Fantastic weather.

DSC_0020 (24)

This is one of those days when it is just too good weather to stay indoors and surf the net. It is actually a bit too warm but a strong wind takes care of that problem. It also keep most flies away, they started early this year but aren’t that many yet but still as annoying.

 

One of my tree peony have three buds this year (it had eleven last year). This is how the first one looked yesterday.

One of my tree peony have three buds this year (it had eleven last year). This is how the first one looked yesterday.

This is how it looked today.

This is how it looked today.

This is the second one,. The third has still not opened.

This is the second one,. The third has still not opened.

So I’ll come back tomorrow, they predict even warmer weather but we all know how good they are predicting the weather here in Sweden so it could just as well be icy cold, I don’t trust those meteorologists for a second πŸ™‚

 

My first tomatoes.

My first tomatoes.

This rhododendron is the only one the deers eat almost all winters so this is a very rare sight :-)

This rhododendron is the only one the deers eat almost all winters so this is a very rare sight πŸ™‚

The Naranjilla likes our cool nights but doesn't like the strong winds we're having today. It is thorny even on both sides of the leafs :-)

The Naranjilla likes our cool nights but doesn’t like the strong winds we’re having today. It is thorny even on both sides of the leafs πŸ™‚

It is time to go outside again and to play with the dogs.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0031 (20)

12 responses

  1. your weather man must have gone to the same school as ours,, very rarely correct in predicting the weather!!
    You have tomatoes already!!! wow,, thats wonderful!

    May 30, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It seems that they for once have gotten it right πŸ™‚ Hot, hot, hot here but a wind is saving us all from boiling away πŸ™‚

      I’m as surprised as You are about those tomatoes πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 1, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Here the day started out with a deluge of rain for most of the morning. Now it’s just drippy. I’m pleased that the tape I used to cover the hole in my jeep window managed to stay on during the downpour. No wet interior. πŸ™‚ Now if it just stays together long enough to get me to the glass shop. I’ll carry a dust pan in the jeep just in case. πŸ™‚

    One more pleasing thing happened. I finally identified a wildflower after two springs of trying. I went through my wildflower book and some stuff on line but nothing came up. Finally, today, I googled several different search terms and “globe flower pedicel” got me to dwarf ginseng. It wasn’t dwarf ginseng but that got me to American ginseng. It wasn’t that either but searching “American ginseng lookalikes” got me to Virginia Creeper, Poison Ivy and… DING! DING! DING!… Wild Sarsaparilla (Aurelia nudicaulis). I feel so accomplished. πŸ˜€

    One of my peonies is not doing well. The buds are dried up. The problem may be no ants. The other one has a few developing buds and all the rest are drying up. Looks like it’s going to be a bad year for peonies at my house. Lots of phlox and columbine, though. All the columbine are dark purple except for one small red and yellow one that perseveres underneath them all.

    The sun is trying to come out.
    Have fun with Nova and Sune and the lovely day.

    May 30, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Today has been just as hot as the two previous days and it is only the wind that cools us down som so we don’t boil away πŸ™‚ I’m glad the tape worked, it is almost impossible to get rid of that water. Every time it is hot the car windows mist and if it gets cold one gets ice on the inside of the car.

      I once got a few plants of wild sasparilla or so we thought πŸ™‚ It is a relative, that’s clear but which one we just can’t figure out πŸ™‚ I’m afraid that even if i got such a long trail of thoughts it won’t help me πŸ™‚

      Lots of peony buds have dried here through the years and it can be something called Botrytis cinerea. Strawberries get moldy but peony buds dry out. They say that one can stop it by watering the plants with baking powder. I have all kinds of columbines but most are dark blue.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 1, 2016 at 6:21 pm

      • Caryn

        I think, also, that the peonies were late getting started this year. There was snow just when the plants were breaking ground and there was very cold weather right when the buds were beginning to form. There are no ants on the plant with drying buds while there are ants on the other one. I might get one or two blooms. Last year was a heavy bloom, though, so maybe the plants are taking a vacation this year. πŸ™‚

        June 1, 2016 at 9:35 pm

      • Yes the weather has been strange this year and that can of course damage the buds. Yes they’ll come back with loads of flowers after this years vacation πŸ™‚

        June 2, 2016 at 6:15 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I just love peonies!! Mine have tiny little buds on all of them so I am hoping today will bring them forward. We are having a great day weather-wise and then we will get 2 days of rain. Yuck. Currently our city is being overrun with forest tent caterpillars. They are a menace and destroy trees by the dozens. The city has started spraying pesticides but every year I put our name on the “no spray” list so a 30 meter area right around our house does not get sprayed. The trucks turn off the sprayers the 30 meters before and then turn them on again 30 meters past our house. That’s for mosquitoes too. I don’t trust the pesticides and since I am organic in my gardens, I don’t want that sprayed near my house! πŸ™‚ I hope your evening is pleasant. Keep those peony pictures coming! πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They are beautiful the peonies!

      Still unusually hot here and it is a wind that saves us all from dying πŸ™‚

      The trees usually manage to get attacked one or maybe two years in a row but if it happens a third one they usuallyu give up. Doesn’t look nice though πŸ™‚ One never know what it is they use to kill them or the mosquitos so I would have said no to but I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t have any chanse to say what we want here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 1, 2016 at 6:24 pm

  4. jaz

    glad to hear you are having good weather. ours is still horribly hot and will stay this way for at least the next ten days. i wish our weather people would be wrong. i have tomatoes too!

    May 30, 2016 at 10:16 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is boiling hot here (ok scandinavian boiling hot πŸ™‚ ). It is quite ok here at home but a pain at work. It has also woken up lots of flies and most of them seems to want to be indoors. We are all driven crazy by them already πŸ™‚

      I am surprised that I have tomatoes this early but it has been unusually warm.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 1, 2016 at 6:27 pm

  5. WOW Christer from the photos you posted of the floors in bloom, you are having fantastic weather. The peony was so lovely and I wonder if our plant will have bloomed out by the time we return to our house in VCA this coming weekend. I am hoping that some of the front yard blooms like the irises and gardenia will have not bloomed out. The day lilies should not be in bloom until at least June or July and we may not be there to see those. I envy you tomatoes and miss the fact that we used to grow our own, but thankfully there will be a farmer’s market downtown by the end of June.

    June 1, 2016 at 2:23 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We sure have, almost a bit too fantastic πŸ™‚ It is ok here at home to have 80F but a pain at work. It has also gottenm all the flies started and most of them seems to want to stay in our cottages and drives us all crazy already!

      I hope You’ll get the chanse to see some fowers when You’re back in VCA. I wish we had Your farmer’s market. I guess they might have it in the big cities but not here where everyone so easily can grow their own πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 1, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

