I need more space for my trees :-)

This calf used the last rays from the sun to enjoy the evening to the fullest yesterday.

This calf used the last rays from the sun to enjoy the evening to the fullest yesterday.

It was quite pleasant outside this morning, around  8C (46,4F) and the birds sang as loud as they could. What is quite pleasant in the morning isn’t necessarily pleasant in the afternoon, it wasn’t much warmer when I came home from work. The clouds cover the sky but they are so thin here and there that the sun can shine through them every now and again. When it does wearing a fleece jacket is too much.

 

DSC_0022 (19)

DSC_0023 (20)

DSC_0024 (21)

DSC_0025 (20)

It is even more dry in the ground now after the thunder showers than it was before. So there isn’t especially many flies in the forest right now but down by the creek it was on the way to become nasty, they always want to look how my ears and nostrils look from inside and I really don’t like that 🙂 The good thing was that they refused to leave that area so as soon as we walked away from the creek we were fly free.

 

DSC_0026 (20)

DSC_0028 (20)

DSC_0029 (18)

DSC_0030 (18)

I thought I would grow melons this year so I bought the hardiest kind I could find. We call it Mango melon but I found the English name Vine peach. The instructions say to prune them heavily otherwise they will take over totally. On the net I found that they will taste best if one preserve them in syrup, they don’t taste a lot raw but then again can be used as a sweet cucumber instead 🙂 I sowed a lot of seeds just to be sure I would at least get one plant, I now have at least ten growing in my kitchen window and more seeds are germinating 🙂

 

DSC_0033 (18)

DSC_0036 (17)

DSC_0037 (19)

DSC_0038 (16)

I still haven’t figured out where I’ll plant my tiny hazelnut bushes, they will grow big soon enough so I better find the right places from the start. They now grow in pots so I can think of this all summer before I need to plant them because I also have to think about where I want to try the Shagbark hickory 🙂 I really need to become rich so I can buy more land to plant all my trees 🙂

 

DSC_0040 (17)

DSC_0041 (15)

DSC_0042 (15)

No sunshine to enjoy this evening though.

No sunshine to enjoy this evening though.

It is time to feed all the animals and perhaps myself too. I bought some grilled chicken on my way home today, I’ll see if I can make something tasty with it or if I’ll wait until tomorrow to have it. It is odd, it doesn’t cost more to buy a grilled chicken than an ungrilled?!

 

The rest of the photos are taken with the old Zeiss.

The rest of the photos are taken with the old Zeiss.

A19458_002

Old grave that I saw when we walked on the pilgrimage while waiting for my car to get new tires.

Old grave that I saw when we walked on the pilgrimage while waiting for my car to get new tires.

A19458_004

 

Have a great day!

 

A19458_007

The obligatory double exposure :-)

The obligatory double exposure 🙂

A19458_009

A19458_010

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I wouldn’t call it obligatory. I would call it customary or traditional double exposure. Obligatory makes it sound like you were forced by circumstances beyond your control rather than inspired by creative muses. 🙂

    What are those spiny round things? They look like wild cucumber vine (Echinocystis lobata) but the leaf is wrong. Wild cucumber is a cool plant and I did have some here for awhile.

    If you dug up your lilacs, you would have a whole bunch of space to put hazelnut bushes. 🙂
    I can’t help you with the shagbark hickory. They get to be very big trees. There used to be a lot around my neighborhood and we kids used to eat the nuts all the time. There are still a few somewhere because every so often I find one in the middle of my driveway where some squirrel has left it. Undoubtedly it is the same squirrel that leaves a lone horse chestnut in the middle of the driveway. To my knowledge there are no horse chestnut trees within normal squirrel roaming distances. It’s a mystery.

    I love the photo of the cow and calf resting in the field. The lone calf sunning itself is cute, too. Reminds me of Rocky. He finds a comfy place in the sunny grass and curls up just like that with his eyes closed facing the sun.

    Hot, hot weather here for a couple of days then cold weather with rain for a couple more and then back up to hot. Seesaw weather season.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 27, 2016 at 3:59 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      In my case I’m afraid it is obligatory 🙂 I just can’t stop it from happen 🙂 and to be honest I think there are three photos in that one 🙂
      Those spiny things are wild gooseberries. Small but delicious and the shrub spreads worse than any weed 🙂 Still they are perfect in the forest.

      I think I need a digger to get those lilac roots up 🙂 The Hungarian lilacs are even bigger than the hedge and if they weren’t so close to the cottage I would have put them on fire just to get rid of them 🙂 The Hungarian is better though because the flowers smell much less and they are perfect wind stoppers 🙂

      I guess the squirrel is bribing You so You don’t get as hateful towards it as Kat is 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is odd that it brings You the horse chestnut 🙂 since there are no such trees close. That reminds me of how we didn’t have a single oak tree in the forest when I moved here but as soon as all the old spruces were cut down they suddenly started to grow everywhere. Where on earth did the Jays get them?? 🙂

      Nova does the same, she should really boil in the hot sunshine but she just enjoys it to the fullest.

      It will get warmer every day from now, I wish it had started today because I’m so cold I wear my fleece jacker indoors and have started a few radiators 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2016 at 5:34 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I too need to win a lottery to buy more land for all my animals AND my gardens! 🙂 Good luck with the melons. This year I bought some pumpkins that will turn pink and a butternut squash vine. I will see how they do. I am never sure with squash, can be tricky. Today we are still cloudy, humid and cool. More rain on the way for us and then they promise next week to be cold and gross. Such strange weather! You would think that a grilled chicken would be more money due to the fact that it takes time, energy, people to cook it, etc. Funny how that is! I hope your evening is pleasant. I am still at work. 😦

    May 27, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is a challange to put in as many big trees as one can in just a small garden 🙂

      I’ve never grown a pink pumpking but I have grown pink sqaush once 🙂 They were quite nice 🙂 This year I’ll only have a green one that must be used almost as soon as it is picked.

      We’ll get warmer and warmer now so I’m not looking forward to work beside the oven next week. I’ll drink lots of water but I know it will be too little anyway 🙂

      Yes it is odd that it isn’t more expensive! I’m not complaining though, I’m not the best one to grill at all 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 12:55 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! i wish we had your weather! we are in the 90’s with high humidity and sun. i could scream! it’s way too hot way too early! i buy shagbark hickory syrup from a guy close by that makes it each year. it sure is good. it’s very similar to maple syrup!

    May 27, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish we could send it to You 🙂 but even when we have hot weather it still is much cooler than what You have, the advantage by living this far north. I love warm weather but I’m not sure I would make it in Your summer temperatures to be honest 🙂

      So one can make syrup from those trees too! I guess that as long as the tree isn’t poisonous and is strong enough one can make syrup from all trees. Perhaps I shold try it with one of my apple trees 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 12:58 pm

  4. Vi “råkade” få med mycket mark när vi köpte huset här för 14 år sen. Inte mycket för en lantgård eller gods, men för oss Stockholmare var det en jättestor tomt. Hela 4700 kvm. I Stockholm hade vi 702 kvm, så det var lite skillnad. 🙂
    Men…inget gott som inte har nått ont med sig; Rolle har nu i två dagar försökt få till gräset i det vi kallar “parken”. Det har varit så enormt med maskrosor i år och ovanpå det så har vi haft så mycket att göra med det nya växthuset (som blev kanon, invigningen var i helgen) så det var både långt och tungklippt. Maskrosor kan vara det! *fniss* 😦
    Först måste han köra med åkgräsklipparen två gånger, sen måste han köra den vanliga gräsklipparen runt alla träd och runt alla kanter samt i vårt 150 m långa dike – och sen behöver han också köra med trimmern om det ska bli riktigt snyggt. Det är dock inte gjort ännu och bara halva diket fixat. Så han har lite att pyssla med… själv har jag ägnat mig åt växthusinredning, klippning av gräset på innertomten och vattning. 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    May 27, 2016 at 7:42 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nu beror ju arbetsbördan mycket på hur välansad gräsmatta man känner att man vill ha 🙂 Jag hade nog låtit en stor del vara mer eller mindre vilt och planterat mina trän där. Möjligtvis hade jag bett grannen att hans får skulle beta ned gräset då och då 🙂

      Maskrosor är det ingen idé att kämpa mot eftersom de odlar vall på de flesta ängarna här och de är fyllda med maskrosor 🙂 De flesta av oss njuter av de små solarna istället, ingen idé att kämpa ett krig när man vet att man inte kan vinna 🙂

      Ingen vattning här, skulle något torka ihjäl betyder det att det inte var tufft nog att leva i min trädgård 🙂 Då får jag ju chans att pröva något mer torktåligt istället 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 1:03 pm

  5. Christer,
    Tonight will be in the low 60’s, far too warm for this time of year. The days too have been hot. This is the start of the long weekend as Monday is a holiday, Memorial Day. The weather report sys great weekend so the crowds are hurrying down. At 2:30 there was a 2 mile back-up to go over the Sagamore Bridge which leads to my side of the Cape. 4 mile back-up at the Bourne Bridge leading to the other side of the Cape, the Falmouth side. I can’t imagine what traffic must have been like early in the evening. Too many people too early.

    Have a great weekend!

    May 28, 2016 at 1:34 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We rarely reach above 54F here during nights even in hot summers so 60F would be unusual hot any time of year here 🙂

      I’m so glad this isn’t a tourist area 🙂 If anything happens with the traffic during summers it is that there are less cars on the roads 🙂 It is only when the Cranes arrive in spring we have them here and that I truly hate. Many just behave like idiots on the roads. Perhaps I shouldn’t complain that much about the flies after all 🙂 They do keep people away 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 1:07 pm

  6. Hi Christer..I came by today with the expess intention of catching up on your posts. Beginning with the first one..the unusual Spring, and backwards I went. As I went along enjoying myself, I suddenly became away that I hadn’t seen any pctures of Bertil or Teodor. Hope I spelled that right. Anyway..the further back I went the more anxious I got…from that to almost tears when there was no sign of them. Then suddenly, there they were…great big photo’s of them..but both were not of them out and about but laying still. Beautiful photo’s. I was sure something had happened..but apparently not..at least it was not mentioned. They are both fine, aren’t they? Your pictures are all beautiful and show off the area you live in so well.
    I know, silly to have panic set in about cats you have only known online and thousands of miles away..but…it has ended well. Silly old lady here.
    Mona

    May 28, 2016 at 1:40 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Bertil stays at home more now days and has been like that since Orvar passed away, it is like he must see us all all the time so we don’t disappear like Orvar did. He is now also a very kind cat 🙂 🙂 He is actually so nice that none of us can stand him for any longer period of time 🙂 Sune is the most patient of us all but even he gives up after a while. But both cats are just fine and healthy but I do miss having Bertil with us on our walks.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Leave a Reply

