The ticks are thriving.

 DSC_0021 (16)

High humidity, cloudy sky and warmish isn’t that nice to be walking in to be honest, it is the high humidity that sort of dampens the joy of being out walking. The weak wind there is doesn’t help much but the humidity has already sunken quite dramatically so it does feel better when sitting here in the kitchen with the door open. The clouds are thick but every now and again there’s a tiny rip in them allowing the sunshine to hit the ground for a few seconds at a time.

 

DSC_0022 (15)

DSC_0024 (17)

A bit hazy here this morning.

A bit hazy here this morning.

DSC_0029 (14)

No rain is predicted for today so the grass might get a chance to dry up and I a chance to mow it. They predict some sunshine for tomorrow though so I guess I’ll get the chance then if I can’t do it today. To be honest, the predictions change just as much as always so it might end up with a hurricane instead 🙂 I won’t complain too much as long as we don’t get frosty nights, I’ve started to bring plants outside for the summer so frosty nights are a no-no from now on.

 

DSC_0030 (15)

DSC_0031 (13)

Lots of wild flwers in bloom now, like the Forgetmenot.

Lots of wild flowers in bloom now, like the forget-me-not.

DSC_0039 (15)

A lot of white ones too. I have them in my garden too plus the pink one.

A lot of white ones too. I have them in my garden too plus the pink one.

We walked in some high and wet grass this morning and that is tick paradise. I picked over twenty crawling ticks from both dogs and a few that already was sitting there drinking blood. Nast creatures and they aren’t even especially popular amongst animals as food. Most birds avoid them so it seems they are here on this planet top spread diseases and death. I guess that’s important for nature too, there would be too many animals around otherwise but I still can’t pretend to think ticks are something we really need 🙂

 

DSC_0046 (12)

We walked to the little lake for the last time this season. Too much stinging nettles grwoing there now.

We walked to the little lake for the last time this season. Too much stinging nettles growing there now.

DSC_0057 (6)

The Lily of the Valley flowers too now.

The Lily of the Valley flowers too now.

The worlds biggest half marathon takes place today in my old home town.  64 000 people have signed up to participate! I did it once and that was quite enough for me 🙂 They have a good weather to run that far today, not too hot or too cold. There is always some people who do this that really shouldn’t and heart attacks aren’t uncommon amongst them. Even worse are damaged knees or other joints though. The Beekeeper usually run but I did see his car here this morning so perhaps he doesn’t this year.

 

Here are eight photos taken with the Hasselblad camera. The river Lidan in the village Tråvad.

Here are eight photos taken with the Hasselblad camera. The river Lidan in the village Tråvad.

A19460_016

A19460_013

Canadian geese are always nesting there and they can be rather nasty if one comes too close :-)

Canadian geese are always nesting there and they can be rather nasty if one comes too close 🙂

It is time for a pot of tea before I do anything else today. Sune  is sleeping on the kitchen stairs, there’s some sunlight hitting it at the moment and Nova does the same in the living room, I would like to do the same but I know I’ll sleep for too long so I think I’ll skip it 🙂

 

A19459_005

A19459_006

A19459_007

A19459_008

 

Have a great day!

2 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    What a lovely cat. Interesting coat patterns.

    After all the rain we had here last week, I was sure there would be ticks but there were none on either of the dogs. Piki Dog has ghost freckles in his fur. Those are small black spots of fur underneath the longer white hairs. I have to check them all to make sure they’re not ticks because they sure do look like ticks. Rocky is no easier. He has black skin over most of his body and he has fur whorls in a few places which are also places where ticks would be found. Every whorl has a little black spot in the center and I always think it’s a tick. But no. It’s his skin.

    The sun has disappeared today. It’s dull grey with a pleasant temperature and very light breezes. It’s supposed to rain tonight. Or tomorrow. Maybe. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    May 21, 2016 at 10:24 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think it is one of all feral cats who live in the farmers barns here. It is beautiful and I guess we’ll see plenty of cats looking like that in the future 🙂

      I picked a few today after our walk but since the grass was rather dry it was less of them thankfully. A truly nasty animal! It sure can’t help looking for them when the skin is like on Your dogs 🙂 Nova is easy to see ticks on since she has short fur and white skin. Sune however has an impossible fur, soft and rather long and even if I can feel a tick it still is almost impossible to push the fur asaid so I can get it 🙂

      Greyish here but the clouds are thin so the sun shines through most of the time, rather warm too and I did ther mistake to wear a fleece jacket on our morning walk, I sweated like a pig 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 22, 2016 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

