It’ll be hot!

The Chinese rhubarb (R. palmatum) is about to flower now. This is not a rhubarb to be eaten, unless You want to be poisoned :-)

The Chinese rhubarb (R. palmatum) is about to flower now. This is not a rhubarb to be eaten, unless You want to be poisoned πŸ™‚

I must admit that I never thought this day would be as nice as it has and still is. Not much sunshine but warm and a just enough cool wind to make it even more pleasant. The morning was warm enough but the humidity made me sweat like a pig, I was stupid enough to wear a fleece jacket, it is so worn that it gives very little warmth to be honest but it still was too much.

 

DSC_0022 (16)

DSC_0023 (17)

DSC_0024 (18)

DSC_0025 (17)

I did the laundry and everything dried within an hour. It’s almost a pity I didn’t have more when we have this weather πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I put the potatoes in the vegetable garden while the laundry was drying and noticed that the sand closest to the flowerbed beside was bone dry, no wonder my rhubarbs grow so bad there. So I watered the vegetable garden and also those flowerbeds where I sowed annuals this early spring. Lots of them are showing already so a bit more water doesn’t hurt.

 

DSC_0026 (17)

DSC_0030 (16)

It is so fun to play in the high grass. After that I need to go through their fur for quite some time to find all the ticks before they bite.

It is so fun to play in the high grass. After that I need to go through their fur for quite some time to find all the ticks before they bite.

DSC_0032 (17)

I’ll bring out all my tree tomatoes (Tamarillo) and Naranjilla plants too today, tomorrow might become one of the warmest days ever in May, they predict that it’ll be 27C (80,6F) here! ( the record is actually 32,5C (90,5F set in 1892) That is a temperature we rarely reach during hot summers here πŸ™‚ It’ll be a joy to work in the factory beside the huge oven and washing machine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The combination of nasty high humidity and temperature is nothing I look forward too.

 

DSC_0033 (15)

DSC_0034 (13)

DSC_0035 (15)

DSC_0036 (14)

I saw that my tomato plants have tiny tomatoes growing on them now πŸ™‚ I still have those plants in too small pots but I don’t have enough soil at home to replant them, I better remember that tomorrow on my way home from work. I must also remember to buy sticky fly papers, yes it is the season of those little beauties πŸ™‚ The forest flies are already here to annoy me but still not that many that I feel the need to bring my mosquito hat. Lots of butterflies, bumblebees and the first big dragonfly or as we call them Troll Spindles. No hornets yet though, I do like those friendly giants.

 

Four photographs from the Ambi Silette.

Four photographs from the Ambi Silette.

A19456_014A

A19456_016A

A19456_017A

I doubt that I’ll write anything tomorrow if it gets as hot as they predict, my brain will be fried and I’ll most likely be dehydrated no matter how much water I drink at work tomorrow. It’ll cool down a degree or so by Tuesday though so if You don’t see anything here tomorrow You’ll most likely find something on Tuesday.

 

Four photographs from the Zeiss. I do like this first one just because it looks like it was taken during the 1950's :-)

Four photographs from the Zeiss. I do like this first one just because it looks like it was taken during the 1950’s πŸ™‚ and I see now that it also is very blurry πŸ™‚

A19458_012

A19458_005

A19458_006

It is time to make a big pot of tea and after that I’ll start to bring out all the plants, it’ll be empty in my windows tonight πŸ™‚

 

The four last ones are taken with the Hasselblad.

The four last ones are taken with the Hasselblad.

A19459_011

A19459_012

A19459_013

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    troll spindle season!!! it has been pouring here all day. now i hear thunder off in the distance! i love this weather!

    May 22, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Hot as hell here today and thunder not far away. It looks however as it will pass east of us on its way north. I did get a few drops in my face but that is all we’ve gotten when it comes to rain πŸ™‚ They say it’ll just as warm tomorrow but Wednesday will be rather cold. I wouldn’t mind if we were some where in the middle πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 23, 2016 at 5:54 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Love the photo of the calf lying down with the dandelions. πŸ™‚

    I thought I saw a troll spindle today which would be really early to see them in my yard but it turned out to be a wasp. Wasps don’t look a lot like troll spindles you might say but we have some troll spindles that are very stubby bodied. The wasp looked like that to me until I saw its dangling legs.

    I hope the temperature in the paint box was not too bad for you today.

    Enjoy the evening.

    May 24, 2016 at 12:43 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have one short stubby too but its colors are a bit wrong to be mistaken for a wasp. Not at all as nice to see a wasp to be honest πŸ™‚

      It was pretty nasty yesterday and not much better today. I guess tomorrow will be awful too, it takes a day or two for the heat to lower when it gets colder outside.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 24, 2016 at 4:51 pm

  3. Christer, is Bertil alright? I’ve missed some of your posts so I should go back and look for him. Been a lazy blogger lately and it does not seem to be getting any better. It’s getting warmer and warmer here too..but so far the weather has been just perfect…NO rain though and that’s not good with summer quickly coming at us.
    Take good care, Crister… πŸ™‚

    May 24, 2016 at 4:09 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes he is but he has stayed at home a lot since Orvar died. He miss that big old dog more than anyone of us I think.

      It is thankfully cooler here, thunder has arrived and it is soooo nice with this cooler air πŸ™‚ Not much rain here either but we still have enough to share πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 24, 2016 at 4:53 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Just catching up after my weekend at the cottage. Sounds like our weather and yours is similar! We had blistering hot temps on Sunday, then a nice thunderstorm overnight to Monday and yesterday saw rain in the morning then cleared up to make it sticky hot again. The mosquitoes were out in full force up at the cottage – makes for an unpleasant anything. I hate those things, so annoying!!! Back to work today and its cloudy. We might get more storms, but they really aren’t sure. πŸ™‚ Love the picture of the branch close up. Such clear quality!!! I hope your day goes well enough!

    May 24, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was nasty hot yesterday and today started out the same but thunder has arrived so it is much cooler now. Not much rain though but we have enough to last all year out I think πŸ™‚

      Lots of mosquitos here too and the first bites are always so itching but after that I get immune to it. So I’m not sure if I should long for more bites so the itching stops πŸ™‚ The horse flies are worse, the bite hurts and it continues to itch no matter how many times I’ve been bitten πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 24, 2016 at 4:56 pm

  5. No nasty hot weather here yet, Christer, but that will change for u soon enough when we return to the VA house in early June. Unfortunately, it has not sold yet and we will be returning to check on the yard and do some cleanup inside and outside. We do have someone tending to the lawn trimming, but there is nothing quite like taking care of your own home and yard. We will also meet with our current realtor to see if he has any suggestions on how to get more interest in the house. There have been showings, but no one interested enough to make an offer to buy 😦
    And, it is also tick season here in NH and VA as well.

    May 25, 2016 at 12:56 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It has thankfully cooled down considerable here, perhaps even a bit too much but it’ll get warmer again tomorrow.

      I do hope someone buys Your beautiful house! I guess it all depends on if there are jobs nearby or not. Here houses are rather cheap because it is so far to the closest bus stop and the bus doesn’t go often either and it is also far to the closest grocery store. So without a car it takes half the day just to go shopping. It takes 45 minutes to go to the bust stop if I walk fast πŸ™‚

      Ticks! The nastiest animal there is, at least up here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 25, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

