There’s something special with early summer rain.

We have plenty of crab apple trees here. The bees loves them, both the honey bees and the solitary and bumble bees too.

We have plenty of crab apple trees here. The bees loves them, both the honey bees and the solitary and bumblebees too.

There is something special with early summer rain, it sort of brings out all the smells and scents there is and make the day better even if it is grey and dull. We’ve had that kind of rain today and it was so nice to be out walking after work even if it rained quite a lot in the beginning. The birds loved it because they sang even higher than usual. The sheep however wasn’t happy at all, they just stood there looking on the ground rather miserable πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022 (14)

DSC_0025 (15)

DSC_0026 (15)

DSC_0027 (17)

I had to pick up two packages today and naturally they weren’t shipped to the same place πŸ™‚ One package was to be fetched in FalkΓΆping and I really dread the traffic there on Fridays. It is odd, the town is really small but the traffic is just as bad as it is in our big cities πŸ™‚ I also needed to buy more ink to my printer but that store is of course placed in the other side of the town πŸ™‚ I was however lucky both times with finding a parking space and that is quite an achievement since all parking is free there.

 

DSC_0028 (16)

DSC_0029 (13)

The first SkogsstjΓ€rna (forest star) to open up.

The first SkogsstjΓ€rna (forest star) to open up.

DSC_0033 (14)

I thought it had rained quite a lot today, it looked that way when watching it but I guess the raindrops were small because the ground is just as dry as before just beneath the surface. So I guess I still can hope for a mass death amongst the fly larvae πŸ™‚ Too late for the same when it comes to mosquitos, we have plenty already and several attacked me in the forest today. I get immune towards the itching rather fast thankfully so mosquitos don’t disturb me that much to be hones even though that annoying sound they make tends to drive me slightly mad πŸ™‚

 

The Jays are doing a great job with sowing oaks :-)

The Jays are doing a great job with sowing oaks πŸ™‚

DSC_0040 (13)

Two clematis that flowers in my garden now.

Two clematis that flowers in my garden now.

DSC_0046 (11)

I’ll have at least one Shagbark hickory growing here soon, I saw that one of the nuts now has cracked and a root is looking out πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind if the five or six other nuts do the same even though I only can have one in my garden. Well that is if the climate continues to give us short winters. They really don’t need to be warm but they do need to be short. The Black Walnut is slowly opening up its leafs and it is now almost six years old and perhaps 140cm (56 inches) high πŸ™‚ I feel that I might have a few trees that will grow a bit too high for my garden but at the time they will be that big I’m most likely dead and gone anyway πŸ™‚

 

The rest of the photos today comes from the Ambi Silette.

The rest of the photos today comes from the Ambi Silette.

A19456_002

A19456_003

I have had a few more rolls of film developed and I’ll start shoving those photos today even if I haven’t shown all from the previous time, the last ones from then are not especially good anyway to be honest πŸ™‚ Today You’ll see photos taken with the Agfa Ambi Silette but later on there will be photos from other cameras too.

 

A19456_009A

A19456_011A

A19456_012A

They had to dig shallow ditches to drain a lot of water from this field. They could after a while plow it without getting stuck.

It is time to get something to eat, the animals got their food for oven an hour ago. Nova is a bit picky with what she eats so now I’ll try another kind and if she likes it we’ll continue with that one. Today she of course ate it with joy but that was only because it was something new πŸ™‚

 

A19456_004

A19456_008A

A19456_013A

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. I like rain, sometimes even a good storm, but since I’m on vacation I’m glad we haven’t gotten any.
    I go back to work Monday and Tuesday it’s supposed to start raining.
    πŸ˜‰
    I bought a purple clematis last year and I have beautiful flowers now! I’m so HAPPY!
    I switched the dogs food to puppy food in an effort to fatten some of them up
    (but of course Blue is on his special expensive food)
    The puppy food must be very tasty as there have been little fights over it.
    πŸ™‚

    May 20, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I don’t mind rain after a long draught but that rarely happens here, it raines so much. Summer is our rainiest time of year so any day with sunshine is a good day here and a rainy is a bad one πŸ™‚

      I do like clematises but we have an insect that eats all leafs on the small flowered ones, so quite often I have lots of flowers but no leafs πŸ™‚

      No problem with too skinny dogs here πŸ™‚ I think it is the fat they acdtually like in puppy food and that’s what laks in the adult food πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 21, 2016 at 8:45 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    If I were a sheep with all that wool on me, I wouldn’t much like getting damp either.

    You reminded me that I found a pile of acorns all starting to erupt with thick tap roots. I was going to go back and photograph them but I forgot. I tried to pick one or two up but they are firmly attached to the ground. Still have the acorns on and no sprouts yet.

    If your black walnut continues to thrive, you might be surprised at how quickly it gets tall. They’re like teenage boys. They’re the same height for a long time then all of a sudden there’s a massive growth spurt and they’re towering over you. All the extra ones I have in my yard were total surprises. Growing quietly in the bushes, unnoticed by all until that one spring morning I look up and the thing is 15 feet tall and I’m wondering where the heck it came from. πŸ™‚

    Today is partly sunny with big puffy clouds. It’s 69ΒΊF and quite pleasant outside.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 20, 2016 at 7:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is a good thing the rain is cool though, just imagine how they would look if all that fur shrunk in the rain πŸ™‚

      The acorns stays all summer, at least they did so on the Red oaks acorns I planted here. I think one of the two has died, most likely it was toodry where one of them grew.

      It takes around 70-100 years for a tree to be full grown here (at least it did before we started to notice the climate change this well) so it might take longer for that to happen here but I have hopes that You’re right πŸ™‚ I haven’t noticed that it kills any plants with its poison though, it looks like everything thrives by grwoing close to it πŸ™‚

      Thick clouds here but every now and again a few seconds with sunlight shines through πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 21, 2016 at 8:59 am

      • Caryn

        Black walnut is toxic to things that grow within its drip line. Here’s a link to a web article about black walnut toxicity. It has a list of things that are very sensitive and an even longer list of things that do well. You’ll be interested to note that lilacs are on the sensitive list. The lilacs that used to be in my yard were far away from the black walnuts. The bridal bush and hydrangeas did very well underneath them, though.
        http://www.mortonarb.org/trees-plants/tree-and-plant-advice/horticulture-care/plants-tolerant-black-walnut-toxicity

        May 21, 2016 at 9:58 pm

      • I have two huge Hungarian lilacs growing close to it so I’m hoping those two are very sensitive too πŸ™‚ So far it seems most of what is growing in my garden loves it though πŸ™‚
        I saved that page so I can check every time I get a new plant. Thanks!

        May 22, 2016 at 11:06 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy Friday!! I hope the rain comes harder overnight and then you can wake up to a nice sunny Saturday. With no bugs! πŸ™‚ We are going to have a nice long weekend except for Monday when they are threatening rain and perhaps some storms. I am okay with that. A few years ago we had snow, and alot of it so I will welcome the rain. But only for 1 day! πŸ™‚ Don’t you just dislike having to drive all over the city for things? I like to get everything in one stop if I can and if not, I get irritated. This city gets crazy with traffic starting around 3 p.m. and by 430 or so its just ridiculous. I am glad I work until 3 p.m. and get all my stuff done and dusted and am home before the stupid traffic starts. πŸ™‚ The picture of the forest star just melted my heart – how incredibly beautiful!!! πŸ™‚ I hope your evening is lovely!

    May 20, 2016 at 7:16 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do hope that won’t happen, I don’t want any rain at all πŸ™‚ It only helps the mosquitoes and the fly larvave to survive πŸ™‚ Cloudy today but the sun shines through every now and again for a few seconds.

      Yes I want everything I need to do to be close to each other! but I started with the place furthest away from my home and drove homewards so it didn’t take too long thankfully. FalkΓΆping is really small so I always get surprised when I get caught in that traffic πŸ™‚ It really shouldn’t be that bad!

      It is a beautiful little flower and it has gained a lot from the forest being cut down.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 21, 2016 at 9:03 am

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love all your flowers. They make me jealous. I have some white ones blooming, but, of course, I have no idea what they are. You suggested them, and they are beautiful. The best part is they spread themselves. I’m going to move some to the front garden.

    The weather has been so lovely this week. They say the weekend will be the same. We didn’t get the predicted rain, and we need it desperately.

    I hope yours is a great weekend!

    May 21, 2016 at 2:01 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like my flowers and usuallu I just leave them alone, meaning not weeding especially much and they seem to like it πŸ™‚ I always let them stay where they pop up since they like it there and I have lots of what people call weeds in my flower beds, they are usually incredible beautiful.

      Very cloudy but warm today and a high humidity. I must have radiators on to keep the humidity out of my cottage. We did get some rain during the night but not a lot thankfully.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 21, 2016 at 9:13 am

Leave a Reply

