Just a tiny bit lost.

Yes the flies are here but so far they only annoy the horses.

Yes the flies are here but so far they “only” annoy the horses.

Sunny and even warmer today and I love it πŸ™‚ The night was warmer than earlier too and I guess that’s what made it easier for the sun to warm up the air this morning. Yesterday we reached at least 20C (68F), I say at least because when the sun hits the thermometer in the afternoon it shows almost tropical temperatures πŸ™‚ Today will be slightly warmer they say. I know this won’t last for long, after al it is just early in May yet but I will enjoy it for as long as it lasts.

 

DSC_0023 (4)

DSC_0024 (6)

DSC_0026 (5)

DSC_0027 (6)

We started walking towards the small lake like always on Saturday mornings. Soon that road will be cut of because it is a part of a big pasture. I could walk there alone since the cows only would be curious on me but they would most likely try to kill us all if I brought the dogs. I had just walked up the ridge when I thought Hell No! So we walked back rather quickly, jumped in to the car and off I drove.

 

We had almost reached my old home when I saw something by the side of the road.

We had almost reached my old home when I saw something by the side of the road.

I stopped the car, thankfully this happened on a place where I could be seen from a far distance, and started tophotograph him.
I stopped the car, thankfully this happened on a place where I could be seen from a far distance, and started to photograph him.

DSC_0035 (4)

He was so busy looking for voles and mice that he really didn't care about me opening the car door.

He was so busy looking for voles and mice that he really didn’t care about me opening the car door.

He was in no hurry when he walked away.

He was in no hurry when he walked away.

I really had no idea where I wanted to go, at first I was thinking of going to our biggest lake VΓ€nern but it is rather far so instead I drove to the place where I lived before moving to this cottage. You’ve seen photos from there before but mostly in autumn and winter I think. The forest is kept like it is a nature reserve even though it isn’t. That means that no trees are cut down and when a tree falls it stays where it has landed. If one is lucky they have at least cut it where the nature trail goes πŸ™‚ Or it can be like this morning, one is forced to walk in the more swampy areas and hope not to sink πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042 (4)

DSC_0044 (4)

DSC_0045 (4)

The old tomb.

DSC_0047 (2)

The forest is very different from here because it is mostly deciduous trees but mixed with some spruces and pines. An even bigger difference is the bird song, it is so strong there that no other sounds can be heard, heavy spruce forests don’t invite that many birds to be honest. Not far from this little forest it’s possible to hear the Nightingale. I’m not sure I would call the song beautiful but it sure is very exotic in this part of the world.Β 

 

White Wood Anemones everywhere here.

White Wood Anemones everywhere here.

DSC_0049 (3)

DSC_0050 (2)

The old fire pond isn't used any longer, now it is filled with frogs and small fish instead :-)

The old fire pond isn’t used any longer, now it is filled with frogs and small fish instead πŸ™‚

After the walk we jumped in to the car again and I thought I should drive the smaller roads back home again. When we came to the village where I work I hoped that the grocery store would be open but I had forgotten how early we were out walking πŸ™‚ So we continued and passed my work place. There is this small road I can drive home on, at least during summer because it is a horror to meat anyone o that road during winter, there’s just no place for two cars to meet, especially if the road is slippery πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0055 (2)

DSC_0056 (2)

DSC_0057 (2)

DSC_0059 (2)

I must have missed the road where I was supposed to drive on because suddenly I was totally lost πŸ™‚ Well, that is a bit of a lie since I knew that I sooner or later would find a road I would know where it led. The only places I would end up at was the big highway, the road to work or the bog on the opposite side from where I live πŸ™‚ The roads are very narrow and winding so even though I saw places that I wanted to photograph I just couldn’t stop.

 

The cherry trees are in bloom there.

The cherry trees are in bloom there.

DSC_0064 (3)

DSC_0066 (3)

Bjertorp castle.

Bjertorp castle.

I decided to stop at the super market if I could find any parking lot in the shadows, after all I don’t want my dogs to die og heat stroke. So I ended up parking on the lots reserved for families with children. I was thinking that not many families would be out grocery shopping that early in the morning anyway πŸ™‚ I rushed in to the supermarket bought what I needed, except for bread which I really need πŸ™‚ and I also bought one soft ice cream for me and two sausages for the dogs πŸ™‚ They always look surprised when one asks for not fried or boiled sausages πŸ™‚ some places always believes one wants them cheaper πŸ™‚ The dogs enjoyed them and I enjoyed the ice cream πŸ™‚

 

TrΓ₯vad church.

TrΓ₯vad church.

DSC_0075 (3)

DSC_0081 (2)

These beehives have been standing there since I lived there, eighteen years ago. I doubt there are any bees in there though.

These beehives have been standing there since I lived there, eighteen years ago. I doubt there are any bees in there though.

I think I’ll have a small nap and after that we’ll take another walk and I do need to start thinking of mowing the lawn too, before it gets too warm.

 

DSC_0085 (2)

DSC_0086 (2)

I wonder if any bird is using it now? It still works to be honest and predators would have problems getting in.

DSC_0087 (2)

On the way homewards again.

On the way homewards again.

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    He looks like a fox on a mission. Although, his expression looks as though he’s a tad annoyed at the paparazzi. πŸ™‚

    How does a bird get into that bird house? I can’t see an opening anywhere.

    Strange food requests can throw the staff off. I used to get Rocky a hamburger at the McDonalds drive-through but I would ask for a plain hamburger with nothing on it not even the bun. Once, when I came around to the pick up window a concerned person asked me if I had someone with allergies. I laughed. No, I have a dog who loves the all beef patties but not the special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions or the sesame seed bun. πŸ˜€

    The cherries are in bloom here too. As are the crab apples. The weather is just as dreary and dank as it has been all week. The sun came out for a couple of hours yesterday. I did manage to go out in it. But it’s gone again and rain showers are all around. Same for tomorrow, I think.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 7, 2016 at 4:44 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I never got the chance to take any photos when he tried to reach a mouse or vole but he sure was on a mission πŸ™‚ I don’t think he cared about me at all to be honest, perhaps he was on his way home to get some sleep after a nighhts hunting πŸ™‚

      That nest has loosened at the top and sort of fallen forward but still in a strange way attached to the tree trunk, so the opening is on the under side now πŸ™‚ Birds can still get in to it though it might be a bit tricky πŸ™‚

      It is fun to see their face when asking for something very unusual πŸ™‚ I don’t think any of my dogs ever would have said no even to anything that would be on a hamburger πŸ™‚ they’ve all been guzzlers πŸ™‚

      Only one cherry flower is open here right now, it is the nanking cherry. Even if all the other cherry trees were in bloom I still wouldn’t get a cherry since it doesn’t work with their pollen. Still, the bush, or should I call it a tree, is only two years old so it’ll get more chances later on. I didn’t understand what big difference it was in climate zones when I moved here, so 90% of what I brought with me died that first winter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Sun here tomorrow again and it will last a few days but it will get colder again I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 7, 2016 at 8:05 pm

  2. suz

    you have such a gift for capturing the “golden light” of the day. sad that those beehives have gone unused, yet look in relatively good shape after so much time. must have been well constructed, from really good wood. –suz in ohio/usa

    May 7, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    • Hi Suz!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I am surprised that they still look that good those beehives. I think that placing them under thick spruces have protected them all these years.

      We sure need more bees around even if it isn’t as bad here as it is in the states. They stopped the neonicotinoides earlier here and they are now fighting the varroa might fiercly. I’m so glad that all farmers around here are organic farmers, the risk of the bees dying is much less.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 8, 2016 at 7:11 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What a great journey you took today amd us along with you! Thank you for that! Its been a long but fun day. We did a 5 km bike/walk/run today to fundraise for mental illness. It was good weatherwise except the wind. Sometimes it was so strong I was sideways! It was a good daybut lots of fresh air and now I am tired! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ great photos today too! Nice to see different parts of your country! See you Sunday!

    May 8, 2016 at 3:05 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I just needed to walk somewhere else for a change πŸ™‚

      The wind really can destroy an otherwise perfect day.
      Yes fresh air does make one really tired. I live in it all the time so I guess city air will make me tired instead πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 8, 2016 at 7:13 am

  4. Christer,
    I love the path with the white flowers on each side of it. That was just so lovely. The dogs must have really enjoyed the sausages. I know Gracie loves the hamburger or hot dog she gets when my friend barbecues. He always cooks and extra for his dog and for Gracie.

    It was late afternoon when I got home, and I was exhausted, My back hurt so I took three Aleve and then took a long afternoon. I am still tired and deposit the nap, I’m going to sleep shortly.

    Fern and Gracie are already sleeping and Maddie just showed up from somewhere. I saw her once this morning when she was eating.

    Still cloudy and grey here and damp chilly in the mid-50’s. I want some sun!!

    Have a great Sunday!

    May 8, 2016 at 4:57 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ll soon have loads of white wood anemones here too now when they have cut down the trees. Many want them in their gardens but to be honest, it isn’t such a good idea because they spread faster than a forest fire πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So naturally I have plenty of them in my garden, both the “normal” ones and varieties.

      It is a shame dogs doesn’t seem to be able to enjoy food, they just gulp it down πŸ™‚ those sausages were gone in seconds and then they wanted my soft ice cream πŸ™‚ I avoid the hotdogs here, I have no idea what they have done with them but now days they are just nasty and smells very odd. Back in the days I loved them but now they mostly scare me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Backpain is truly nasty! I’m reasonable well in my back at the moment but I know it will get worse soon enough. I do hope they can help You at that pain clinic!

      My cats are out all day now, so I only see them when food is to be expected πŸ™‚

      Sunny and really warm here this morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 8, 2016 at 7:19 am

Leave a Reply

