It’ll only take seven years or so.

DSC_0020 (22)

We don’t have any sunshine but it is fairly warm and low humidity makes it feel even better. The weak wind just makes it more pleasant so I really can’t complain today. Well it would be about the flies then but to be honest, they aren’t as many as I feared. I guess I can thank the draught we’ve had for a while now. Living in a boggy area means the ground never really dries out too bad.

 

DSC_0022 (20)

We walked in the village this morning. They cut of the gravel roads so cows can walk between pastures so we are a bit blocked while walking around now. Yes we can pass but with two dogs terrified by electric fences and cows it is a bit problematic.

We walked in the village this morning. They cut of the gravel roads so cows can walk between pastures so we are a bit blocked while walking around now. Yes we can pass but with two dogs terrified ofΒ electric fences and cows it is a bit problematic.

DSC_0024 (22)

DSC_0025 (21)

I was thinking that I would start chopping down my lilac hedge as soon as the flowers starts to wither but I can’t do that. I don’t know how many birds nests there are in there but one is enough for me to wait until Autumn comes and all small birds have flown away. One nest is so close to my gate that every time I walk out of my garden the chicks starts to scream for food πŸ™‚ I do hope it is too hard for my cats to reach it, Teodor is the one most interested in hunting birds but he is just too fat to even come close to the nest and I hope Bertil doesn’t care. He is however a master in hunting mice and voles and those I don’t care if he takes.

 

DSC_0026 (21)

DSC_0027 (22)

DSC_0028 (21)

DSC_0029 (19)

There’s this one cow that is very pregnant in the cow pasture right now. She has been standing still at the same spot all day looking miserable. She did walk a bit to get some fresh grass to eat but it is very easy to see where the calf is πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure we’ll have a new calf in the pasture by tomorrow morning.

 

DSC_0030 (19)

DSC_0031 (18)

DSC_0032 (21)

DSC_0033 (19)

Today was a perfect day to mow the lawn and by the sound of it many neighbors thought the same thing. The more trees and bushes I plant the faster I mow the lawn πŸ™‚ My plan is to have so many bushes that I just have paths going around the entire garden so mowing will take even shorter time. The only problem with that is the cord since I have an electric mower. It will most likely get caught here and there but I see that as a minor problem.

 

DSC_0036 (18)

DSC_0037 (20)

DSC_0040 (18)

DSC_0041 (16)

I have two kinds of grape vines in my garden and they are amongst the hardiest and most pest resistant one can find. One is the American Frost grape (Vitis riparia) and the other the Asian Amur grape (Vitis amurensis). I have a problem with my frost grape though, it only produces male flowers so I never get any grapes but this year the amur grape flowers too so I have high hopes of at least get a few grapes this year πŸ™‚ I have sown more frost grape seeds though and if they germinate it’ll take around seven years until I get any flowers on those new vines πŸ™‚

 

Four photos I took with the Ambi Silette.

Four photos I took with the Ambi Silette. By now I should remember this: Never towards the sun with old cameras πŸ™‚

A19456_018A

A19456_019A

A19456_020A

I also found a small pot that I sowed something two years ago and two small plants are growing in it now, the problem is that the name tag is gone πŸ™‚ I’m not quite sure what is growing πŸ™‚ It might be a service berry but it could be something completely else too πŸ™‚ I’ll know when it is bigger I hope πŸ™‚ Do You remember when I told You two peonies had germinated and started to grow? One is dead and the other one doesn’t look too good, I’m afraid one of the cats walked on it but it is still green so I still have a tiny hope it will survive. If this had happened when it was two years old it would have survived but they are very vulnerableΒ the first summer.

 

These four are taken with the Zeiss. These are the last ones for this time.

These four are taken with the Zeiss. These are the last ones for this time. All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

A19458_014

A19458_015

A19458_016

I think it is time to make some frozen yoghurt, I think I have some vanilla yoghurt in the fridge. Perhaps I should make some kind of dinner first though but I’m not really hungry.

 

The last four today are taken with the Hasselblad. Sometimes it is hard to see what it was that looked so interesting that I wanted to photograph it :-) I think there might be two root cellars in this photo :-)

The last four today are taken with the Hasselblad. Sometimes it is hard to see what it was that looked so interesting that I wanted to photograph it πŸ™‚ I think there might be two root cellars in this photo πŸ™‚

A19460_008

I'm pretty sure there is a root cellar here too :-)

I’m pretty sure there is a root cellar here too πŸ™‚

The hunting group hunting here has a huge hunting lodge

The hunting group hunting here has a huge hunting lodge.

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That poor cow. I bet she can’t wait for the calf to come.

    There are a lot of photos in my files that I have no idea what I was aiming at. It’s just trees and grass and nothing else of any import. But there must have been something I saw. Who knows? Now I don’t take those pictures because I know it will be a boring photo.

    I have sunshine and it is very warm. It’s 80F now and headed higher.
    I mowed part of the big lawn this morning but had to give up before it was completely done. The lawn guys drove by three weeks ago and must have decided it didn’t need to be cut which it didn’t. Then it rained for a week. It’s been five weeks, I think, since it was last mowed. I had to mow this morning or I was going to need a machete to find my car. πŸ™‚ I’ll finish it later on today or maybe tomorrow when it’s cooler.

    Enjoy the day. I’m going to have some ice cream. πŸ™‚

    May 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve been worried all day but the owners doesn’t seem to think anything’s wrong. I do feel so sorry for her because I can see how bad she feels.

      It would be nice to know what it was that made us think it was a good idea to take those photo πŸ™‚ I mean there must be something in them that made us take them πŸ™‚ I unfortunately do continue to take them πŸ™‚

      It stayed just below 68 all day and it has been really pleasant. The sun and bad heat will come on Monday again, I’m not sure I like that at all πŸ™‚

      They do seem a bit irregular those lawn guys πŸ™‚ Don’t they want to make any money? I know I’ll have problems later on in life, that’s why I try to reduce the ,awn size in time πŸ™‚ Perhaps I’ll have a battry driven lawn mower by then or one of those robot mowers, I really want one but they are still a bit expensive and how well do they mow dog poop πŸ™‚

      I still haven’t made the frozen yoghurt but I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm

  2. jaz

    i have a lot of surprise plants this year since i started everything from seed. some were marked peppers but they are clearly tomatoes. some i have no idea what they are. i must be more careful next winter when i plants the seeds!

    May 28, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      πŸ™‚ That happens a lot πŸ™‚ The one thing one can hope for is that one at least can identify the plants when the edible fruits comes πŸ™‚
      I say that every year still there are always a few plants that it takes a long time to identify πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 29, 2016 at 5:54 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Catching up from yesterday – it was a busy one! Since the weather was decent and no rain (yay) we decided to take in an annual thing here called Doors Open Winnipeg. Its hosted by Heritage Winnipeg and its all the old, historical buildings in our city that open their doors for free, give guided tours and very informative historical information. We had a really good time and only managed to get to 2 buildings before we had to go and pick up my son’s new car. He bought himself a Nissan Leaf – an all electric car! So proud of him for forward thinking and being environmentally responsible. Electric cars are very slowly becoming something here and our next will likely be electric or hybrid at least. The only downside is there are still very expensive here – but the joys of being young, having a good job and living at home all point to a new car! πŸ™‚ I was sorry to read about your peonies, I hope the last one survives. They are pretty tough and can live up to 100 years I believe. I just love peonies and have quite a few in my gardens. I bought a Hughes Juniper yesterday. I have one problem area in my large front yard garden and I hope this will help solve my problem. They are hardy and can survive in Zone 2, so fingers crossed!!! The birds are singing loud this morning, such a nice song. I will plant the rest of my pots and garden today. No rain until tomorrow so I hope I can get everything in! πŸ™‚ Off to read today’s post….

    May 29, 2016 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It sounds fun walking around in historical buildings and get the history at the same time! I hated that when I went to school but now I like it a lot.

      I would love an electric car but as You say they are still nasty expensive! I know I won’t be able to afford buying one in a very long time πŸ™‚ Still, I think it is the way to go.

      As soon as a peony is two years old it can take anything but before that they are really sensitive. I do hope this one survives and as You say they can be really old. I have a few peonies but one can never have too many πŸ™‚

      I found the junmiper on the net, it is cool! I kinow that Sune soon enough would pee it to death but I still would like to have one.

      We never got any rain and the humidity didn’t sink either πŸ™‚ I still have a few pots to place on the patio but I have time left to do it today.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 29, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

