A weed is a plant that grows too good in a place You don’t want it.

Tulipa tarda. It is actually behaving like a weed in my garden but arather pleasant one.

Tulipa tarda. It is actually behaving like a weed in my garden but a rather pleasant one.

Yesterday changed totally after I had written the blog and turned out to be the best day so far this year, a bit windy every now and again but sunny and warm. We were out most of the day and I repotted the last indoor plants I have but I still need to repot some small trees I have outside. I’ll bring most of them to the plant swapping day in late summer.

 

Hacquetia epipactis.

Hacquetia epipactis.

The White Wood Anemone can look very different. They say that's because it still is very young as a species and therefore easily mutate.

The White Wood Anemone can look very different. They say that’s because it still is very young as a species and therefore easily mutate. I have a few different that I’ll show when they open up.

Anemone ranunculoides, the Yellow Wood Anemone. It too can vary some.

Anemone ranunculoides, the Yellow Wood Anemone. It too can vary some.

We also played a lot in the garden i between walks and I did some weeding as well. When most people think of weeds they think of crab grass in the American continent, we over here think of quick root, another grass. Thistles and nettles are also some plants that pop up in our minds. Here I also often thing Black currants, raspberries and gooseberries 🙂 I find new small plants all over my garden every year.

 

A Primerose variety called 'Annika'.

A Primrose variety called ‘Annika’.

I never remember what this Nun worth is called. Spreads like crazy and now my neighbor has it and I think it has spread to the forest too :-)

I never remember what this Nun worth is called. Spreads like crazy and now my neighbor has it and I think it has spread to the forest too 🙂

The white and yellow wood anemone.

The white and yellow wood anemone.

The raspberries I just pull up but I tend to plant the gooseberries and currants in small pots and there they are for a year or two till I can find a spot to plant them 🙂 The ones I find in the garden are usually sown by birds who ate my berries but we do have wild currants growing in this country, both black and red. The wild ones have smaller and fewer berries but they tend to be delicious, especially the gooseberries. Wild raspberries are also much tastier than the garden varieties, the best berries in the world closely followed by the wild strawberries.

 

DSC_0022 (1)

The Birch leafs have just opened up and the second they did aphids arrived. I didn't see them when I took the photo though :-)

The Birch leafs have just opened up and the second they did aphids arrived. I didn’t see them when I took the photo though 🙂

DSC_0038

I never mowed the lawn though, I thought the grass was short enough to wait until the coming weekend. It is warm now though and will be all week long they say so I guess it will grow like crazy 🙂 I’ll survive because I have a long weekend this week so I can mow it in parts during several days if I so wish 🙂 I’ll go to a garden center on Friday I think. I’ll buy a plum tree. I promised my neighbor that I would so their little plum tree will give plums too now when their little daughter is growing up. Some plum trees are sold as self fertile and if one is happy with three or four plums a year that’s right but it is always best to have another variety close, one that can fertilize the tree one has because like apples not all trees can do that.

 

DSC_0025 (1)

DSC_0031

DSC_0028 (1)

DSC_0033

It is time for something to eat and then a look on what tv has to offer.

Have a great day!

 

I don't think one can have more cute neighbors :-)

I don’t think one can have more cute neighbors 🙂

DSC_0042 (1)

DSC_0043

DSC_0044 (1)

18 responses

  1. Lammungarna (som det heter här på Gotland – lamm är nämligen får) ser ut att ha jättekul, men en del andra gillar också livet ser jag. I alla fall när han får bada! Men gillar Nova också att bada?
    Konstigt nog så har ingen av våra hundar varit förtjust i det – och vi som alltid badat mycket. Fast numera är det ju skönt att Santos inte gör det. Det vore ju jobbigt om man har pool och en hund som plaskar omkring där jämt och dessutom inte kan komma upp själv. Nej, usch vad hemskt det skulle kunna gå!
    KRAM
    Susie

    May 2, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      De hade hur kul som helst 🙂 De sprang fram och tillbaka och ibland stångades de lite också 🙂

      Ja Sune han älskar att bada men Nova skulle hellre dö än att hoppa i 🙂 Sune är faktiskt min andra hund att gilla bad men de stora som var stor del vattenhundar vägrade att ens blöta ned tassarna 🙂 Tack och lov har Sune en päls som torkar fort.

      Jo jag kan se det problemet, jag hade behövt vara ute varje gång Sune var det bara för att kolla så han inte drunknade 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:04 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Nope. No cuter neighbors than that wooly gang. 🙂

    There are lovely weeds in your garden. Hacquetia epipactis looks interesting. I googled and it might do well in my very shady back yard where the grass doesn’t like to grow. The question is will it tolerate growing near a black walnut. Obviously the things that are growing back there do tolerate it but I’d like to add some new stuff to the mix. Buttercups and ajuga do very well. I’m looking for more ground cover type things that will grow there.
    Pyracantha and vicious roses are the obnoxious weeds in my yard. I can see tiny vicious roses in the lawn. They are kept in check only by regular mowing. Wild black raspberries grow in places around the property, too, but not so many as there used to be. In the past, I had so many black raspberries that after a week or two of gorging on them daily, I left the better part of the yearly crop to the birds. I’m not into canning or anything like that.

    Today is pouring down rain. I took the dogs on an errand and then I let them run loose at the lake. We got soaked. I wanted to take some photos but had no raincoat for my camera. But I always have dog poop bags. Put the camera inside, poked a hole around the lens and screwed a filter on to hold it. Perfect.

    Glad your day turned out even better than expected. Enjoy.

    May 2, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I only have my small black walnut but I have to say that most flowers seems to love growing beside it 🙂 I worried for a while that all the musk mallows would suffocate it but not it is much higher than them so I just let the flowers stay 🙂

      So far my vicious roses stay where they are and the pyracanta have problems surviving in my climate zone, well if it gets warmer it would probably thrive here too.

      They are selling black raspberry bushes here now but they aren’t tough enough to grow here yet but I was thinking I might buy one or two bushes or what one call them, after all they are usually only a stick pointing up in the air until they start spreading like crazy 🙂 just to see how it works. I would freeze some though every now and again. The wild ones in the fields I just eat though 🙂

      Cloudy but warm here, rather nice 🙂 Dog poop bags are perfect for many things 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:11 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Isn’t it lovely that the day turns out unexpectedly wonderful weather-wise? 🙂 We are still having great weather, I took a walk at lunch, its 20 degrees! 🙂 Love the primrose and love your little neighbors! I too must go to a garden center at some point this week. Maybe the weekend too, but I don’t like going many places on a weekend, I like to stay at home mostly so I get irritated if I have to go out. Eats into my weekend time! 🙂 I like getting things done at the end of the work day…I would love to plant a plum tree but am not sure what kind would survive our nasty winters. Even though they clearly state what zone plants and bushes will do well in, sometimes they just don’t survive. I have a high bush cranberry next to my house that faces direct west. Its 3 years old and as high as my knees. It just doesn’t like it there but hasn’t died. I need to find a place to put it – maybe dig it up and take it to the cottage. Probably do much better there. Have a good evening!!

    May 2, 2016 at 7:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Not that warm here yet but predictons (which I never trust) says up to 23 this weekend 🙂

      Normally I hate doing things on a weekend but now I’ll have a long one, four days so I can take Friday to do other things. I’ll most likely need to buy some food too 🙂

      You do have a tricky plant zone! It was even worse than mine if I remember right. I live on the edge to what most plums can take here and I live in zone 4. There are some wild species though that will take even lower zones like damsons.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:15 pm

  4. beautiful weather and beautiful photos! I really like Primroses,, the action photos are wonderful! Lots of lambs!!

    May 2, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You and I did enjoy the weather 🙂

      Ican stand and look on those lambs for hours 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:16 pm

  5. Underbara bilder Christer! Önskar mina Tarda ville uppföra sig som ogräs också 😎
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt i vårsola
    Nina

    May 2, 2016 at 10:48 pm

    • Tjänare Nina!

      Jag måste dela mina nu och sätta dem lite överallt i trädgården 🙂 Rådjuren går ju inte in här och äter dem heller så de kommer att frodas 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:17 pm

  6. Christer,
    Those lambs are adorable. There are also so many of them. The town has a farm which dates back a few hundred years. They try to have heritage fruits and animals common back then. It is a non-profit which has a couple of events every year. At Christmas I buy a wreath made by the women who are volunteers at the farm.

    I have some plants which spread all over. They fill in the holes in the garden. I’m looking now for flowers which grow tall so I can put them in the back of my garden. It is just too early and too cold for planting. I’m anxious to get shopping for some plants which flower at different times all summer.

    The grass isn’t green yet but many flowers have appeared. That gives me hope.

    Have a great evening!

    May 2, 2016 at 11:42 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      They are and I can look at them for hours 🙂

      I think there might be a farm like that in Falköping too but I’ve never been there, I sort of don’t need to when I live like I do 🙂

      Even though it is rather warm here now I still won’t plant anything which hasn’t grown outside all spring, otherwise the first frost night will destroy any new plant. Normally I rather sow myself though, the best way to keep the spanish slug away.

      The grass grows a bit too good now 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:21 pm

  7. jaz

    you have much better neighbors than i do! i don’t know if it is this past winter or if my woods is finally taking care of itself but i am thrilled to see what is happening in it this year. all of my woodland perennials are spreading. everything looks like a real woods and not a man made one. maybe it took all these years for the leaves to compost and make the medium for woodland perennials to thrive. woodland perennials are the most expensive plants to buy here. one mayflower can cost 20.00 or more. trilliums are killer expensive too. to see them spreading and multiplying makes me so happy. it might have been the winter we had though because the same thing is going on in my upper gardens and they are not woods. my weeds are doing exceptionally well everywhere.

    May 3, 2016 at 1:49 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      My human neighbors are just as great but not as cute 🙂

      It usually takes a while for woodland plants to start spreading but they wouldn’t spread at all if they hadn’t liked where they are growing. Especially the Trilliums can be really grumpy. I have a few self sown trilliums but it took almost ten years until they started 🙂

      It is the same here, woodland plants are nasty expensive and it is just because they take their time to spread. I’ve tried to sow mayflowers but so far no luck, I’m not even sure if it would survive up here. So my guess is that the winter had nothing to do with it, You have done the right things to make them want to spread.

      Weeds are unfortunately always happy to spread 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:27 pm

  8. Sounds like the perfect day.
    One filled with beautiful weeds, wet dogs and adorable neighbors.
    🙂

    May 3, 2016 at 3:17 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I must admit that it was 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 3, 2016 at 6:27 pm

  9. You do have very adolrable neighbors, Christer. The dogs obviously were enjoying what turned out to be a good day. Nice to see all the spring blooms as I am still waiting to see more here.

    May 4, 2016 at 1:12 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes I do and this morning I saw a newborn calf just outsaide my cottage 🙂

      It is exploding here now since it is both sunny and warm, one day there were only buds the nect day the trees turned green 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 4, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

