Downhill from now on.

DSC_0021 (3)

Just as nice weather today as yesterday, lots of sunshine, just enough warm and a nice breeze to keep us cool while being in the sunshine. From now on it will go downhill with the weather. It will get cooler, almost cold if the predictions are right (which I doubt since they rarely are) and we might get rain. Farmers might want rain but I’m quite happy without it, just think of all the time I save on lawn mowing πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0023 (3)

DSC_0024 (3)

DSC_0025 (4)

DSC_0026 (3)

I woke up before the sun rose today (which by the way was at 4:05 am) but since it is very bright long before the sun rise we went out on our morning walk. It was almost as chilly as yesterday but a worn down fleece jacket was just enough to keep me warm. Lots of birds flew around but most other animals seemed to rather take it easy a few more minutes. I could hear the ravens argue again and today I know why, crows have moved in on their area. They truly don’t like each other.

 

DSC_0028 (3)

DSC_0029 (4)

DSC_0031 (4)

DSC_0032 (4)

Ravens are much bigger and stronger than crows but crows are faster and more agile in the air so it looks like they manage to drive off the ravens and they are not happy about it. I’m pretty sure the ravens will get the place back because they often hang out in groups of several generations and as soon as the older ones can leave their nests the crows will be history. Nice to see them here for a while though, I like our crows.

 

DSC_0033 (4)

I do like the colors our crows has. It is the same species as the black one.

I do like the colors our crows has. It is the same species as the black one.

DSC_0037 (3)

DSC_0056

It is our National day today but very few know why we celebrate it, to be honest we haven’t had a national day for especially long, today used to be the Swedish Flag Day. What we are celebrating is that on June sixth 1523 Gustav Vasa became our king. He was a tyrant that happily slaughtered the ones that had helped him to power, he also was the one making sure the first son of the ruling king would be the king to come. He had three (official) sons who all were more or less insane and all became king of this country. The oldest one for instance Eric 14, married his concubine and he was later imprisoned by his brothers and poisoned with arsenic put in his pea soup. His wife and children were moved to Finland but alive and not allowed to everΒ claim the crown.

 

We have the biggest colony of Black-headed gull (we call them laughing gulls) in Scandinavia up in the lake. They have been coming here a lot lately and they do like to argue with the Jackdaws.

We have the biggest colony of Black-headed gull (we call them laughing gulls) in Scandinavia up in the lake. They have been coming here a lot lately and they do like to argue with the Jackdaws.

DSC_0073

They need to be two on each Jackdaw but still loose quite a lot :-)

They need to be two on each Jackdaw but still lose quite a lot πŸ™‚

DSC_0075

The second reason is that we in 1809 got a new constitution which gave the king less power and the parliament more. The first reason is just stupid to celebrate since he was anything but a pleasant ruler but the second is a good reason but nothing we go out and celebrates on the streets πŸ™‚ They are trying to make this day to something big. like in Norway or the USA but most of us just enjoy the weather if it is nice πŸ™‚ The ones truly celebrating this day are either the extreme rightΒ or immigrants, an odd combination πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0076

Not so tough when they're alone though :-)

Not so tough when they’re alone though πŸ™‚

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

It is time for a pot of tea and after that another walk I think, it is still rather cool outside so most flies are still waiting to get warm enough to fly around to annoy us all πŸ™‚

 

The Cinnamon rose has opened up.

The Cinnamon rose has opened up.

Ginnala maple.

Ginnala maple.

Laburnum, we call it golden rain.

Laburnum, we call it Golden rain.

The Hungarian lilac.

The Hungarian lilac.

Have a great day!

 

Vitis riparia, Frost or River grape. The vine is enormous now but I have one slight problem, it only creates female flowers so no grapes. That's why I'm so glad that my Amur grape vine will flower this year too, I might actually get grapes :-)

Vitis riparia, Frost or River grape. The vine is enormous now but I have one slight problem, it only creates female flowers so no grapes. That’s why I’m so glad that my Amur grape-vine will flower this year too, I might actually get grapes πŸ™‚

DSC_0060

DSC_0062

I bought ten Dahlia roots for almost nothing at all yesterday. The roots were very dried out but they have now been soaking in luke warm water for almost 24 hours and look much better. I'll put them in pots and place them on the patio at first so they'll get used to the daylight and not get burned by the sun.

I bought ten Dahlia roots for almost nothing at all yesterday. The roots were very dried out but they have now been soaking in luke warm water for almost 24 hours and look much better. I’ll put them in pots and place them on the patio at first so they’ll get used to the daylight and not get burned by the sun.

12 responses

  1. Enjoy your day! Your countryside is beautiful πŸ™‚

    June 6, 2016 at 8:03 am

    • Hi Patricia Gibbons and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I will and I agree πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!

      Christer.

      June 6, 2016 at 1:41 pm

  2. jaz

    wow..you have an aviary! we are finally having a couple cool days and then the heat returns. i am enjoying this weather while i have it!

    June 6, 2016 at 2:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      πŸ™‚ well, a really big one πŸ™‚

      I can fully understand that You want cooler weather, it was nasty that short time we had it and You have it all summer and long before that!

      Have a great day in the cooler weather!

      Christer.

      June 6, 2016 at 2:22 pm

  3. Christer,
    I love all the birds you have around. They are different looking than our crows. They generally love to eat road kill. I haven’t ever seen birds that didn’t like each other. They are usually quite polite at the feeders.

    It is good you have such wonderful weather. June here is an iffy month. It is a perfectly lovely day today but it will get cooler at night for the rest of the week. I don’t mind.

    We had a huge rain storm yesterday and another possible tomorrow. Everything is perfectly green now.

    Have a great evening!

    June 6, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes our crows are grey-brownish and black otherwise they are the same bird. Most birds dislike each other to be honest πŸ™‚ The only place where they do get along is by the bird feeders, they know they will be rifilled again pretty soon. Out in the wild however the competition for food and space is fierce and they can fight rather nasty with each other πŸ™‚

      June can be either or. The best thing for us who have vacation in July is if June has crappy weather, statistically that is. If June is sunny and warm July usually is the opposite but now with the climate change one never knows what will happen. Really warm again here but from now on it will cool down considerable. Friday, when most schools have their graduation days will be almost cold and rainy according to predictions.

      We might get thunder soon, the sky looks omnious.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 7, 2016 at 6:10 pm

  4. Dianna

    HI Christer! Lots of birds around! Such a great shot of the black headed gull too! We have lots of song birds around now, robins, sparrows, some crows and kestrels. The kestrels are really fast and quite loud when they are doing their flying about. I love hearing them start up at around 3:30 a.m. here….even before it starts to get light out. But then at some point they are just noisy – especially when I am trying to sleep in πŸ™‚ We are having such weird weather. Windy, cloudy, rainy, sunny, then repeat. Its starting to wear on one’s patience but I think the rest of this week is going to get really hot. Then I will complain some more! πŸ™‚ Lucky you for having an extra day off! Even if its a day when you don’t even celebrate it any more….I will take any days off that come my way! πŸ™‚

    June 6, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna! My favorite birds too πŸ™‚ I miss the seagulls from when I lived by the ocean and Jackdaws have always been favorites of mine, I once had a pet one. Soo funny and truly evil bird πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      To be honest, I haven’t noticed that Kestrels are loud, I guess I compare them with ravens, crows and Jackdaws and beside them all birds are rather quiet πŸ™‚

      Sunny and hot today and the sky looks like we’ll get thunder soon, the flies behave crazy too and that’s usually a good sign of thunder passing by.

      I too will take any free day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 7, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Aw, cute photo of Bertil. πŸ™‚ And lots of horses, today, too.

    The crows in my back yard have been chasing off everything. Blue jays will steal eggs and young chicks but crows will steal eggs and young chicks right back so I guess it’s a war of two gangs. The crows chase off the grey squirrels which caused me to wonder why they would. Apparently, grey squirrels also steal eggs and young chicks. I didn’t know that about the spawns of Satan but it doesn’t surprise me.

    We have Laughing Gulls here, too. They tend to stick close to the coast so I don’t see them among the group collectively known as “parking lot gulls”. Those are Herring gulls, Greater Black Back gulls and some smaller Bonaparte’s gulls. They’re called parking lot gulls because one can always find them in the parking lots and dumpsters of fast food places, malls and restaurants along the highway. πŸ™‚

    Rocky was supposed to go in for dental surgery this morning at 7:30AM. The vet had said on several visits that his teeth were gross and needed to be worked on and the broken one had to come out. So, I made the appointment and went there this morning. The vet checked his mouth and said that since the broken tooth was not bothering him and the plaque was not that bad, he didn’t need surgery. What happened to gross? But I was happy that I wasn’t going to have to spend lots of money and Rocky wouldn’t have to have general anesthesia or lose a tooth.

    Today is sunny and warm with a slight breeze that is nice in the shade. It’s not much help in the sun.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 6, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I got all horses on photo this time πŸ™‚ Yes crows do take eggs and our red squirrel is even worse. Birds don’t stand a chance when they find a nest, still I like our squirrels, mostly I guess because they are so shy and never come here to raid the birds nests in my hedge πŸ™‚

      It is odd that the vet suddenly thought the teeth weren’t gross! but have he chewed on something more hard, like hard sticks? That can remove plack rather well. My first dog Sickan had a broken tooth but my vet said that dogs usually never feel any pain in them so as long as she didn’t care neither did we πŸ™‚ It does cost a fortune to remove teeth though so congratulations on not having to spend them πŸ™‚

      Hot again here and the sky looks omnious so I guess we’ll get thunder later. The flies behave insane too and that is usually a good sign thunder is on its way.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 7, 2016 at 6:18 pm

      • Caryn

        My vet said that about dogs not being bothered by broken teeth. Rocky chews on sticks all the time. He’ll even chew on a branch until he gets a stick the correct size. He chews deer antlers, too. So, nothing need be done unless it bothers him or he needs general anesthesia for some other reason and they’ll remove the tooth then. If I remember to say so. Which I probably won’t because if he needs general anesthesia for something else, I’ll be too worried to remember his tooth. πŸ™‚

        June 7, 2016 at 8:57 pm

      • It is nice that they say the same thing πŸ™‚ Nove has really clean teeth but Sune’s look a bit nasty sometimes but I remove the plack myself.

        Yes time like that teeth are easily fogotten πŸ™‚

        June 8, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

