Every second day weather.

Oak leafs grow fast when they finally starts.

Oak leafs grow fast when they finally starts.

Summer is back for a day and will be gone tomorrow. The predictions for the weekend have varied so much that anything can happen. They haven’t predicted snow so I wouldn’t be surprised if that is what we’ll get πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0023 (14)

DSC_0024 (15)

DSC_0025 (14)

DSC_0027 (16)

 

Yesterday I brought a shovel to work and started digging in one of the forgotten gardens that belongs to the factory. I dug up four small hazelnut bushes, well bush is perhaps a bit much to call them yet but they will be one day. Β I did of course ask the factory owner first πŸ™‚ I still haven’t planted them because I don’t know exactly where I want them to grow, after all they will stay there for many years to come. So at the moment they are standing in plastic bags on the north side of my cottage.

DSC_0028 (15)

DSC_0029 (12)

DSC_0030 (13)

DSC_0032 (14)

He told me that on his property there are some trees he can’t identify, not even those working on the university can figure out what they are. It seems that a previous owner had an arboretum with lots of unusual trees. Unfortunately my boss didn’t know that and cut several of them down. Lucky enough some have spread to the forest which he also owns so not all trees are lost. By the way, do anyone of You know about a conifer with short needles that when cut gets bright orange wood? It fades a lot when it dries though. The bark is light in color and smooth.

 

DSC_0033 (13)

Nova doesn't bathe so Nova is hot.

Nova doesn’t bathe so Nova is hot.

DSC_0035 (13)

Paris quadrifolia.

Paris quadrifolia.

I’ll go to his forest one day and take photos of the trees which are unidentified so I can show photos too. I have a few things myself that I can’t identify either because the magpies have taken all the signs πŸ™‚Β 

 

In my garden. Rheum palmatum.

In my garden. Rheum palmatum.

I never remember the name on this one but it is a Ranunculus species.

I never remember the name on this one but it is a Ranunculus species.

All my apple trees are more or less in bloom now.

All my apple trees are more or less in bloom now.

DSC_0052 (7)

It is time to get something to eat and then I’ll watch some tv. I’ll also try and find the mosquito nets so I can have the kitchen door open for a longer time every evening, the mosquitoes are getting plenty now and I have already gotten the first bites.

 

35 meters of flowering lilacs, the first ones smell nice but after thatb it gets too much.

My fan shaped apple tree. It has flowers open but just a few yet.

My fan-shaped apple tree. It has flowers open but just a few yet. Unfortunately most of it is hidden by the Aronia πŸ™‚

DSC_0056 (6)

35 meters of flowering lilacs, the first ones smell nice but after that it gets too much.

DSC_0054 (8)

 

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I don’t know the name of any conifer like that – I have never heard of orange wood! Do you have a picture? Isn’t it just incredible the amount of species of trees there are in the world? Simply amazing! All the trees and flowering trees and bushes are just springing to life here. We have had +20 temperatures each day and that will continue until Monday they say then we get rain and cool down a bit. Which is good – we do need the rain. My cedar trees I planted last year are looking a little dry – I hope I don’t lose them. I bought some fertilizer spikes and I hope that will give them a little boost! Fingers crossed. Poor Nova doesn’t know how good it is to bathe and cool off! I put out the paddling pool for the dogs – Karma loves it and gets a little crazy with it, Tucker just drinks from it but won’t go in. Yet at the cottage when we go to the lake all he does is swim and Karma won’t. Strange!!!! I don’t think a hazelnut bush would be for our Zone – but just think of the hazelnuts you could roast at Yule! That would be lovely! I hope your evening is pleasant!

    May 19, 2016 at 7:00 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      No photo yet but I have promised to take a few on the different trees he has but doesn’t know the names on. Just imagine how mant species of trees there are in the rainforests, what’s left of them anyway.

      Almost all trees have leafs now and some flower too. This is the beat part of the year πŸ™‚

      I thought it had rained a lot here but the ground is dry just beneath the surface, I don’t mind since that kills lots of fly larvae πŸ™‚

      I think Nova rather would die than take a bath πŸ™‚ Sune had a pool of his own but it is broken so I’ll buy another one too him this summer. He both drank the water and bathed in it, I guess taking a bath in it gives the water more flavour πŸ™‚

      I doubt hazelnut bushes would survive in Your climate zone, they barely survive here to be honest πŸ™‚ I have at least one shagbark hickory on the way too and that one needs wamer winters than what we usually have so I hope the climate change will help it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi Christer!! I had to google shagbark hickory – what a GORGEOUS tree!!! It would not survive in my Zone as its deemed for Zones 5-6, we are a 3 (or 2 if you talk to different people). Lovely tree though! The bark reminds me just a wee bit like a Russian Olive. That bark is very ragged too. One of my most favorite trees (in the top 10 for sure) is a Linden. We have several here in the city and their leaves are lovely light green and their shape is perfect! πŸ™‚

        May 20, 2016 at 7:20 pm

      • Hi Dianna!

        The Shagbark is on the border to what it can survive here but I’m counting on the climate change πŸ™‚ If we get just a bit longer growing season it will have a much bigger chanse to make it.
        I have a relative to the Russian olive here, the leafs are wider than the one You mention. It has tiny flowers but they smellheavenly! Spreads like crazy though so I mow all new plants down with the mower πŸ™‚

        Lindens are very popular here too but we have a problem with them, some of the trees kill thousands of bees! We don’t know why because they can’t find anything that can be toxic for bees, still they die anbd just fall down on the ground when they drink the Linden nectar.

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        May 21, 2016 at 9:07 am

  2. Spring smiles her beauty πŸ’•πŸŒΏπŸŒΈ

    May 19, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    • Hi Out and About in Scottsdale AZ and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      She truly does πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 2:58 pm

  3. oh thos blossom photos are amazing,, we are so much behind you!! The wet dog shots also made me smile,, I have certainly had my share of wet dogs lol,
    We have the same up and down weather,, crazy crazy,

    May 19, 2016 at 9:32 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Apple flowers are so beautiful! It isn’t hard to see that they are related to roses πŸ™‚

      I can’t but smile when he jumps down into the clean creek πŸ™‚

      I wish the weather could make up its mind πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 3:00 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Eastern Cedar or Juniperus virginiana has orange wood. I have fir floors in the upstairs rooms of my house and they are also orange. Not a bright orange but cedar orange red, I guess. Most of it has faded from the sun and is tan colored but the back bedroom still has the very orange color.

    The lilac photo made me chuckle because I knew the caption without even reading. πŸ™‚ There’s one in a garden on the next street. A smallish one but old. When the wind is from that direction, I can smell it at my house.

    Today was spring weather here. Low 60’sF and partly cloudy. Pleasant. I was out in the yard with the dogs while I was waiting for the washing machine to stop so I could put the clothes in the dryer. I was chopping vicious roses and they were eating bunny poop. I give up. :/ πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    May 19, 2016 at 10:02 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wonder if that is what he has, he says it has needles like a spruce and I’m not sure I would say that the eastern cedar has that. I better go there and photograph those trees. The wood was also totallyb useless as timber so I guess that disqualifies the cedar πŸ™‚

      Still I felt I was kind when I wrote the text beneath that photo πŸ™‚ I really can’t stand the smell if more than two flowers are open and it is purly disgusting when they start to decay πŸ™‚

      I’m keeping an eye on my vicious roses so tey don’t start to behave like Yours πŸ™‚ The first sign they do and they’ll be gone in a minute πŸ™‚ No bunny poop to eat here but lots of deer poop, it seems to be just as delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 3:06 pm

      • Caryn

        Mine roll in the deer poop. They especially like the stuff down closer to the swampy areas because it’s nice and gooey and sticky. :/

        May 20, 2016 at 6:47 pm

      • Deer poop is justv too Γ₯precious and smells a bit too little, it is hog poop they roll around in here πŸ™‚

        May 21, 2016 at 8:51 am

  5. jaz

    same here. today and tomorrow are hot and then rain and cold for the weekend. it’s fine by me because i am dreading hot weather!

    May 19, 2016 at 10:09 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Fairly warm here and raining. I thought it looked like it was lots of rain but the ground is rather dry just beneath the surface. I wouldn’t mind if it got a bit warmer here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 3:07 pm

  6. Christer,
    Next week is plant week. I’m going to the garden store and pick up some. I’m hoping to find some local plants among the other perennials. There is a giant spot in the front garden where I need to plant a few things. The mulch is waiting in the driveway to be spread in the gardens.

    The weather has been great with days in the 60’s and nights in the 40’s. Rain is due some time this weekend, but the rest of the days will be lovely. I like that it stays light so much longer now.

    My lilacs have now bloomed so spring s really here!

    Have a wonderful evening!

    May 20, 2016 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I actualy bought three anemones online and picked them up today, I think they are called September charm in English (Anemone x hybrida). They must be planted now in spring or they’ll die up here, they need a long time to settle before winter. I hope they’ll make it because they are usually not too happy in sandy soil but that is what I have.

      It’ll get warmer and warmer here they say and today is fairly warm and rainy. Less rainy than it looks though, the ground is still rather dry beneath the surface.

      This year the lilacs haven’t been hit by any fungus so it will look rather magnificent with all the flowers in my hedge, too bad the smell will be nasty strong.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 20, 2016 at 3:13 pm

  7. Nova is such a big girl now. I remember when you first brought her home. πŸ™‚
    I’ve only seen one mosquito and I hope that’s it! Ugh.
    But I bought some marigolds because I read somewhere that they are good for keeping mosquitoes away.
    Also, because I like them and the way they smell. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    That’s nice the the factory owner lets you dig up stuff.
    My sister used to do that, dig up stuff at places that were going to be torn down and such.
    Of course she likes to live dangerously so she never asks anyone.

    May 20, 2016 at 6:46 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      She is actually not bigger now than when she came here πŸ™‚ It is compared to Orvar she was small πŸ™‚ Orvar was as big as Your Blue is so beside him she was tiny, now she’s big because Sune is slightly smaller than her πŸ™‚

      There are several flowers that is said to keep mosquitoes away but that only happens if one has hundreds of those plants πŸ™‚ But if justoe mosquito stays away because of a plant the plant is well worth its money πŸ™‚ I dolike marigolds too but they do attract slugs, just so You now. We are very few wholikes the smell of marigolds, I am one of the few too πŸ™‚ Just keep on picking the dead flowers and they will flower all summer.

      I do work in a great place and th owner is very relaxed and if he can make anyone happy he does. We used to do that when I lived in the big city, it is strictly forbidden but nobody cared πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 21, 2016 at 8:50 am

Leave a Reply

