förvilda dom! 🙂 🙂 Sen blir det väl som alltid några tulpaner, även om mössen äter upp dom lökarna. Allium brukar det också bli – men jag tror jag ska hoppa över det i år – ska först se vad som är kvar i den uppgrävda långrabatten.
    Så nu ska jag göra en lista med bilder och priser på dom Narcisser som är aktuella, sen är min order klar och så väntar jag på att resten av Trädgårdsentusiasterna hör av sig med sina. För det är hög tid att beställa dom….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 20, 2016 at 8:41 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Idag hade vi sol hela dagen ända till jag slutade jobba, sedan fyllde molnen himlen igen. Fast det var runt tio grader och vinden nådde oss inte påpromenaden så det var riktigt skönt ändå.

      Jag vet inte varför men jag riktigt avskyr att sätta lökar 🙂 Redan efter att par har jag tröttnat och sedan blir det bara en plåga. Konstigt nog har jag ju inga problem med att så fröer så man tycker ju att löksättning inte borde vara så mycket värre direkt 🙂 Fast jag gillar ju när de blommar 🙂

      Ha det gott och njut av dina listor 🙂

      Christer.

      April 20, 2016 at 6:29 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Late reply! But in my defense I was at the dentist’s for a long while on Tuesday and cranky when I got out, so I didn’t check my emails until today! 🙂 I am not cranky anymore 🙂 I hope that your cottage was okay during the tromb. That’s very strange! We here on the prairies have wind and lots of it all the time, nothing to stop it from blowing so we usually never notice. Even when it is gale force. Just another day! Today we are sunny but cold. Yesterday we reached about 19 degrees, it was very lovely but now we are back to cold. No surprise. April has been not the nicest of months for weather. I hope it smartens up soon, all my seeds that I planted can be planted into the garden but its too cold!!! I hope your Thursday went well!

    April 21, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Well You’re not really late until I’vs written the next blog 🙂 I am glad that You not are cranky any more 🙂

      It was most likely a thunder storm front that hit the cottage, it was much bigger than I thought it was because all my work friends had been hit too and we live several kilometers from each other. We reach 10C and perhaps a bit above that but that’s it. They say it will be nice tomorrow and I do hope so since I’m planning on being out walking for up to five hours 🙂

      This has been one of the warmest Aprils that I can remember, normally this time of year winter will losen its grip on us and we’ve had spring for quite some time now.

      Still to cold to put out any plants here though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 21, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

