I really can’t complain about the weather :-)

A bit chilly when we went out on our morning walk.

A bit chilly when we went out on our morning walk.

We did have frost here in the early morning but things changed pretty fast as soon as the thin see-through clouds that were up in the sky slightly blocking the sun had moved away. I sat in the kitchen and had breakfast as I saw two of my neighbors who had to work today drove away and smiled as I didn’t have to go myself πŸ™‚ The last time I looked at the thermometer we had reached 20C (68F) but it might have been much warmer πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0060 (2)

DSC_0062 (2)

I've just got news about the bull Jesus! He is now living in an organic farm as a breeding bull .

I’ve just got news about the bull Jesus! He is now living in an organic farm as a breeding bull .

DSC_0065 (2)

I had hoped to see the fox this morning too but I couldn’t see it down by the field where it usually is, instead I saw two cranes which isn’t that bad either to be honest. They were very quiet this morning so I didn’t even hear how they flew above my head. Cranes are normally anything but quiet to be honest πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0071 (2)

DSC_0072 (2)

DSC_0075 (2)

DSC_0076

I got even more happy when Sune and Nova scared a squirrel who were looking for food on the ground. I wasn’t glad they scared it but it gave me a chance to see it properly when it climbed up the tree constantly scolding us for disturbing it πŸ™‚ The squirrels here are very shy and it is usually rather hard to find them. I guess they have more enemies here who wants to eat them, like the Marten. Long time since I saw a Marten here so I hope that’s the next animal we’ll see this weekend.

 

DSC_0040 (5)

DSC_0041 (3)

It looks like Mallards are nesting in the swamp behind my garage :-)

It looks like Mallards are nesting in the swamp behind my garage πŸ™‚

DSC_0086 (1)

We could also with lots of luck get a chance to see a wolf since they have seen one several times in the neighborhood, well the next door county to be honest πŸ™‚ They say it is a young male looking for a new place to stay. No one here seems to mind wolves especially much, not even the hunters. My neighbor the farmer just put up more secure fences with extra electricity and wires in it. After all we already have lynx’s here so those new fences needed to be put up anyway.

 

DSC_0028 (5)

DSC_0030 (3)

DSC_0032 (4)

A self sown Trillium.

A self sown Trillium. I still haven’t found the pink one and I do hope no voles have been there eating it!

I went to a garden center too today. I wanted to go to my favorite one but they didn’t sell the variety I needed, both hardy and one that will pollinate my neighbors plum tree. Instead I went to my former competitor to get what I wanted. It is a huge place and they always seems to have what one could want. For once I only bought what I needed but it was close πŸ™‚ I did find some other things I would like but they aren’t hardy enough to be honest so I’ll wait another year or two and hope the climate change will hep me get in to the right zone πŸ™‚

 

The Sloe is in full bloom.

The Sloe is in full bloom.

The daffodills are opening up too. We call them Easter lilies.

The daffodills are opening up too. We call them Easter lilies.

DSC_0024 (5)

DSC_0027 (5)

It is time to make something to eat, grilled sausages I think. I’ll use my electric grill since I’ve never come around to buy a real outdoor one πŸ™‚

 

I think this is a failed variety of a Yellow Wood Anemone.

I think this is a failed variety of a Yellow Wood Anemone.

A blue White Wood Anemone.

A blue White Wood Anemone.

Uvularia grandiflora. We call them Sorrow Clocks.

Uvularia grandiflora. We call them Sorrow Clocks.

DSC_0055 (1)

Have a great day!

 

This is a flower bud on one of my Nanking Cherries. The plant is only two years old!

This is a flower bud on one of my Nanking Cherries (which I sowed myself). The plant is only two years old!

The new plum tree doesn't look much for the world at the moment. The four sticks around it won't be used to support it, it is pee sticks. Orvar killed loads of trees here by peeing on them and Sune carries that tradition proudly :-)

The new plum tree doesn’t look much for the world at the moment. The four sticks around it won’t be used to support it, it is pee sticks. Orvar killed loads of trees here by peeing on them and Sune carries that tradition proudly πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, today’s a better day here. The clouds have left and its decent out. I am so happy to see flower pictures today! πŸ™‚ Flowers make my heart sing! Isn’t it nice to sit and watch everyone else go to work and know that you don’t have to? What a good feeling that is. We have wolves up at our cottage, along with lynx and bobcat. And bears and every other wild creature that is known to us. Bears scare me the most. My girlfriend who lives up by us at the cottage told me the other day there was a dead bear in the ditch – it had been hit and died instantly. But apparently this bear was a giant. I am so glad I never saw it alive, I don’t think I would have reacted nicely. πŸ™‚ I am planning on going to a garden center this weekend – we have a bike/walk/run event tomorrow to raise funds for mental health so that’s where we will be in the morning. The rest of the day will be mine and the temperature will be decent! πŸ™‚ Have a good rest of your day hopefully filled with sunshine and warm temps!

    May 6, 2016 at 4:27 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I am glad that we seldome even get close to have it that warm here πŸ™‚

      Yews I have to admit that I did feel a joy seeing others going to work when I wouldn’t do it myself πŸ™‚

      We rarely have bears here but it is actually not that far away to our nearest wolverines. I was surprised to read that they were this much south. I would love to see one from a safe distance πŸ™‚ What on earth happened to the car/ lorry that hit the bear? Can’t have been much left of it to be honest. I wouldn’t mind bears here either since they tend to flee if one is a bit noisy when walking around, so they say anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a fun time at the fund raising!

      Christer.

      May 7, 2016 at 8:53 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Well, someone has to carry on the tradition, I suppose. Seems that Sune learned from the master. πŸ™‚

    I love the ears on your squirrels. Tall and tufty. Makes them look too cute to be spawns of Satan. But I bet they could be, if given half a chance. Possibly our grey squirrels are just too aggressive because of all the many things that kill them. Hawks, eagles, foxes, coyotes, fisher cats, people, automobiles. The population has had all the shyness bred out of it.

    The uvularia grandiflora reminded me of a flower I used to see a lot in the woods. It’s common name here is bellwort. When I googled, it turned out to be a uvularia, too. They look very much alike.
    The columbine is just starting to bud in my yard. The bad tasting mint has reappeared but it’s being very polite so far. It’s overrun with oxalis, clover, grass, ajuga, and columbine. I’d prefer the columbine to win.

    Finally, after 6 days, the sun has shown it’s shining face through mostly cloudy skies. There are patches of blue and actual shadows. Things are looking up.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 6, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      He sure did and he’s trying his best to kill my Korean spruce. It has grown 4 inches in ten years surviving everything that has hit it but I think this will be the final blow to it πŸ™‚ So I put pee sticks around anything I want to survive now days πŸ™‚

      Squirrels in cities aren’t shy at all and truly spawns of Satan πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but still very fun to watch πŸ™‚ We only have the red one but I know someone brought grey ones to Britain and now those are taking over so the red ones are becoming rare.

      I’ve tried to sow Bellwort too but so far no luck. The one I have doesn’t spread either but slowly grows outwards from its original spot, very slow but still alive πŸ™‚

      No buds on the columbines here yet but the leafs are getting bigger and bigger. I would take the columbine before the others too πŸ™‚ They are allowed to spread as they wish here and so they do, a lot πŸ™‚

      A beautiful morning again here πŸ™‚ I know this won’t last for long so I’ll enjoy it as much as I can now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 7, 2016 at 9:00 am

  3. suz

    happy spring! like dianna, i was so happy to see your flower photos today (and being a farmgirl, i love the calf and lambie photos you send, too). i had never heard of uvularia until this year, but it’s getting a lot of mention on blogs, so i’m going to check more into it. it’s supposed to be a native in ohio, but maybe not as far north in ohio as i live. we finally had a terrific goldilocks day here today (not too warm; not too cold), which was especially welcome after two weeks of damp and chilly, so i got a lot of work done in the yard. and a lot of flowering trees and wildflowers have been in their glory the last couple of days. it’s been a good year for lilacs, and i have seen more/bigger wildflower patches than in other years. i saw many, many trillium today (the white ones that turn to pink), mayapple, and blue and purple woodland phlox. saturday and sunday, i’m off to garden centers in ohio and pennsylvania (i live practically on the state line) to see what’s new. in my own yard, all that’s blooming this week are epimedium and brunnera. and now a question: have you had good luck with the frittilaria (sp?) coming back year after year? i think they’re gorgeous but friends have not had luck with them returning. –suz in ohio/usa

    May 7, 2016 at 12:09 am

    • Hi Suz!

      Moving to the countryside is the best thing I’ve done in my life πŸ™‚ and to have organic farmers as neighbors is certainly a big plus. No poisons are spread and all feral cats that comes to the village are welcome and will find a home in any of the barns around here πŸ™‚

      The Uvularia is my absolute favorite spring flower and I’m so glad it likes it here upo in the north. It is a loved plant here but are very expensive to buy and I am too afraid of splitting mine into more ones, otherwise I would have shared mine.

      We’ve been really lucky this week, warm and sunshine with very little wind, can anyone ask for more? May usually is warm here in Sweden but not this early to be honest.

      I live in a somewhat harsh climate zone here in Southern Sweden so the lilacs still only have tiny buds but I know they flower elsewhere and in the forest it is still only the wood anemones and the lesser celandine that flowers. I rarely buy anything from garden centers any more since we have huge problems with a Spanish slug, it came here with plants and vegatables from spain and has no natural enemies here yet. It is extremely slimy and only very starving animals would eat it. The slug eats everything and some garden owners kill more than 500 a day and still can’t get rid of them. We don’t have it here in my village yet, I know it will come one day but I don’t want to be the one introducing it :-)So mostly I sow all I want.

      Yes my frittilaria’s spread happily in my garden. Only the white one stays where it is and come to think of it I haven’t seen any white this spring?! Must go outside to see if I can find any. My thrives in sandy soil that dries out very fast if it doesn’t rain for a week (which is unusual here).

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 7, 2016 at 9:14 am

  4. Christer,
    I don’t know why I keep checking your pictures. I see all the flowers and the greenery and get quite jealous. I have a flower in the garden near the house where I planted a flower you recommended. It is white, and it spreads. I was so happy to see flowers there this morning. Now I want flowers which boom different times of the summer indo fall.

    Enjoy your good weather!.

    May 7, 2016 at 3:13 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess You need to at least see that there is spring somewhere on this planet πŸ™‚

      It is always a problem managing to have flowers in bloom all the way from early spring to late autumn. I have very few in bloom after midsummer, the rest starts in early autumn here which is much earlier here than where You live πŸ™‚ There is of course always the remountant roses.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 7, 2016 at 9:17 am

Leave a Reply

