I just can’t win :-)

Nova woke me up at 4am today se we went out for a walk. The morning was so beautiful that I forgot to take especially many photos, I took three to be correct :-)

Nova woke me up at 4am today se we went out for a walk. The morning was so beautiful that I forgot to take especially many photos, I took three to be correct 🙂

I’m sort of lazy when it comes to shaving so long periods I have the right style with a hipster beard 🙂 Yesterday I thought it was time to get rid of it and brought out my trimmer. I stood in the bathroom and trimmed away when the machine, wich has a cord, started to hack. I didn’t think much of it but tried to keep the cord in a way that it at least would work until I was finished.

 

DSC_0036 (5)

DSC_0039 (4)

I never remember what this flower is called. I have it in my garden and it is a native plant.

I never remember what this flower is called. I have it in my garden and it is a native plant.

Suddenly big flames came out of the machine! I shouted something like AAAAAH in a high-pitched voice and was about to toss it in the sink but realised that would be a rather stupid idea since I had a newspaper there to collect all the hair, that would have been a smelly start of a nice fire 🙂 So I dropped it on the floor, still burning and tore out the cord from the jacket but the bl…. thing kept on burning 🙂 So I ran out to the kitchen and tossed it in that sink instead. I tossed it in a clay pot and placed it in the garden during the night 🙂 I looked slightly derange in my face, some places had still lots of beard left and it was a bit tricky to shave it all off 🙂

 

DSC_0021 (4)

The white Jacob's ladder.

The white Jacob’s ladder.

The blue one.

The blue one. It is so dry here now that the flowers give up fast.

My printer hate me too! We’re going to have our annual road association meeting so I was going to print out the calling to the meeting and also last years protocol. I had bought black ink this year since it refused to print out anything no matter what color I chose as long as there was no black print. So I was printing out the calling when I noticed that the text was clear blue! I know I had adjusted the printer for black text but still there it was in clear blue 🙂 As soon as all calling notes had been printed the printer told me I had no blue ink left. No problems I thought, I’ll get the protocol in black so I don’t need blue.

 

The Beauty bush is in bloom.

The Beauty bush is in bloom.

A day lily without name.

A day lily without name.

Geranium pyrenaicum. I also have it in white.

Geranium pyrenaicum. I also have it in white.

Of course I needed blue, it refused to print anything in black as long as I didn’t have blue print! So away to Falköping I went and bought blue print and when I came back it didn’t fit! I had of course tossed away the old cassette, which by the way had just enough blue ink in it to color my both hand very blue. So back to the store minutes before they closed and I just bought a cassette which I thought looked the same and to my big surprise it was the right kind. So finally I could print the protocol. Guess if I got surprised that every letter it printed just had the edges in black, inside it was totally white?!

 

I allow lots of wildflowers in my garden, like Buttercups.

I allow lots of wildflowers in my garden, like Buttercups.

Laburnum.

Laburnum.

DSC_0032 (5)

It didn’t matter what I did it continued in the same way. So then I thought, I have a lot of blue ink now so if I adjust the printer to make the letters very dark blue instead, that should make the text look almost black. I now have the protocol and the text is purple and I have given up 🙂 I truly hate printers but I need one and every year it is the same battle and the printer always win 🙂

 

The weed flower bed. It doesn't look especially nice now but earlier it was totally yeallow and soon it will be mostly blue from a geranium. There's also a Sorbus domestica and a Rosa glauca.

The weed flower bed. It doesn’t look especially nice now but earlier it was totally yeallow and soon it will be mostly blue from a geranium. There’s also a Sorbus domestica and a Rosa glauca.

This one too which I at the moment can't remember what it is called.

This one too which I at the moment can’t remember what it is called.

The rest of the photos comes from the Ambi Silette.

The rest of the photos comes from the Ambi Silette.

It is time for something to eat and after that I’ll see if there’s anything interesting on tv. I now have a channel for free again (I don’t know for how long though, it can be gone tomorrow or in two weeks), it shows all my favorite comedies but there’s one problem, there’s no sound 🙂 I can however say that since we always have subtitles in shows made in another language it is just as fun anyway 🙂

 

A19456_032A

A19456_033A

A19456_034A

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Goodness. The gods in the machines are not on your side this day. And shaving off a decent growth of beard with a razor must be a big ouch, I think. :/

    I hate printers, too. I bought one a couple of years ago because my old one suddenly became very fond of blue tint. Blue tint is okay for text but it looks really awful on photographs. Anyway, the new printer is still in the box because I have to be in the mood to set things up and synch them with the computer. This one is supposed to be wireless so it will probably be even more frustrating than these things normally are. Fortunately, I haven’t needed a printer for anything. I’ll get around to it some time. The old printer sat in its box in the cellar for a couple of years before I got around to it.

    My whole yard is a weed garden. 🙂 It’s full of big patches of buttercups and phlox interspersed with drifts of celandine, vicious roses, poke weed, jewel weed, and grape vines. Way in the back it’s covered in skunk cabbage and jacks in the box. Naturally there are the usual dandelions, plantain and hawkweeds. I like it. All those things are pretty in their own way and they don’t require me to do anything for them.

    Today is warm and partly cloudy. There’s a breeze from time to time. Maybe some thunderstorms later on. We’ll see.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 7, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I can also add the radiator in the bathroom to thgings don’t liking me. It was so nastyw arm on the bottom floor this morning, almost as if we still were in that hot heatwave we had. Turns out the bathroom radiator was working like insane so it was over 86F in there and the rest of the bottom floor. So Now I need a new radiator too 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m just glad that it didn’t explode!

      Yes why do trhety make them that way??? I know they want to sell more ink but there should be a limiti to how greedy they can be! I’m so tired of that printer now but the problem is I need it once a year 🙂

      I have a few places where I at least try to keep weed free 🙂 Well at least grass free 🙂 Wildflowers are after all perfect since they love the ground and the climate here and never fails to flower 🙂 The pink Dandelions still have no buds, I do hope they’ll flower this year so I can show a photo of them. It turns out that we have lots of white skunk cabbage growing in the bog 🙂 It is a pålant on the no no list and should be eradicated but there are just too many now they say 🙂 At least it doesn’t smell 🙂

      Cool all day here but lots of sunshine in the afternoon.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:05 pm

  2. jaz

    i think that printer would have gone right out of my window! we are having a cool day and i am loving it! our big hockey game is on thursday and we could win the stanley cup if we win this game. this city is crazy excited!!!

    June 7, 2016 at 10:20 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was close but I needed it and there was no time to buy another one 🙂

      Cool and sunny here today and it is rather wonderful 🙂

      Yes I know about the game 🙂 Go Penguins!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:09 pm

  3. suz

    GORGEOUS flower photos today – applause. the leaves and the bud clusters on the last one, the purple one, look a lot like meadow rue (thalictrum) to me, except mine are paler. is that what your flower is? if not, i hope you remember the name sometime, ’cause that’s a fabulous bloom. your laburnum could quickly become a favorite here, too. –suz in ohio/usa

    June 8, 2016 at 12:08 am

    • Hi Suz!

      I’m glad You like them 🙂 and yes You are right, it is meadow rue. Thank You!
      Yes I have a darker variety and it seems to like it here because it spreads and fits well in a weed flowerbed 🙂

      I do like my Laburnum! I took seeds from the one my mnother had in her garden before she moved to an apartment. It is the hybrid laburnum so it gives very few seed, they can be really weedy othewrwise 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:12 pm

  4. Christer,
    What a horrible day. I hate days like that, and I have them every now and then. Yours was special with the fire and all your attempts to put it out. I couldn’t believe it.

    The flowers are beautiful. The countryside looks so nice and green. Spring is always the best time for flowers,trees and bushes to look their best. Summer just dries everything so much.

    I hope tomorrow is a better day for you.
    Have a great evening!

    June 8, 2016 at 1:00 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Today started with me noticing how awful hot it was on the bottom floor. It turnms out my radiator in the bathroom had gone hay wire and just pumped out heat, over 86F in the bathroom and almost as hot elsewhere on the bottom floor. I’m glad I noticed it before it exploded 🙂 So I can’t say today had a better start 🙂

      It is amazing how green everything still is considering how dery it is! I think however even we must say that summer is here after that heat wave we had. Rain is predicted for Friday and if it actually happens things will continue to look fresh otherwise I think lots of plants will start to wither.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:16 pm

  5. Ibland är bara dom “tekniska detaljerna” i livet emot en! 😦 Har man en sån dag så är det enda rätta att gå tillbaka till sängen och krypa ner, eller om det är en varm dag packa en väska (som inte har blixtlås) och ge sig av till badstranden och njuta!! 🙂
    Vackra bilder, det verkar i alla fall inte som om kameran har nåt emot dig – ännu! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    June 8, 2016 at 6:21 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Just nu är allt emot mig 🙂 I morse kände jag att det var äckligt varmt på bottenvåningen, elementet i badrummet hade blivit tokigt och bara pumpade ut värme så det var över 30 grader här nere! Så nu måste jag köpa ett nytt element. Jag är dock glad över att jag upptäckte det innan det small 🙂

      Nä än är jag och kameran vänner 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:19 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Just catching up, I have been in meetings all afternoon yesterday and this morning! Whew! Sounds like you were having quite the time with the shaver and then the printer. Some days, that’s how my luck goes too! 🙂 Good thing you had razors to help finish the job otherwise that would have been a new hipster trend you have started! I have to admit, I LOVE the hipster trend. 🙂 I try but fail usually at the fashion, etc. But I give it my best shot! 🙂 Lots of things growing in my garden now – June is the best time really for us here. My purple Jacob’s ladder has shot up and is huge. It was the first to start this year and is keeping on growing….we are due some wicked heat over the next 2 days so I am hoping that this brings some storms. My husband is following this close – its tornado season here!!! I think he will likely chase tomorrow. That might be our best day. I just like the rain it brings because then my rain barrel gets filled and I don’t need to use our paid for water. I am frugal! 🙂 Have a really lovely evening!

    June 8, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The problem for me is that only my beard is hipster, not the rest 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I truly dislike meetings, people tend to talk about anything than was supposed to be talked about and after they stay extra long to talk about what they really thought of the meeting 🙂

      May and June are usually our best months but this year it started early and now I’m not sure what will flower in summer because lots are already done 🙂

      It will be cooler here but not as bad as they first predicted, they still predict rain and I guess I wouldn’t mind if a little fell, it is so dry here now that the plants will take it all before it can create puddles and mosquitos will use them as kindergartens 🙂

      Are the Tornados in Canada as bad as they are in the USA? We never hear of Your tornados only the ones in the US. I would do anything but come close to one though 🙂 🙂 My rain barrels are only half full now so I use tap water instead, I have a deep drilled well so I have plentry to use 🙂 I have gold fish in my barrels and they eat all kinds of water living larvae so I don’t want the water level to drop too much in there 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 8, 2016 at 7:26 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi Christer! We can get tornadoes as bad as the USA but not as frequent. If you are bored and have nothing to do, Google the tornado in Elie, Manitoba in 2007. That was our worst one in my memory. That one was really bad. I guess we are just too far north to be considered a “tornado alley” which is a good thing!!

        June 10, 2016 at 5:32 pm

      • I googled it and the wind speed was nasty high! I am so glad we only get small ones, we call them tromber. They might do damages on homes and caravans but nothing more serious and they only last for a very short time. They do however say that the warmer the climate becomes the bigger the risk we’ll get big ones to will get.

        June 11, 2016 at 7:01 am

  7. Hi Christer, seems like you have had a time with appliances and electronics failing and the radiator causing a problem too! But the flower photos are strikingly beautiful so there is some good “news” as well as the weather looking absolutely beautiful. We are currently in Va and thankfully the weather here is not too hot. Many of the yard flowers have already bloomed and the ones in bloom now are the day lilies. Strawberries will be coming in soon, but most likely after we have returned to NH 😦

    June 9, 2016 at 2:17 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I sure have and I do hope this was it, I really am tired of almost all things now 🙂

      WE do have rather nice weather still and fairly warm but that will change over the weekend. They predict rain and perhaps thunder tonight and rather chilly during the day but it looks like we’re on the border to the bad weather so it can be reasonable nice if we’re lucky.

      The wild strawberries have been flowering for quite some time but I have still not seen any berries, well ripe that is. I guess things will slow down now when it gets colder again.

      Have a great time in VA!

      Christer.

      June 9, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

