It’ll be a lazy day.

DSC_0045 (13)

According to the weather sites it is raining here right now but as far as I can see through the windows it doesn’t. Showers are of course always hard to predict, it might in fact rain on the other side of my cottage without me knowing it. It is a fairly warm morning with a brisk breeze and high humidity and it could have been rather nice if the humidity had been lower. The more the day passes by the better the weather will be and the lower humidity will be as well.

My neighbors calves all look the same but the ones the castle has look al very different.

My neighbors calves all look the same but the ones the castle has look al very different.

I wonder if this is a Red Kite. It does look like it.

I wonder if this is a Red Kite. It does look like it.

DSC_0055 (8)

DSC_0060 (7)

We walked down to the creek this morning and there was this rather big raptor up in the sky, normally they never come especially close but I was lucky today. I now know it is a Kite and I think it is a Red Kite which is rather rare here in Sweden. I did see a deer too and some Greylag geeseΒ but that was it when it comes to wildlife this morning. Of course I saw lots of small birds but they didn’t come close enough so I at least could try to identify them. I did however find lots of wildlife in Sune’s fur when we came home, I had to pick several ticks and I got all of them before they had bitten. They are now all dead πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0061 (7)

DSC_0062 (7)

DSC_0063 (6)

DSC_0065 (6)

I’m now taking the chance or risk that we won’t get any more frosty nights here so I am placing all the remaining potted plants I have in the cottage in the patio instead. The roof seems to make the place rather frost safe, unless it drops down to -7C (19,4F) or lower which isn’t unusual the last frost night here. It is like nature wants to show that we never can relax totally and just shows of that last frosty night πŸ™‚ So today I’ll take out the three passionfruit vines, the Lime tree and the last pelargonium. It is amazing how much more light I have in my home now πŸ™‚

 

A little of what flowers in my garden right now, This is Spanish bluebelle, a pink one.

A little of what flowers in my garden right now, This is Spanish bluebell, a pink one.

Prunus pumila.

Prunus pumila.

Japanese quince.

Japanese quince.

The Aronia has beautiful little flowers.

The Aronia has beautiful little flowers.

I still have the last laundry to do but besides from that I’ll most likely have a lazy day today. I might start sowing some vegetables but then I need to weed the last part of my vegetable patch and the weather isn’t that nice yet. I’ll see if I do it later when the humidity is much lower. It will be a warm week ahead of us so I’m thinking of mostly making salads to bring to work. Like chicken salad one day, pork the other (much the same as the chicken one, I just put pork in it instead πŸ™‚ ) and so on.

 

The Columbines popped up so fast that I barely noticed that they had started to grow.

The Columbines popped up so fast that I barely noticed that they had started to grow.

Bleading Heart.

Bleeding Heart.

Paeonia vetchii.

Paeonia vetchii.

My Haberlea rhodopensis is now so big that it almost suffocated my Ramonda myconi (Pyrenean violet) but I think and hope I saved it just in time.

My Haberlea rhodopensis is now so big that it almost suffocated my Ramonda myconi (Pyrenean violet) but I think and hope I saved it just in time.

It is time to start with the laundry though and after that a pot of tea πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0020 (23)

I haven't seen the very pregnant cow this morning, I do hope that calf is out by now.

I haven’t seen the very pregnant cow this morning, I do hope that calf is out by now.

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Good lord, she’s very ready to birth. Wow. I hope she’s already had it somewhere.

    My columbines have been up and blooming for a couple of weeks. They’re shedding petals all over the place. The quince flowers have come and gone already. There might be one or two left in there. I don’t see anything that looks like fruit but I never do. I think the deer eat them.

    The lawn guys showed up late yesterday and mowed my lawn. I was taking a nap to recover from mowing most of the lawn myself and they were almost done by the time I woke up. They knocked on the door to tell me that the rear passenger window of my jeep was broken but they hadn’t done it. Thanks. :/
    They hadn’t done it. Apparently it got so hot yesterday that the inside of the jeep got warm enough to blow out the window. Most of the glass was outside the jeep and only a few pieces were inside. That wouldn’t have happened if someone had tried to break in. Fortunately, insurance pays for glass damage. Even so, it’s annoying.
    I think I need to plant a tree by the driveway pretty soon and hope it quickly grows big enough to shade the car. Thanks global warming. Oh, well, I always wanted an American beech.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 29, 2016 at 1:46 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I saw her onthe other side of the pasture today, it looks like she’s thinner but it is hard to see and I haven’t seen any calf close to her but that doesn’t mean a thing, it can be lying down somewhere.

      The columbines just popped up here but still most just have buds. The quince is aleΒ΄ways late here and I do see the eventual fruit in autumn but they are very small so I never bother to pick and to make jam or marmalade. Quince jam is delicious though and I like to have it on pancakes πŸ™‚

      It must have been awful hot for that to happen! I don’t think I’ve ever heard that happen here. You’re right though, can’t be a try to get in since most glass were outside. I too have glass replacement in my insurance.

      I found the American beech on the net, it is a beautiful tree and I wouldn’t mind having one either. I might manage to place it just beside the cow pasture so only half of it grows in my garden πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 29, 2016 at 3:03 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Today sounds like a perfect blend of a day for you! I hope the rain stays away. I planted mint, basil, tomatoes, swiss chard, parsley, peas, cucumbers, kale and some flowers last night. The rest will be today. I need to go find some seed potatoes and am mad at myself that I didn’t get any seed potatoes when I was at the greenhouse during the week. I totally forgot to put those on my list! Its cool here this morning but its okay. We are under cloud but those are supposed to move away by the afternoon. The weekend is flying by and I wish it wouldn’t. I hope that cow did have her baby. She’s probably gone off to have it and is keeping it hidden. Can’t wait to see those pictures! Your bleeding heart is lovely! I have one white one and one pink. They must need several years to establish and get big because mine don’t really get all that large. I remember my grandmother having a couple and hers were massive. Maybe the variety? I hope your day is pleasant!! πŸ™‚

    May 29, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The humidity is still high and the rain never fell πŸ™‚ I have a few pots to place on the patio but I’ll do that later today. I put my potatoes in the ground last weekend and this year I bought two kinds I’ve never heard about before. One is blood red inside and the other one is more purple :-)I ordered them online this year and I’ll do that next year too because it worked so good.

      I’ve seen the cow on the other side of the pasture, I think she’s thinner but it is hard to see and I haven’t seen any calf but I guess it is lying down some where, after all it isn’t especially old yet πŸ™‚

      I had a white one too but I moved it and it died as a thank You πŸ™‚ They normally get rather big but there are lots of varieties out there. Its relatives, the Western Bleeding Heart is much smaller, it is usually a weed in many gardens but when I buy some they just die πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 29, 2016 at 3:18 pm

  3. Christer,
    My columbines have also bloomed on one side of the garden. I don’t know why the other side is much slower. I love checking out the flowers to see new blooms. I take time each morning after I get my papers.

    Today was quite a bit cooler than yesterday. Rain may be on the way. It is working its way up the coast so they don’t have enough yet to guarantee it will get this far. There has been flooding in a few of the Southern states and people have been evacuated. One place got 20 inches of rain.

    This is the week to get the deck set up. I’m going to the flower farm to buy pots and flowers. I usually buy annuals for the deck and several of my clay pots need to be replaced. I still need to buy basil so that’s on my list. Everything should be all set by the end of the week.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    May 30, 2016 at 1:41 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We are a bit beind here but still not as much as we usually are. We’ve had a very long spring andpresummer here this year. Some plants took advantage of it others just went on as usual πŸ™‚

      Much warmer and nicer here today and thankfully much lower humidity!
      20 inches!!! That is nasty much and impossible to protect oneself from. It is amazing that so much rain can fall in one place!

      I still have some re-potting to do and I usually never use my patio for other things than my plants, most summers this is not a place one wants to sit outside because of all biting flies. I’m thinking of trying to put up mosquito nets around it so I finally can enjoy that place.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 30, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

