There were two too my big surprise.

DSC_0040

It didn’t look especially nice outside when I looked through the windows, a bit dark and dreary to be honest. I have to say it was actually quite nice when we were out walking even if it was around 0C (32F) but since there is no wind at all it is quite pleasant outside. Ok the humidity is sky-high but I can take that when it is a bit chilly.

 

DSC_0044

My neighbor has this thing for tractors, he has just bought a new green one (too new to look interesting enough to photograph) so now I think he has twelve or is it thirteen :-) I can't say much though, I think I now have twenty cameras :-) My hobby is a bit cheaper though :-)

My neighbor has this thing for tractors, he has just bought a new green one (too new to look interesting enough to photograph) so now I think he has twelve or is it thirteen πŸ™‚ I can’t say much though, I think I now have twenty cameras πŸ™‚ My hobby is a bit cheaper though πŸ™‚

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

Beside the bird song not a sound could be heard. I had hoped to see a badger today but they always seem to have gone back to bed when we’re out walking. I can’t complain though since we saw lots of other animals instead today. First I saw a cat hiding in a ditch and managed to distract Sune so he would try to say hi to it, not all cats like that πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0057

After that we walked in to a deer, she didn’t care much about us. She just stood there watching us pass by and then she continued to grace as if nothing had happened. Canadian geese came flying from all directions out to the fields to graze as well, we have many more here now than what we had when I moved here. We also saw a couple of Greylag geese flying above us and those were rare here back in those days.

 

DSC_0050

She wasn't especially bothered by us, as soon as we had passed she just kept on grazing :-)

She wasn’t especially bothered by us, as soon as we had passed she just kept on grazing πŸ™‚ She is most likely one of the old ones who ate in my garden those nasty cold winters we had a few years back.

This Greylag couple are nesting on the bog.

This Greylag couple are nesting on the bog.

DSC_0074

We didn’t go far until I saw a fox. I tried to get as close as possible and at the same time tried to tell a more or less deaf dog to come closer to me without alerting it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Nova just kept on walking like always so we didn’t get as close as I had hoped but I did get a few photographs of it anyway. To my big surprise another fox turned up when the first one ran away, so both mother and father fox were out hunting, that must mean the pups are big enough to be left alone now.

 

The creek was between us so at first it couldn't hear us getting closer.

The creek was between us so at first it couldn’t hear us getting closer.

DSC_0061

Then we passed the creek at the same time I tried to tell Nova to stop and that it did hear :-) By the way! A hare passed straight in front of Nova yesterday and she didn't even look as if she wanted to follow it :-) Just a year ago she was determined to kill them all :-)

Then we passed the creek at the same time I tried to tell Nova to stop and that it did hear πŸ™‚ By the way! A hare passed straight in front of Nova yesterday and she didn’t even look as if she wanted to follow it πŸ™‚ Just a year ago she was determined to kill them all πŸ™‚

DSC_0063

Playing fox cubs are the cutest thing there is and I once hired a summer cottage a bit north. There was a small village with two grocery stores! nearby (today it is surprising if a village has anything at all to be honest) and I had decided to walk to one of the grocery stores to get a few things I needed. On my way back to the cottage I suddenly saw five small fox cubs playing on the gravel road. I stood there for almost half an hour just watching them and I’m pretty sure mother fox was watching me πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

DSC_0068

Here is when I saw the other fox, it too started to run when it saw us. Nova and Sune couldn't care less, they didn't even watch those foxes run away. After all it smelled like beavers beside the creek :-)

Here is when I saw the other fox, it too started to run when it saw us. Nova and Sune couldn’t care less, they didn’t even watch those foxes run away. After all it smelled like beavers and water voles alongΒ the creek πŸ™‚

The clouds are getting thinner and my aunt in Gothenburg just texted me that they have sunshine and 20C (68F) in the sun at 8:30 in the morning. So that’s what I am waiting for right now. I don’t trust our weather predictions but they sound pretty nice at the moment, sunshine the entire next week and they think we might reach 20C (68F) in the shadows by the end of next weekend, that would be nice especially since I have a long weekend then. Ascension day is on Thursday and it is a holiday here and I’ve taken Friday off πŸ™‚

 

Here are four photographs taken with the Ambi Silette at Forentorp Γ„ngar (Forentorp meadows).

Here are four photographs taken with the Ambi Silette at Forentorp Γ„ngar (Forentorp meadows).

A19331_006

A19331_007

A19331_008

It is time to get something to eat and then just wait for the even nicer weather to arrive πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Fox cubs are super cute to watch when they play. A couple of years ago, I pulled over to watch four of them playing in an open field next to some houses. The field was at the bottom of a slope and there were open woods at the top where it became someone’s back yard. The fox cubs would race each other up and down the slope from the woods to the field. There was an old tree stump in the middle of the field that was overgrown with grasses and weeds. It must have been the goal post or something because they would all head for it and swarm all over it before racing back up the slope, around some trees and back down. Then, I think their mother called because they all ran up to the woods and beyond into the rocky place. And of course I did not have my camera but it was good just to watch them.

    I thought yarn took up room. You need a lot of storage for a tractor stash. πŸ™‚

    Today is very un-May-like. It’s humid and neither cool nor warm. It’s cloudy. An all around Meh Day. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your day.

    May 1, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I know where around they live but I don’t want to stress them by walking around there so I can only hope they’ll play at the edge of the field one day when I pass. Fox cubs usually don’t mind dogs passing by when they are playing as long as they don’t come too close. It is when they get older they learn dogs can be dangerous.Of course You didn’t have any camera with You, neither did I πŸ™‚ If we had had one the cubs would never have shown πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      He has lots of space for his tractors πŸ™‚ My cameras are at least rather small πŸ™‚

      The day has turned out to be the best one so far this year πŸ™‚ a bit warmer and I would have said we had a presummer day πŸ™‚ WeΓ€’ve been outside all day so no movie watching at all this weekend πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 1, 2016 at 3:33 pm

  2. jaz

    i guess your spring has arrived! voles are eating all of my perennials. do you have any suggestions as to how i can get rid of them?

    May 1, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      There are rather effective traps that one put down into one of their holes (benetah one of the soil mounds) but I’ve read they really hate vibrations so lots of pinwheel put in the ground might help, if You have any wind in Your garden that is.

      Also contact anyone who has ferrits as pets, absolutely fresh manure from them will scare the vole so it will leave but it must be absolutely fresh and more has to be put out in different places every day for a while. I hope Teddy won’t think it smells delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 1, 2016 at 3:36 pm

  3. jaz

    if i knew where to get some, i am sure teddy would eat it! i’ll check out the vibration thing. castor oil is supposed to work too. thanks christer!

    May 1, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    • Pet store? The easiest way is to tuyrn to a ferrit association I guess, they would be able to help You get in touch with a breeder of ferrits.

      May 1, 2016 at 7:13 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I will send you some of our sunshine. Two glorious days of it. I have been outside for most of the days but biy does it ever make you tired all that fresh air! Even the dogs were sleepy last night πŸ™‚ I love the Fox pictures today! Just look at them run, that made me smile! I am going backwards again, will read yesterday’s post after this one. I just got back from the store as I had a craving for a watermelon πŸ™‚ summer = watermelon!

    May 1, 2016 at 8:25 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yesterday turned to the best day so far this year πŸ™‚ Sunshine all day and rather warm. Today is warmer but there are more clouds.

      We too were out all day, it was impossible to stay indoors πŸ™‚

      I wish I could have come a bit closer to that fox before he heard us but one can’t get it all I’m afraid. It was so busy chasing voles πŸ™‚

      I’m more of a honeydew melon guy but any melon is delicious to be honest πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 2, 2016 at 6:04 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    The day stayed miserable, and it has been raining all evening. Gracie did go out for a bit and came back wet. I was reading most of the afternoon then went to game night and we watched The Amazing Race. It was my turn for appetizers. I went with Mexican as Cinco de Mayo is this week. It was a great evening.

    My sister had snow so I shouldn’t complain, bit I’m going to. I want spring!

    Have a great evening!!

    May 2, 2016 at 5:12 am

    • Hi Kat!

      At least none of us had snow like Your sister πŸ™‚ but yesterday turned out to be the best day yet this year πŸ™‚ We were outside most of teh day, either playing or I repotting plants. I think I’ve repotted every plant I have now πŸ™‚

      I do like Mexican food but I have it too seldom. I had pancakes and that’s rather nice too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 2, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

