My brain is fried.

Early this morning. This is the time of year when the sun shines through my tiny bathroom window when it goes up and again when it goes down in the evening :-)

Early this morning. This is the time of year when the sun shines through my tiny bathroom window when it goes up and again when it goes down in the evening πŸ™‚

Sorry about not writing anything here and today will be short too, it is so hot that my brain is fried πŸ™‚ It is even worse at my work place, today we placed a thermometer where I work and stopped measuring when it reached 35,8C (96,4F). It would most likely have gone higher but that was depressing enough πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

I’ve stopped checking how much water I’ve been drinking but it is a lot and what goes in must come out πŸ™‚ So big parts of the day we have been running to and from the toilet πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

It is so dry here now that we don’t get any morning dew. I don’t mind because that also means the lawn doesn’t grow now πŸ™‚

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

We do take very short walks after work but instead the dogs wake me up so early, today for instance Nova decided that it was a good idea to stand on my waist with all four feet πŸ™‚ well she got what she wanted πŸ™‚ , that we have been taking long walks while it still is just below 20C (68F). The flies are more calm then too.

 

Columbines come in all forms and colors now days :-)

Columbines come in all forms and colors now days πŸ™‚

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

Tomorrow will be even warmer but I’ll go to the optician so I’ll stop working at 10 am πŸ™‚ The heat is quite ok outdoors but it is a pain in the a.. at work πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0039

DSC_0047

Rhododendron ‘Nova Zembla’.

DSC_0049

It is time to have something to eat and then I’ll just sit still in front of the tv πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. beautiful photos!!!
    If I could send you some cool air I would lol,, its quite cool here,,56 degrees Fahrenheit,

    June 2, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      It’ll come sooner or later but thank You anyway πŸ™‚ Today is the last day with this usnusual heat they say. We’ll pass 31C today (87,8F)!!!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 3, 2016 at 12:54 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I think this is the second time today I’ve seen a photo of Nova Zembla in bloom. And the bushes were on opposite sides of the Atlantic, too, but probably at the same latitude. πŸ™‚ I love columbines but I wish the flowers wouldn’t look at the ground quite so much.

    That’s not Swedish heat, you’re having. That’s New England summer heat wave heat. It’s very draining.

    Today it’s very cool here. 63ΒΊF at the moment though it was a few degrees warmer earlier in the day. I took the dogs to the lake. There was a stiff breeze blowing across the width of the lake. It was sweater cool. I didn’t have a sweater. I stayed long enough to get some damsel fly photos and one other bug and then we left. I took them to the pet store so they could get treats from the owner and I bought them cheese chews. Keeps them occupied for a couple of hours. Money well spent. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 2, 2016 at 9:13 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is one of the hardiest but not that common here. The most common is the Catawbiense blue, they’ve planted it everywhere here. I have one and I really like it.

      I think the columbines were liked so much back in the days because it looked modest since it looked downwards πŸ™‚

      We’re ob the way on passing 87,8F now and as You say this is not Swedish heat πŸ™‚ We usually stop at around 77F and think that’s awfully hot πŸ™‚ Thw eind is saving us though because it makes it feel a bit cooler. It dries out the ground even more though and I do hope that kills all remaining fly larvae and there are no puddles any longer so no more mosquito larvae either πŸ™‚

      Must see if I can find cheese chews here πŸ™‚ They do love cheese so I’m pretty sure it would be a hit here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 3, 2016 at 1:00 pm

  3. jaz

    now you know why i hate this time of year. we have had weeks of 90 degree humid weather. when i go out at 3:00 am with teddy, it is 70 degrees. it’s not normal. then i cook and my kitchen has to be 110 degrees. it’s awful. i put cold wet towels on my neck to try to stay cool. i hope you get better weather soon!

    June 2, 2016 at 11:36 pm

    • Hi Joyce!
      In sure do I can fully understand why everyone in the US have or want to have an AC! We’re just about to break 87,8F now but thankfully very low humidity, only 22%. We had a cool morning here, 46,4F so I enjoyed every second of it πŸ™‚ I poured down cold water down my neck, did the job but it was a bit too wet πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 3, 2016 at 1:03 pm

  4. Christer,
    I always think of Sweden as a cooler country. hat you are so warm this early in the season makes me hope that it is an anomaly or summer will be horrific. Boston Had a week of record temperatures, a couple in the 90’s. That is so early for 90’s.We were cooler thanks to the ocean breezes.

    Today the flowers I bought were all annuals. The perennials I always put in the front and the annuals go in pots and window boxes on the deck. I have spent around $300 for everything: new clay pots, soil for the pots and the front and back flowers.

    I’m hoping it will be sunny tomorrow so the dampness goes away. The sun hasn’t been around for the last two or three days, and it has rained.

    The winter was warmer than usual, and as a result, I have pulled 5 ticks off Gracie. She is 11 and 1/2, and those are the first ticks she has ever had. I check her every day. A new tick and flea collar should be here tomorrow. It better work.

    Hope your world cools down a bit.

    June 3, 2016 at 12:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Normally this is a cool weather country but I guess the climate change does this to the weather. We’re just about to break 87,8F now but thankfully verey low humidity, only 22% so it could have been worse. I’m so glad I left work early today πŸ™‚

      I sowed my annuals in early March and they seems to like this hot weather, at least as long as I water them in the evening πŸ™‚ I did however buy two small potted Fuchsia plants today and I got a potted Tamarind tree from the owner of the grocery store in Gudhem. It looks a bit sad at the moment since I dug it up from its pot but it’ll look fine again tomorrow. I have to say that was an awful lot of money, I would have loved You as a customer when I had my garden center, fireworks and salutations would be the least I would have done every time You came around πŸ™‚

      It is so dry now that the ticks have calmed down some, still I pick a few from each dog every day. Bot Orvar and Hector reacted badly to those chemicals so I don’t dare using it on Nova or Sune but I have had it on other dogs and it worked perfectly.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 3, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

