It feels like summer.

It is like an explosion of green now and I like how the leafs still are so thin that the sun shines through them. They look neon green :-)

It is like an explosion of green now and I like how the leafs still are so thin that the sun shines through them. They look neon green πŸ™‚

I think summer arrived today, a bit early I admit that but it sure feels like it πŸ™‚ I really can’t say how warm it has been here at home since the thermometer, placed on the north side of the cottage now is hit by the sun both when it rise and long before it sets. They day started rather wonderful too, the first thing I see when I get to the car is a newborn calf in the pasture next to my cottage πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0025 (3)

DSC_0026 (3)

DSC_0029 (2)

The day has passed slow though, I did what I could to get outside during the day. I didn’t have to change colors especially often and we had enough with people so I could walk around as I pleased more or less πŸ™‚ They forgot to deliver the food I had ordered from the restaurant so I had to wait for them to deliver it. I didn’t mind a lot because I sat outside in the sunshine while waiting πŸ™‚ It is so strange, the food they deliver earlier in the day usually taste nothing but when I get it late directly from the restaurant it is delicious! They say it is made at the same time but I just can’t believe them.

 

DSC_0034 (1)

DSC_0036 (1)

DSC_0038 (1)

DSC_0039 (2)

I wore a fleece jacket when we took our walk after work and it was too much πŸ™‚ we went out to the bog and I heard a Black Grousse playing, the roosters tend to forget that all hen now are busy with the eggs or perhaps even chickens now πŸ™‚ Sune took his usual bath in the clean creek and NovaΒ rolled around in the dry grass. It almost felt sad when we went homewards again but we all needed something to eat πŸ™‚

 

Eight photos from the Ambi Silette.

Eight photos from the Ambi Silette.

A19331_012

A19331_013

I'm not happy when Sune tries to take a bath in this :-)

I’m not happy when Sune tries to take a bath in this πŸ™‚

The animals have all gotten their food and now it’s my turn. I think I’ll bring out my electric grill and make some warm sandwiches πŸ™‚

 

A19332_009A

A19332_012A

A19332_020A

A19332_025A

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like you have had a fine day! πŸ™‚ We too are having a pleasant day. Yesterday was not great, a strong north wind which blew heavy all day long made for being outside not nice. Today is better but tomorrow they are predicting a high of 31. Can you believe it?!?!?!? In May????? Never heard of that before. We shall wait and see if their predictions are correct. A new baby calf now too – how exciting! πŸ™‚ Isn’t that funny that your lunch tasted better!! I would be happy with that for sure! πŸ™‚ I hope your evening is lovely and that it drags on nice and slow! πŸ™‚

    May 4, 2016 at 7:14 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It would have been better if I had been at home though πŸ™‚ Today has started really nice too πŸ™‚

      It is amazing how a wind can destroy a day, unless one is a sailor it rarely make the day better πŸ™‚

      31!!! already!!WE might reach 23 this weekend and that is a lot for me πŸ™‚ I am however glad we won’t reach 31, it is rare that we do that even in the hottest of summers.

      We have wondered for a very long time why the food they deliver taste so much less than the one in the restaurant since they say it ios made at the same time?! It shouldn’t taste different if that was true.

      The evening was quiet pleasant πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 5, 2016 at 7:41 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    What a lovely way to start the day. A newborn calf.

    Spring is my favorite season. I love how the budding leaves are all different colors. They’re like a faint reflection of autumn.

    No, I wouldn’t be happy if my dogs took a bath in that rusty stuff either. Rocky does worse, though. He loves to wade into the lake when there’s an algae bloom. He comes out slimy and stinky. He also loves to go in when there’s a huge pollen slick floating on the surface. I can take pollen. I don’t mind that so much. It’s not slimy or smelly. It’s just very yellow. And where Rocky goes, so goes Piki Dog. Nothing like algae slime or pollen paint on a white dog.

    The dogs went to the groomer today so while they were busy, I went to the lake. It was bloody cold down there. The weather has been miserable and rainy for days. Today it added in wind. Not very May weather at all. More like March. On the plus side, I did see my first turkey vulture of the season. Usually they show up around mid-March but I haven’t seen any until today.

    Glad you’re having an early summer day to open your mini-vacation.
    Enjoy.

    May 4, 2016 at 7:45 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Spring is my favorite season too and it just gets better with all new born animals πŸ™‚

      Thankfully algea bloom is rare in creeks but I’m pretty sure Sune just would think that would make the bathing experience so much better if it did πŸ™‚ The pollen flows away too so when he takes his baths in the clean creek he just smells bog water, sort of nice actually πŸ™‚

      It is strange that You have it so much colder than we do, I guess it wouldn’t have been that bad if the wind had kept calm though. It is amazing how a wind can destroy an otherwise great day.

      We don’t have vultures here unless they have come really lost. We have had a Griffon vulture coming here a few summers, it followed a storm. The first time it was in such a bad shape that they had to capture it, feed it for weeks and then fly it down to Spain I think it was by plane πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think it flew back on its own the second time πŸ™‚

      Today looks really promising even if the morning is a bit chilly.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 5, 2016 at 7:48 am

  3. Christer,
    I envy you that sun. It is still raining here. All day has been cold and raw. I am getting tired of it.

    Every morning I check my front garden, and the flowers are getting taller and taller. I see a few white ones have already bloomed. The yellow has fallen off the forsythia and are being replaced with green. I’m sorry to see the colors go.

    Gracie only gets muddy feet from the backyard. She also will have sandy, dirty jowls because she buries her bones. She comes in and shakes her head and sand flies all over the place. I usually take a paper towel and clean out her mouth-she uses it as a shovel to cover her biscuit or her bone.

    I think spring will come some day, but I’m getting impatient!

    Enjoy the evening!!

    May 5, 2016 at 12:52 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Sounds as if You’re having a Swedish spring this year πŸ™‚

      Still not much more than the early spring flowers here but I guess with this warm weather things will start here too. The wild gooseberries have started to flower now but notthe ones in the garden. They actually have quite pretty flowers but so small that it is hard to see them without risking the eyes πŸ™‚

      My home is much cleaner now when I only have two small dogs here, even Teodor is m,ore dirty than the dogs πŸ™‚ He loves to roll around on the gravel road so his fur is filled with sand πŸ™‚

      I do hope spring finally decides to stay over at Yours too!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 5, 2016 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

