I liked the start of the day anyway.

It was already less thick when we got out, I couldn't see this road at all when O woke up :-)

It was already less thick when we got out, I couldn’t see this road at all when I woke up 🙂

Yesterday was a horrible day at work, I don’t know how it was outside though. It might have been rather wonderful since the day was so warm but it was also mostly cloudy they said. I had the big luck to hand paint all day so the already hot factory was even for me since the air from the oven hit me all day. I don’t know how much water I drank but it was too little. The big problem is that what goes in must go out too 🙂

 

DSC_0037 (17)

DSC_0038 (14)

DSC_0040 (15)

DSC_0041 (13)

I woke up to a very foggy morning today, it was so thick that I couldn’t see my neighbors cottage and it is just 20 meters (much the same in yards) away 🙂 I hurried out with the dogs because as soon as the sun started to warm up the already warm air the fog thinned. We were able to enjoy it all through our walk though. It doesn’t happen often but today even the forest were  full of fog.

 

DSC_0042 (13)

DSC_0043 (11)

DSC_0044 (15)

DSC_0045 (12)

I went home a bit early today because thunder arrived and the lights were blinking at work. It hit somewhere in the village where I work and was moving eastwards so I figured it would arrive here at home before me if I stayed until my working day ended. It hasn’t arrived yet because it moved very slowly. I have heard it in the distance and the site Real Time Lightning Map (click on the red text and a new window showing the site will pop up, it works all over the world) shows that the thunder is just north of where I live.

 

DSC_0046 (13)

DSC_0047 (11)

DSC_0049 (12)

DSC_0050 (10)

I better stop here just in case it turns south, I can feel how it is getting colder by the minute now so I guess it is 🙂

 

 

DSC_0052 (9)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0053 (8)

DSC_0054 (10)

DSC_0055 (7)

Have a great day!

 

This little one was born just outside my kitchen yesterday morning.

This little one was born just outside my kitchen yesterday morning.

DSC_0034 (14)

It was a bit akward to walk the first time :-)

It was a bit awkward to walk the first time 🙂

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    How cool to have a newborn calf drop in right outside the kitchen door. They do look odd the first few steps but they get the hang of it pretty quickly.

    That was a foggy morning. Driving must have been interesting.

    Here it is drizzly, cool and overcast. It thundered last night but it must have been a couple of miles away. I saw a flash of light and had enough time to look around the room wondering where it came from and then look out the window to see if the neighbors were doing something weird. Then I heard the thunder. There were a few more like that but it stopped. It’s rained a few times too. Tomorrow is supposed to be in the high 80’sF. I’m not ready for summer heat.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 24, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is the second one to be born just so I could see it 🙂

      The fog thinned out rather rapidly as soon as the sun started to heat it up, so by the time I drove to work most of it was gone, I do like fog but not when I’m driving 🙂

      So far ther closest the thunder came was a hit in the bog but it isn’t over yet so it can still come a lightning or two I guess. The rain is pouring down sometimes and more like drizzle other times. We really don’t need rain so I hope drizzling is what it will be during the night 🙂 Cool here tomorrow and after that it’ll slkowly start rising again. I’m starting to doubt that we’ll get more frsoty nights from now on 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 24, 2016 at 7:43 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Your photos today are amazing! So surreal. I love the one with Nova heading down the path. Those trees add something really lovely to the shots! So tall and in the fog they give such a sentinel feel. Its a beautiful place where you live! I hope the storms weren’t too bad and that you kept your power. Nothing worse than when the power goes out and its night time. Its was cool and cloudy this morning, but now the sun is out and it will likely heat up for the afternoon. I have to do groceries after work so that takes me about 2 hours. Long time to shop in a massive store! I wish I had the luxury of getting things here and there when I need them but that just doesn’t seem to work in my favor. So biweekly I sacrifice 2 hours of precious time for the sake of eating! 🙂 Have a good evening!!!

    May 24, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like that photo too. I brought the Hasselblad too but it’ll take some time before that film is developed, I still have a few photos to take on that roll.

      The closest the thunder has come so far is a hit in the bog. It isn’t over yet so it can come closer but it doesn’t sound like it. We get power from to different places so we rarely lose power and if it happens during night I won’t notice it :-)The days are already rather long here now. Tomorrow will be cool or even cold but after that it’ll slowly start to get warmer again.

      Thankfully the grocerystore in the village I work have almost everything so I rarely have to do more than to get in and then out within minutes to get all I need. Doesn’t matter how many customers there are, they are alsway really fast!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 24, 2016 at 7:49 pm

  3. jaz

    what a cute little calf! and what beautiful photos! we have been having lots of fog but now it is so hot that we won’t get anymore. it will be in the 90’s here for the next week. unreal!

    May 25, 2016 at 12:37 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      The only problem is that all calves born this year has that white head, I can see any difference at all 🙂

      I was surprised to see the fog especially since it was so thick. Normally we can have morning fog very early summer mornings since nights are so cool here but it vanish as soon as the sun rises.

      I’m so glad that it has cooled down here again 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 25, 2016 at 6:41 pm

  4. Hi Christer, how lucky for you to have a brand new little neighbor in that calf and to watch it take it’s first halting steps as well. Animals are so much faster at walking than we humans 🙂 The sun breaking through the fog in the treetops was my favorite in this group of photos. We had a rainy morning, but no fog.

    May 25, 2016 at 12:51 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      There are at least seven calves in that pasture now 🙂 and I’ve seen two of them being born 🙂 The lambs however aren’t allowed outside until they are a few days old, they are so much more sensitive. Yes they sure are 🙂

      Fog does make photography so easy 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 25, 2016 at 6:45 pm

  5. Christer,
    The fog pictures are spectacular. I love the road filled with fog, but my favorite is the one with the sun shining through the trees. I’m envious that you have all this fog as I haven’t seen any in a long while.

    It is so strange to hear you complaining about the heat so early in the spring. Usually you’re the one with a late and short summer. We haven’t had many warm days, but they are coming. We will be in the 70’s but the rest of the state will be in the 80’s.

    Have a good day!

    May 25, 2016 at 2:51 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Fog makes photography so easy 🙂 I was surprised to see such thick fog, normally it’s much less so and evaporates as soon as the sun hits the horizon.

      I can’t remember when it was this warm here this early! Today arctic air flew down and cooled down the air to 50F but it will start to get a bit warmer already tomorrow. I saw that many flowers are very early too now, they shouldn’t flower until mid June 🙂 Still not too many flies but we have plenty of mosquitos instead 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 25, 2016 at 6:53 pm

  6. Vad mysigt att få se en kalv födas utanför fönstret! 🙂 Det enda vi sett här är en säl som låg på stranden en vårvinter och precis skulle föda, men vi gick snabbt därifrån så den inte skulle bli oroad.
    Vilka underbara dimmiga bilder du tagit. Skulle gärna sett att det kom lite dimma och fukt hit – och att det blev lite svalare. Jag trodde inte man skulle önska sämre väder men….. 😦 Vi har så enormt torrt att lite vatten gärna får falla i natt som SMHI lovat. Men det blir väl som vanligt ingenting! 😦 😦
    Mitt nya fina växthus är på plats – och inrett – och igår var det max 55 grader och min 18! 🙂 Alltså “lite” väl varmt! Men än har jag inte fått upp eller har tillgång till någon skuggväv, men det kommer det med!! 🙂 🙂
    Har haft min kusin som gäst dom sista fyra dagarna och då hinner man inte med mer än att vattna och att placera ut lite växter. Det senare för att
    också hon tycker det är kul! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    May 25, 2016 at 11:15 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag gör som ni, undviker att stanna om det är vilda djur som föder.

      Dimma gör fotograferandet så lätt 🙂 Det går liksom inte att misslyckas 🙂
      Vi fick en hel del regn men det märks inte i bäckarna här. Hoppas att det betyder att det varit för torrt för fluglarverna att utvecklas 🙂

      Ja 55 var väl i högsta laget 🙂 Jag målade ju det lilla privata växthuset i Tråvad med vit växthusfärg, kanske inte vackert men så effektivt!

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      May 25, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

