Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

DSC_0029 (15)

I woke up to a world covered in snow and I didn’t like it. The night had started rather cold and it had dropped down to -7C (19,4F) before the clouds came and covered the sky. It was less cold when I woke up but the sight of all that snow made me cold inside instead.

 

DSC_0025 (16)

DSC_0026 (16)

DSC_0027 (17)

The cats like to sleep in the grass collector when I'm not at home :-)

The cats like to sleep in the grass collector when I’m not at home 🙂

I could see that the sun was trying to break through though so out we went and I did have hope that the sun would show while we were out walking. How wrong I was, even though the clouds did get thinner no sun showed. Instead the snow started to fall again but since there was almost no wind it actually didn’t feel that bad anyway. I can even say that I would have liked it if this had been around Christmas 🙂

 

DSC_0030 (15)

DSC_0031 (15)

DSC_0032 (13)

DSC_0033 (18)

None of the weather sites had predicted anything else than rain so snow was not even something I have remotely considered to see. It all melts down pretty fast though so even if we just had a shower of pebble snow (looks like hail but is soft and very light) it can’t be seen on the ground any longer. I’m not sure I’m glad I changed to summer tires even if the law says we must but this is April and weather can change in a minute.

 

DSC_0034 (14)

DSC_0035 (16)

DSC_0037 (16)

DSC_0039 (16)

I did mow the lawn yesterday and even though I knew the grass had been growing quite a lot I still got surprised over how much grass the collector collected. I had to empty it several times, perhaps a good thing since it most likely insulated the compost against the really cold night. I normally just let the mowed grass stay on the lawn, it gives back the nutrition to the poor sandy soil I have.

 

DSC_0042 (13)

DSC_0046 (15)

DSC_0047 (10)

DSC_0048 (13)

It is time for a pot of tea and after that another walk I think, I do hope it won’t snow any more now.

 

DSC_0050 (13)

DSC_0052 (11)

The poor Heron was just as surprised by the snow as we were.

The poor Heron was just as surprised by the snow as we were.

DSC_0057 (11)

DSC_0058 (10)

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Snö! Usch – typiskt aprilväder!! 😦 Vi hade faktiskt riktigt bra, även om det är onormalt kallt, tills på eftermiddagen då det började hagla. 😦 😦
    Och idag så har jag bestämt mig för att inte gå ut och göra något alls i trädgården, det var -2 inatt och nu är det endast +5 och så drar det en isande vind hela tiden. Känns alltså som om det vore -5….. 😦 😦 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 24, 2016 at 10:24 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja inte var det kul att se all den snön. I och för sig smalt den fort men det har kommit mer under dagen som gått. Man får pass på att gå ut mellan snöfallen 🙂

      Jag klippte gräset igår så det får vara nog med trädgårds arbete denna helgen 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      April 24, 2016 at 12:44 pm

  2. imagine, cutting grass one day and snow the next! We have snow on our forecast for this evening and it has turned very cold,,
    That photo of the Heron is wonderful, his expression and body language say disgust!

    April 24, 2016 at 11:56 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes things turn fast in April 🙂 I hope that this cold weather and the snow at least slows down the grass 🙂

      Yes that heron was not a happy camper 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 24, 2016 at 12:45 pm

  3. Oh. My. God.
    Snow?
    you need to move.
    it’s going to be low 80’s here in the middle of the US.
    I’d be crying if it snowed!

    April 24, 2016 at 5:41 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      🙂 This is normal here, we can have snow well in to May and to be honest this is one of the warmest Aprils that I can remember.

      I have to say that if I had the money I would move to either southern France or Portugal and tio be honest I would need to learn the languages 🙂 🙂 Too many years since I spoke french and I’ve never understood much of Portugese 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 24, 2016 at 6:03 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Snow. Yuck. What an unpleasant surprise even if it is melting almost as soon as it lands.
    Here we had several perfect days of 70ºF weather and mostly sunny days. Today it’s back down into the low 50’s and will go lower by Tuesday, they say. There is even a frost warning posted. My heat came on around 4AM this morning and startled me. I haven’t heard it at all for the past few days.

    I wonder where rooks nested before there were chimneys. It’s obvious that pigeons had to nest on cliffs before there were tall buildings with ledges. But how many chimney-shaped natural objects are there nature?

    Herons generally look put out about everything no matter what the weather. The great blue herons tend to stay around here well into winter now because there’s almost always open water somewhere especially near the coast. Nice shot.

    I was out with friends most of yesterday and, when I got home, I saw that my lawn had been mowed for the first time this season. Pleasant surprise. I didn’t think the lawn guys worked on Saturday. Looks like they remembered not to mow behind the house, too. Whatever that shade grass was that I planted, it doesn’t grow very fast or very tall. It looks like a lawn that has been thoroughly goose-grazed. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    April 24, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it was but I guess it shouldn’t be since this is April. Hopefully it will get warmer and less snowy the closer we get to May.

      I think 68 was the highest we reached here before it started to drop again but We’ve had years when we still have had a thick layer of snow well in to May so I guess I shouldn’t complain.The heat hjas never turned off here, I do that when we reach around 59 for a week or so, the nights are almost never warm here so I wait until the days at least are a bit warm 🙂

      We have a couple of Jackdaws that nest in old woodpecker holes. I didn’t know that until a few days ago when I saw how one climbed in to one 🙂 Otherwise it is few chimney looking places to find 🙂 🙂

      This heron and one more has stayed here all winter since it has been so warm. They seem to be tougher than the cranes.

      I don’t think we have especially many lawn mowing guys here in Sweden, usually we pay a teenager who we already know and who want to make some money. Very few of them around here, none to be exact 🙂 I would like one of trhose small robot mowers, they aren’t that expensive but I have too many holes in my lawn, made by both dogs and voles 🙂 It would just get stuck and then I would have to do it myself anyway 🙂 Great that they didn’t mow behind the house! Any grass that grows slow would be welcome in my garden, even if it looks goose-grazed 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 25, 2016 at 6:11 pm

  5. Birgit

    Snow here too today. Not funny.
    I especially enjoyed your Friday walk photos, so beautiful!
    Also thanks for your Swedish fairies on my computer desktop 🙂

    April 24, 2016 at 11:14 pm

    • Hi Birgit!

      It is depressing to see that white garbage but it is April so I shouldn’t be surprised.

      I’m glad You like the fairies 🙂 Don’t get too close though so they don’t give You any nasty disease, it might work through a photograph too, they are truicky ones 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 25, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! YUCK!!! How nasty of a surprise was that?!?! We had a bit of sleety snow Friday night but it melted as soon as it landed. We had such a busy weekend. It was my brothers birthday so we celebrated 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. Then we moved 3 yards of 2 inch limestone to a parking pad we created. My back is so sore right now I am going to do yoga. Have a good Monday! P.s. I love the photo of the bird on the chimney stack, he looks thrilled with the weather…

    April 25, 2016 at 2:05 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I really shouldn’t be surprised, we often have winter way in to April but still I can’t say I liked to see it 🙂

      Two nights of party! I’m not sure I would survive 🙂

      It is nasty work moving that much limestone! It takes days to get back to normal 🙂

      I do like those Jackdaws 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 25, 2016 at 6:16 pm

  7. Christer,
    After all the greenery of the last few days, the snow is quite a surprise. It really did get cold.

    We have all season tires, but I remember my father changing his snow tires this time of year for his lighter, summer tires. Some people had chains they’d put on their tires for winter. It was quite a process.

    WE’ll have 50’s for most of the week and 40’s at night. That’s about normal for this time of year.

    Have a good day tomorrow!

    April 25, 2016 at 4:31 am

    • Hi Kat!

      In a way I perhaps should be glad the snow came because it was nasty cold just before it arrived here. Still I don’t like it even when it is winter so it didn’t feel better now 🙂

      The all season tires aren’t popular here unless one has a big van or pickup truck. Most of us living on the countryside wants studded tires so we know that the car will stop in time even on icy roads, especially if itis black ice. Chains are just a mess and they always break if one drives a bit too fast with them but they are, to be honest, amazing when it comes to deep snow!

      Slightly cooler here and at nights much colder and that is warm for this time of year here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      April 25, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Leave a Reply

