I turned on a radiator.

I've now used my mormors (grandmother on my mother's side) camera. It is a Gevabox that gives 8 photos on a 120 roll film. It has one speed, around 1/30th of a second and three apertures (8, 11 and 16) so it was a bit tricky to use it :-) I used a ISO 50 film. I'll show a photo per day or so and this is the first one. I really liked it but I guess I could be a bit biased since it was my mormors camera :-)

I’ve now used my mormors (grandmother on my mother’s side) camera. It is a Gevabox that gives 8 photos on a 120 roll film. It has one speed, around 1/30th of a second and three apertures (8, 11 and 16) so it was a bit tricky to use it 🙂 I used a ISO 50 film. I’ll show a photo per day or so and this is the first one. I really liked it but I guess I could be a bit biased since it was my mormors camera 🙂 There are different distance settings though so it is just to estimate how far away the thing is I want to photograph 🙂

The day has been and still is rather cold and windy but the sun has shined almost all day so it has been bearable but not more.It seems to have been raining quite a lot during the night but nothing can really be seen in the creeks and there are no puddles around that would be great mosquito nurseries either. My water barrels however are full again.

 

DSC_0023 (6)

DSC_0025 (7)

DSC_0026 (6)

DSC_0028 (6)

It even got so cold and with high humidity yesterday that I turned on a radiator in the livingroom and I did close all windows too. If the wind calms down I can turn off the radiator again tomorrow and open up the windows too I think because they have changed the predictions to much nicer weather than they did just a day ago. We’ll get sunshine again and the temperature will rise to the high 16C (60,8F). It does look like all my plants survived the frost night the other day and without damages too 🙂

 

I don't see damselflies especially often here, this one was the second in at least the last ten years.

I don’t see damselflies especially often here, this one was the second in at least the last ten years. If translating the Swedish name it would become Maiden spindle.

DSC_0032 (7)

DSC_0033 (6)

Starlings. There were so many that not all could be photographed at the same time :-)

Starlings. There were so many that not all could be photographed at the same time 🙂

I’m so tired today but I don’t know why, usually this cold weather does the opposite to me. I fell asleep in front of the tv as soon as we had come home from our walk 🙂 If it hadn’t been for the flies annoying me I would most likely have been asleep yet 🙂 I guess it could be because Nova has kept on waking me up at 4am every morning this week. I would most likely have woken up shortly after that time anyway but it is something else to be woken up with the help from someone else. Today however she didn’t, this time it was the alarm and that felt even worse 🙂

 

DSC_0041 (5)

DSC_0044 (2)

DSC_0048 (3)

DSC_0049 (4)

It is time for another pot of tea and after that perhaps another walk, the weather isn’t inviting so it all depends on whether the dogs get impatient or not 🙂

 

The one I buy all my film from sometimes sell packages with mixed films, black and white but with different ISO's. This is a roll with ISO 3200 so it is very light sensitive, nothing to be used on a sunny and bright day so guess if I felt lucky that morning we got that really thick fog :-) I still had a few photos left to take so I took them another early morning before the sun had risen too high. So here are three photos taken with my Hasselblad.

The one I buy all my film from sometimes sell packages with mixed films, black and white but with different ISO’s. This is a roll with ISO 3200 so it is very light-sensitive, nothing to be used on a sunny and bright day so guess if I felt lucky that morning we got that really thick fog 🙂 I still had a few photos left to take so I took them another early morning before the sun had risen too high. So here are three photos taken with my Hasselblad. Not even that camera could make the film less grainy because that light-sensitive film is alway very grainy.

A19522_002

I really need to clean out that film cassette before I use it again 🙂

A19522_003

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Another cool day!! I hope the weekend finds balance and that the sun will shine, no bugs at all and that its a pleasant 21! What a perfect world that would be 🙂 I have to say the photo with the dogs in black and white is AMAZING!!!!! I keep going back to look at it – its very good! Still plugging away at work but needed a break so I checked my emails. I must get back to work as Friday can be a bit of a mixed day with last minute “get done” things. I hate when those happen! 🙂 Have a good evening!

    June 10, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It will be slightly warmer today and I do hope the wind calmes down too, if it is as strong as it has been lately it really doesn’t matter if it is warmer, it just make it feel cold anyway.The bugs however is a dream never to come true 🙂

      I do like B&W photos but it is much harder to get good photos but sometimes I’m lucky and fog really helps a lot 🙂

      We had a really good Friday at work, everything worked without any proiblems and the time just flew away, too bad things doesn’t work like that all the time 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 11, 2016 at 6:58 am

  2. Eftersom vi här på ön var “hotade” från SMHI att vi skulle få 50 mm´s regn idag, bestämde vi oss för att åka till Visby. Där skulle vi uträtta lite ärenden – och det viktigaste av allt, köpa färsk potatis från en bonde på vägen hem. Alltså en trevlig liten tur i ösregnet….. 🙂
    Det började lite försiktigt igår kväll med att stänka lite och så höll det på hela natten. Så vi fick “hela” 5 mm totalt…för nåt regn fick vi inte alls idag! 😦
    Nä, det var strålande sol men väldigt kallt, bara 12-13 grader och så blåste det väldigt mycket. Inget bra väder alls för växterna i trädgården. 😦 😦
    Men man får väl vara glad för att vi fick dom där 8,5 mm i förrgår och så dom här 5 mm i natt. Alltid något…..:-) 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    June 10, 2016 at 5:52 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Vi fick en natt med regn här. Gräset började växa igen tyvärr, vattentunnorna fylldes men ute i naturen märks ingenting. Det kan dock ha räddat de nyplanterade granplantorna ute i skogen.

      Det var otrevligt kyligt här också men det verkar som om det blir bättre idag, kanske till och med kan stänga av elementet ikväll 🙂 Lustigt nog har alla växterna här klarat sig bra, trots frost och hårda vindar.

      Nu är jag nöjd med regn i alla fall, jag gillar när gräset inte växer 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      June 11, 2016 at 7:05 am

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s cool that you have your mormor’s camera and it still works. ISO 50 sounds kind of slow for the shutter speed and apertures you have available. On the other hand, ISO 3600 is crazy fast for film. The most I’ve used is ISO 800 and it was wicked grainy.

    I almost recognized that damselfly. It looks very like the bluets I photographed last week at the local lake. European bluet, maybe? Maiden spindles because they are slender and delicate? Troll spindles because they are beefy and rugged? Here they are all called darning needles because they supposedly sew up your lips. I like your names better. 🙂

    This morning Rocky was pawing at a spot in the grass next to the arbor vitae hedge. I figured he was after rabbit poo but no. He fetched up a hatchling bird. It was not in good shape and just barely alive. The English sparrows nest in the hedge so I put it on the leaf litter underneath. There were a couple of birds near by acting distressed and they may have been the parents. I leave it up to them. I’ve tried to save baby birds before and it was always futile. But it makes me sad.

    Last night was cool with a strong breeze. I was a bit worried that the heat might come on but it didn’t get that cold. Today is partly sunny and warmer with a light breeze that keeps things comfortable.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 10, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They actually recommended ISO 50 on the net unless it was really cloudy because then I could use ISO 100. The shutter speed has never been especially reliable they said 🙂
      I was surprised that some of the photos with the ISO 3200 isn’t especially grainy at all! You’ll see that in later posts.

      I have no idea what species that damselfly is but it belongs to a group we call Flicksländor (girl spindles 🙂 ) I think it is the ones with see through wings we call that, still it belongs to the damselflies. Very common so I think You’re right about what it is. I have to say that I like them tohave such a creepy name, sew together lips is very creepy 🙂

      My old Viran did like that all the time, she saw herself as the mother of all living things and just had to take care of youngsters even if they really didn’t want it 🙂 She licked them to death if I didn’t catch her in time and I’m pretty sure most of the ones I saved died shortly after too.

      We’ve had a nice morning here and predictions says sunny and semi warm 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 11, 2016 at 7:16 am

  4. jaz

    hi christer….that’s it, i might have to move to sweden. i am SO over this hot humid weather. tomorrow is going to be awful. teddy stays in the whole day and only goes out right before sunset. i love the black and white photos. joyce

    June 10, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Just stay in one of the biggest cities though because there are very few flies there 🙂 I do understand You, it is nasty with high temperatures and high humidity!

      Poor Teddy!

      I do like those photos too!

      June 11, 2016 at 7:17 am

  5. Christer,
    I almost turned the heat on the other morning. The house was only 61˚. I decided it would warm up so I just put on a sweatshirt. Each night I shut the windows as the nights are still cold.

    I d like the pictures you took with your mormon’s camera. I do like black and white pictures. They add layers to the scene they’ve pictured. I still have a really good film camera. I bought it over 35 years ago. The internal parts of the camera are metal.

    The sounds of summer: I can hear a lawn mower. I can also smell freshly cut grass. That is a favorite smell of summer.

    Have a great day!

    June 10, 2016 at 10:34 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I stll have the one radiator on, chilly here but they say it will be sunny and warmer today so I have big hopes of turning it off tonight.

      The Minolta I bought 30 years ago still works like a clock but it has algea in the seeker so it is hard to focus with it :-)Most of the ones I use now are even older and still works really good. I doubt that any of our digital ones will work when they are 30 years old 🙂

      I haven’t heard a lawn mower since the draught started 🙂 This latest rain however did make the grass growing so I might hear a mower this weekend but then again it is so chilly yeat that we might make it till next weekend 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 11, 2016 at 7:22 am

Leave a Reply

