Guess if I got surprised!

DSC_0020 (20)

Summer has returned for an afternoon but that was something I really couldn’t believe this morning when I went ou to the cat to get something I had forgotten. There was ice all over the car! I had just woken up and was so tired that I didn’t go inside again to bring the camera πŸ™‚ It was -2C (28,4F) as coldest this morning. I have to admit it surprised me quite a lot πŸ™‚

 

This is how it looks by my gate. Not especially fun to walk through there after rain has fallen :-) I'll start cutting it down as soon as it doesn't flower.

This is how it looks by my gate. Not especially fun to walk through there after rain has fallen πŸ™‚ I’ll start cutting it down as soon as it doesn’t flower.

DSC_0023 (19)

DSC_0027 (21)

DSC_0028 (19)

Hundkex, or dog bisquits in English. A bit early this year. To be honest it might just as well be wild carrots or something else very similar but I call all of them hundkex πŸ™‚

It must have been during a very short time though because my tomato plants looks just as good as they did before. None of the weather sites had predicted this or even come anywhere near that low temperature, they all predicted 8C (46,4F). I wonder if I could have forced them to get me new tomato plants if they had died πŸ™‚ No idea to sue anything in this country, if one would win the best one can hope for is a “Good for You” and a tap on the shoulder. If one lose however one must pay the winners legal fees and all the rest.

 

DSC_0031 (16)

DSC_0032 (19)

The Rowan's flowers doesn't smell especially nice if one comes close but from a distance they smell fantastic.

The Rowan’s flowers doesn’t smell especially nice if one comes close but from a distance they smell fantastic.

DSC_0037 (18)

Lots of flowers that really shouldn’t flower yet flowers out there in the nature. It is odd to see all the flowers in bloom that shouldn’t flower at the same time πŸ™‚ It isn’t that strange to be honest, spring sprung already in early March here, can’t remember if that ever has happened here during my lifetime.

 

If You find lilacs in the middle of a forest there once must have been a cottage there.

If You find lilacs in the middle of a forest there once must have been a cottage there.

DSC_0044 (16)

This and the rest of the ophotos are taken with the Hasselblad camera.

This and the rest of the ophotos are taken with the Hasselblad camera.

A19460_002

It is time to make something to eat and I’ll take the risk of having a cup of tea too. I’ll keep the kitchen door open for a while longer, the dogs loves to run in and out chasing each other πŸ™‚

 

A19460_003

A19460_004

Bjertorp Castle.

Bjertorp Castle.

A19460_007

 

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What a surprise indeed! That’s mighty chilly for the end of May but not surprising for us. We have been cold like that in years past, but not this year. We are currently under about 4 solid days of rain – most of which I think fell from 7:00 p.m. last night to 7:10 p.m. It came down so hard and fast that I worried about things flooding and breaking. Luckily I didn’t hear of anything like that today. I just love lilacs! We have 1 lilac tree that has such a beautiful scent – except this year. It seems that the smell is off for some reason unless its just me. Which could very well be. I purchased all my flowers for all my pots last night – hopefully I have gotten enough. My usual thing is to get too much and wind up giving some away. Ah well, that’s okay too! πŸ™‚ I have a retirement function tonight for work so it will be a long day! I hope your evening is pleasant!

    May 26, 2016 at 7:00 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Normal years we usually have our last frost night the first week in June but this year has been so warm that I didn’t think we would get any more frost, especially since all weather sites had predicted around 8C all night πŸ™‚

      Our weather varies a lot, today is chilly and cloudy even though the sun has shined through the clouds where they have been as thinnest.They had showers like that further north in this country and naturally they had floodings too just because of that. It si actually more dry now after the rains here πŸ™‚

      I really can’t stand lilacs! I have around 35 meters of lilac hedge and even more in my garden and the stenche is awful when all flowers are open and it is even worse when they start to decay. My biggest ones are as high as my cottage πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2016 at 2:00 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Well, that was a nasty surprise for sure. Good that your tomatoes survived. You would think tomatoes should be used to cold nights since they come from the Andes. Guess not. πŸ™‚

    Things flowering all together that shouldn’t be flowering all together is pretty much what we have nowadays. Thank you climate change.

    I had a snake in my front yard yesterday. It’s been at least 12 years since I last saw a snake in my yard. My old dog Tegan killed that one. Piki Dog almost got this one but it slipped under the front porch pretty fast. It was a garter snake which means there must be frogs, toads and tadpoles around for it to eat which means there’s standing water in the back swamp deep enough to support frogs, toads and tadpoles. And mosquitoes. Oh well.

    I never knew rowan flowers smelled bad up close. There’s one around the corner from me but I don’t remember it smelling bad when I walked by it. Of course, that one might be a mountain ash and not a rowan.

    Enjoy the evening and I hope there is no ice on the car tomorrow morning. πŸ™‚

    May 26, 2016 at 10:01 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they really should manage cold nights but I guess they are very different now days than the wild ones. It is a strange mix of flowers now πŸ™‚ It is easy to see which ones react mostly to the light and which react mostly to the temperature πŸ™‚
      I’ve lived here for sixteen years now and never seen a snake. One did bite Old Erna though so I know they are out there and my neighbors saw one two years ago πŸ™‚ We have so many riodents here so there should be plenty of snakes. We only have one poisonous one and the two others (three now days) are harmless. I think it is the Garter snake that now have esteblished itself here, they are so many that it is impossible to get rid of them now they say. Too bad it doesn’t eat mosquitos πŸ™‚

      The rRowan has a stale but strong smell if one is close but it is quite nice from a distance, just like our bird cherries. They usually smell like cat pee if one is close but really nice from a distance πŸ™‚

      No ice this morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

  3. Christer,
    I couldn’t buy basil because if there were a frost, it would die. The farm store is keeping theirs in the greenhouse. After the 31st everything can be planted as that is the last day to expect frost. I would have been shocked to see frost. My sister got hail. By the time it finished, the yard looked as if snow had fallen. The middle of the country is getting tornadoes. Today in Boston it was 89˚. This is crazy weather all over the country.

    That lilac tree is so tall. I like that even though the house is gone, it lives on in that bush. I have small lilac trees in the front. They are in bloom right now.

    I wish you warmer weather! Have a great evening!!

    May 26, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Basil is never grown outdoors here since they tend to die from our cool nights, so if one have them outside some kind of glass over them is to prefer. Wee need to wait until June 7th to be sure of no fmore frost nights. At least I can say I have it better than Your sister πŸ™‚ She really have a hard climate compared to us πŸ™‚

      Still that lilac is much smaller than the ones I have in my garden πŸ™‚

      Much warmer night so no ice on the car today πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2016 at 2:11 pm

  4. jaz

    it will be a long time before we see anything close to those temps! not only is it horribly hot, it is humid too. i would say that your rules must cause people to not sue often. we should handle it the same way. people sue here so easily!

    May 27, 2016 at 2:17 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      7th of June is the last day with risk of frost night here so I really shouldn’t have been surprised but it has been so warm lately that I had forgotten how our reality is πŸ™‚ Chilly here today but it will start to get warmer again from tomorrow.

      Yes they do cool us down when it comnes to suing anyone. We often laught over the resasons people sue each other in the US πŸ™‚ That will never happen here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

