The fairies were dancing.

Fairies dancing above the water or they could just be mist rising when the sun is heating up the cold water :-)

Fairies dancing above the water or they could just be mist rising when the sun is heating up the cold water πŸ™‚

It is a cold but sunny morning here and we were out walking as soon as the sun started to rise above the horizon. The frost cover wasn’t as thick that I had thought, the below freezing degrees started already yesterday evening. The absence of wind made it much nicer that it was to be honest.

 

Here are a few more photos from our walk yesterday.

Here are a few more photos from our walk yesterday.

DSC_0065 (5)

DSC_0068 (7)

I do like the old outhouse attached to the shed :-)

I do like the old outhouse attached to the shed πŸ™‚

The rain they had predicted for today is now moved to Sunday, that means I’ll have to mow the lawn no matter if I want to or not πŸ™‚ If I wait another week the grass will be so long that my mower won’t manage to cut it and who knows if we’ll have sunshine next week, they are wobbly enough to predict the weather just a day ahead so just imagine how bad it is when they try to do it for a week πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0072 (5)

DSC_0088 (1)

DSC_0089 (1)

DSC_0090 (1)

I shouldn’t have slept that long yesterday even if I most likely needed it. I had problems falling asleep and I woke up just after 4 am too but I did feel relaxed so it was a good sleep the little I got. I can’t say we have daylight already at that time now but it sure shows that the day is close. Today the sun went up at 5:32 am and soon we won’t have much night at all here and further north they won’t have it at all since the sun will stay above the horizon 24/7.

 

DSC_0083 (4)

This hare came suddenly jumping towards us and it could look like she was a bit insane risking her life like that but it was really a smart move. We were probably standing very close to her young ones and she would know that she could lure us away from them and then run away from us.

This hare came suddenly jumping towards us and it could look like she was a bit insane risking her life like that but it was really a smart move. We were probably standing very close to her young ones and she would know that she could lure us away from them and then run away from us.

DSC_0086 (2)

DSC_0091 (1)

Lots of birds are singing and we heard a deer warn about something with is odd barking but we didn’t see any other animals today. We walked to the clean creek but it was even too cold for Sune to take a bath today, I even saw some ice at the edges of the water. Mist “pillars” were rising by the little lake and according to folklore that’s fairies dancing before the day starts. Fairies are actually quite nasty beings, they love to give children diseases and they might even kill them if they want to.

 

DSC_0092 (1)

DSC_0093 (1)

DSC_0094

DSC_0095 (1)

The wind has started to blow some so I guess the grass soon will have dried up enough for me to mow it. I better check all the electric cords so they still work, I had problems with one of them last summer if memory serves me right. I think I’ll have time for a pot of tea before mowing though πŸ™‚

 

This and the rest of the photos comes from this mornings walk.

This and the rest of the photos comes from this mornings walk.

DSC_0022 (15)

DSC_0027 (16)

DSC_0030 (14)

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0062 (8)

DSC_0064 (9)

DSC_0073 (6)

DSC_0078 (4)

6 responses

  1. Christer,
    You are so green. My grass isn’t even green yet. The flowers are up all over and the bright yellow forsythia are gorgeous. They are all over the place. I see some buds on my wild roses. I keep checking the grade for flowers breaking the ground, and there are more of them every day.

    I left a wet, grey Cape for a warm and sunny Boston. They got their rain before we did and had time for it to clear and be nice.

    The nights are going to be cold all week, not freezing, but cold.

    Have a great evening!!

    April 24, 2016 at 3:00 am

    • Hi Kat!

      The grass grows like crazy here, I guess that sinbce the varieties we have here are happy with any degree above freezing they start growing much earlier than Yours. I have Canadian prairie grass in my garden and it still look mostly dead πŸ™‚ but only the early spring flowers show here yet.

      Not bad having such luck with the weather! Not a nice start here but more about that in todays post.

      We had down to 19,4F here during the night, it feels almost warm norΒ΄w when it has reached 37,4F πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 24, 2016 at 8:14 am

  2. Seems like spring has arrived for you, Christer. I really enjoyed the landscapes. We have had several very warm days but also some chilly nights and a couple days of rain all in the past week. There’s no chance of any more snow or frost, thankfully. We don’t miss cutting the grass, although we have to pay a landscaper to do that at the VA house, which remains unsold.

    April 24, 2016 at 3:23 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It sure has but we do have the occasional setback, like this morning and nights are nasty cold, 19,4F here during the night.

      The risk of snow fall will stay till at least throughout May but those snow falls are short lived thankfully πŸ™‚

      The lawn is the only thing I really don’t like in a garden, I would gladely pave it with stones if I could afford it and then opened up here and there for trees, bushes and flower/ vegetable beds πŸ™‚

      I really can’t understand how that beautiful house of Yours isn’t sold yet!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 24, 2016 at 8:18 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Reading the posts backwards πŸ˜€ guess the rain was actually snow!! So cruel. Its getting lighter in the mornings here too. I like the lighter nights. I have more energy when I see the sunlight last! πŸ™‚ I see clouds coming from the west now. I hope nothing nasty comes from them!

    April 25, 2016 at 2:09 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      πŸ™‚
      I normally get more tired when the light returns but just for a short while, after that I always wake up when thge sun rises and that nasty early here in the summer πŸ™‚

      Clouds everywhere here now, just one big gap where the sun reach the village πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 25, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

