It won’t take long till he’s used to us.

DSC_0025 (4)

The morning is a bit chilly, we had below 0C (32F) this morning but since the sun shone and the wind was absent it felt rather nice anyway. According to the weather predictions we’ll have a cloud free sky so is anyone surprised if I say we do have clouds in the sky πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They are thin though so the sun will be able to shine through.

 

DSC_0028 (4)

DSC_0029 (3)

DSC_0030 (2)

DSC_0032 (3)

We were out walking for over two hours and ended up by the bog where we so often go. Sune andΒ NovaΒ found sticks to chew and I sat on a tree stump listening to the birds singing. There were especially two birds from the same species I listened to, my guess is that one was a bit older than the other because his song was much more graceful, the other ne had on the other hand more power to his song. I wonder who would sound more attractive to the female birds?

 

The forest floor is now filled with Oxalis acetosella (Common wood sorrel). We call it Hare acid and the leafs are delicious.

The forest floor is now filled with Oxalis acetosella (Common wood sorrel). We call it Hare acid and the leafs are delicious.

DSC_0048 (1)

DSC_0051 (1)

DSC_0054 (1)

The fox is getting used to us now. Today we stood and watched each other for quite some time until he went away. Nova and Sune didn’t care about him at all, they were more interested in eating deer and hare poop πŸ™‚ I guess that, if we meet him again this weekend, he won’t walk away at all. He is really far too busy to find food for the cubs so if he feels we’re no threat he will just ignore us instead.

 

DSC_0057 (1)

DSC_0060 (1)

DSC_0061 (1)

DSC_0063 (1)

It really is too chilly right now but I still have the kitchen door open. The dogs love it and the sun is heating up the wall so it won’t take long until it will start to feel warm in the kitchen too. The first dandelions have opened up in my lawn but the ones that will get pink flowers still have no buds. I had plenty of those plants last year but then both Orvar and Hector found most of them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Only a few that I had put in pots survived πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0074 (1)

DSC_0077 (1)

DSC_0067 (1)

DSC_0069 (1)

It is time for a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well.

Have a great day!

 

Four photographs from the Balda Jubilette.

Four photographs from the Balda Jubilette.

A19336_010

A19336_011

A19336_016

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    They aren’t kidding when they say early morning is The Golden Hour. Beautiful photographs today. I love the one with Sune and Nova sharing a stick.

    The wood sorrel I have is yellow. It has a pleasant tang but one should eat very little of it because of oxalic poisoning. Now and then, I’ll eat one of the leaves but no more than that.

    As for the singing birds, the female just might choose both. If the older male has the better territory, she will choose him because her chicks will benefit from a secure nest and food supply. But, she might also mate with the younger male on the side, if he looks like a good genetic choice. Females try to be practical about this stuff. πŸ™‚

    Today’s weather is pretty much the same as the last few days; wet, cold, dark and dull. It won’t get out of the 40’sF today. One weather person said we were, in effect, having a nor’easter and it will stick around for another day or so. My lawn needs to be mown again but it’s too damn wet to do it with my mower. The lawn guy will need a machete by the time he gets here. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    May 5, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      None of them wanted to give up the stick so both lay there on the ground chewing on both sides of it πŸ™‚

      They tend to warn about our wood sorel too but to be honest, one has to eat loads of it or be very sensitive to the oxalic acid to get sick from it. They always give the same warnings when it comes to rhubarbs too so I eat as many wood sorel leafs as I feel when I find any πŸ™‚

      I just saw a program about how female birds chose πŸ™‚ They aren’t the faithfullest of animals πŸ™‚ The males aren’t either because they usually visit their neighbors too πŸ™‚

      It is very nice here today! A weak but slightly cold wind makes it hard to know how to dress πŸ™‚ Out of reach for it it’s really warm but when it reach it is a bit too chilly with just a t-shirt πŸ™‚

      I’ll probably mow the lawn tomorrow or perhaps on Saturday, I can’t wait any longer because the grass grow so well in the warmer weather πŸ™‚ No need for a machete though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 5, 2016 at 4:14 pm

  2. jaz

    tell that fox that i have lots of voles in my garden for him! those two look so funny with that one big stick. we are having wonderful cool rainy weather but next week it is back up to the 80’s.

    May 5, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes You should have a fox, they are magnificent vole hunters.

      None of them wanted to give up that stick sp both just chewed on it together πŸ™‚

      We always seems to want opposite weather You and I πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I hope the cool rain stays for longer than predicted πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 5, 2016 at 4:16 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I just sent you another email under separate cover. Our temperature today is just plain stupid. 33 degrees. And its HOT out. Not liking this at all. My niece has to play a football game tonight, I wonder if they will still have it due to the heat? Kids can’t really take the heat. I love the picture of Nova and Sune sharing a stick! πŸ™‚ That’s also Karma’s special thing – to eat whatever she finds on our walks. Yesterday she found someone’s hair net and decided to see how it would taste. I need to wear gloves when walking with her so I can take things out of her mouth. πŸ™‚ Silly pup! I hope your evening went well!

    May 5, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      That is nasty high even during a hot summer πŸ™‚ but I saw the temperatures will drop already today, thankfully πŸ™‚ We’ll reach around 19 today if they are right and that is quite enough for me now πŸ™‚

      Over here they would stop any game at those temperatures. That is just too dangerous, especially since this is early in spring and we haven’t gotten used to any higher heat as it is.

      Here the worst thing they can eat is something rotten and thankfully they usually drop what ever it is when I tell them to, if not I’ll just have to pull it out of their jaws and I never have gloves with me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The evening was quite alright πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 6, 2016 at 7:44 am

  4. Christer,
    It isn’t just the essence of the photos which is different. It is also the landscape. The first pictures are so green while the second look far more desolate. Winter sometimes seems so far away in time then we get one of those cold nights to remind us.

    The fox does look unafraid. I guess because the dogs don’t chase her she figures she can come and go. I love the two dogs with the one branch. They both look so proud.

    It is still raining.

    Have a great evening!

    May 6, 2016 at 12:32 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes the old camera photos were taken when it still was rather warm for being winter bit still nasty cold compared to this weekend πŸ™‚ I was just thinking just that, winter is really never far away πŸ™‚

      Yes this time I think he most of all was annoyed that we arrived just as he found a vole but not afraid like before. I hope I’ll be there when the parents teach their cubs to hunt and if we meet him enough times without anything happening I think he and their mother just will let us watch.

      Sunny morning here and it is slowly turning towards warm after a frost bitten start.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 6, 2016 at 7:48 am

  5. It was so nice to be back and read your post this morning. It’s always like a little cyber vacation from the city! I had to smile at the dogs and their claim to the stick..cute as heck. It’s the little things that make life interesting for dogs. People too I think.
    The birds….there is a lot to be said for the experience of time..even in bird song.
    Southern California has been cloudy but warm lately. I know that hot summer is coming and I am trying to prepare myself for it. I am not fond of hot weather at all.
    You have a great day too, Christer!

    May 6, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      Nice to see You again πŸ™‚

      They don’t need much to enjoy life dogs πŸ™‚ I guess it is the same with at least some humans πŸ™‚

      No rain? I guess I knew tat since it would have been on the news here if You had had lots of it. Now they talk a lot about the forest fires in Canada instead. I guess You’re right about a hot summer in California, they tend to get warmer and warmer it seems. I would be happy if we at least got a warmish summer this year πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 6, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

