A rather perfect morning.

From the Gevabox.

From the Gevabox.

We’re having a rather wonderful morning here at the outskirts of the world. Sunny, warm and with a weak wind just enough cool to make it even more pleasant. Always flies in the air but still unusually few and even fewer ticks of which I’m thankful.

On the way tothe bog.

On the way to the bog.

DSC_0048 (5)

DSC_0049 (6)

DSC_0050 (6)  

To get even further away from the world we took our morning walk out on the bog. We were actually there already yesterday afternoon because my neighbors had been there and told me it was so dry out there that it was possible to walk around without sinking anywhere. I did hesitate a while because I thought there would be lots of ticks, mosquitos and midges there but then again it is voles and mice who spreads ticks more than other animals and voles would drown if they tried to dig in the ground out there and mice stays mostly on the islands so we avoided to walk there.

 

DSC_0051 (6)

I just wore ordinary shoes while walking out there. The Cotton-grass likes it on the bog as You can see :-)

I just wore ordinary shoes while walking out there. The Cotton-grass likes it on the bog as You can see 🙂

DSC_0053 (4)

DSC_0054 (5)

DSC_0055 (5)

I climbed up one of the hunting towers in the hope of seeing some wildlife but except for small birds I couldn’t see anything but trees and cotton-grass. To be honest it was enough for me that there were no biting insects and hardly any other flies either 🙂 They all seems to have moved in to my cottage instead 🙂 I really need to buy more sticky fly paper again.

 

DSC_0056 (4)

Not an animal to be seen anywhere.

Not an animal to be seen anywhere.

DSC_0058 (2)

Well, two dogs were there of course 🙂

DSC_0059 (2)

DSC_0061 (1)

I better go outside to water the pots now since we’re going to have sunshine all day and after that I’ll have a pot of tea, one can never have too much tea in life 🙂

 

lots of cloudberry leafs but no flowers or berries yet.

Lots of cloudberry leafs but no flowers or berries yet.

DSC_0064 (1)

DSC_0065 (1)

All standing photographs are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0066 (1)

On our way home again.

On our way home again.

Have a great day!

 

Four photographs from my Kiev 4.

Four photographs from my Kiev 4.

A19519_032A

A19519_033A

The little calf You can see here was born not many minutes before I took this photo.

A19519_034A

14 responses

  1. Precis som hos dig är det en härlig dag. 🙂 Solen skiner, det är väl c:a 18 grader och ingen vind att tala om. Och det är viktigt!! 🙂 🙂
    På morgonen gick jag ut Santos. På tillbakavägen så började jag donade lite i växthuset. Öppnade dörren som man måste ha stängd på natten eftersom det varit så vansinnigt kallt sista tiden, vattnade och sen “möblerade jag om”. vilket betyder att jag flyttade dit lite fler krukor och ställde en del små växter i snyggare krukor. 🙂 🙂
    Igår rensade jag upp rabatten bredvid växthuset där elefantgräset tidigare växte. Nu måste jag ut och hitta lite växter jag kan flytta dit. Ser nämligen inte så kul ut när man tittar ut och bara ser en torr jordplätt. 😦
    Fast först ska jag klippa gräset (ja, alltså bellisarna) på innertomten. I förträdgården är det så torrt att det inte har vuxit något…..
    KRAM
    Susie

    June 12, 2016 at 11:52 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är fortfarande riktigt skönt här och tack vare en stadig men svag vind är det hyfsat flugfritt här i byn, dock inte i skogen tyvärr.

      Det äör farligt att börja med något i trädgården 🙂 Jag skulle bara kupa potatisen och plötsligt rensade jag hela grönsakslandet 🙂 Krukorna flyttade jag omkring igår dock 🙂

      Inget gräsklippande här på ett tag men nästa regnfall kommer att göra att jag tvingas sätta igång klipparen är jag rädd 🙂 Bellisar fär jag bara inte till att växa här?!

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      June 12, 2016 at 3:35 pm

      • Var lycklig för att du slipper bellisar. Visserligen är dom vackra men dom tar över allt, även i rabatterna!!
        Susie

        June 14, 2016 at 8:47 am

      • Hejsan Susie!

        De skulle gärna få vandra in i mina rabatter, de skulle få kämpa hårt dock för jag har en balans mellan invasiva arter i de flesta av mina rabatter 🙂 🙂

        Ha det gott!

        Christer.

        June 14, 2016 at 6:15 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Here I am again! Yesterday was a perfect late spring day – not much wind, sun and decent temps. Today we have thunder (in the distance), strong winds, rain and an overall yucky day. The thunder is coming closer – creeping up on us! I guess today will be an indoor day. I may go an harvest some rhubarb and make something with that. And a baked oatmeal of course. My one and only day to putter and it can’t be outside. 😦 Ah well – at least I am at home and not work – there’s always a silver lining! 🙂 Great bog photos today. I wish I lived somewhere where I could walk and feel like its the end of the earth – not a soul around. Sadly, I’d need to move house and that won’t be happening anytime soon! The first photo taken with the Kiev 4 (the river) is VERY beautiful. I would frame that one for sure. I love the clouds in it – perfect colors. Just finished breakfast and now I will go and find something to do. Wait for the nice weather I guess! 🙂 Have a good day!

    June 12, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      We’re having a really nice day here, sunshine and just enough warm and a weak but steady wind that keeps most flies away from the village, unfortunately not from the forest 🙂 I’ve just come from the beekeepers, they invited me to dinner and I didn’t know they celebrated a combined birthday, he has his birthday in spring and she just a few days ago. It was really tasty food 🙂

      I do like the Kiev camera but I wish I could get hold of a tele-photo lens for it. There is one kind I can use but it is nasty expensive and very rare.

      It’s fun because when I do meet anyone out here I get annoyed 🙂 🙂 I’m used to never meet anyone so they just disturb me when they are out there 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 12, 2016 at 3:43 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    The day started out sunny and warm. It’s thickly clouded over now but still warm. It’s 79ºF. The projected high for today was 73º. I think they got it wrong. 🙂

    I need cotton grass for my shady wetland. I like how it looks. It’s probably an invasive grass species that I can’t get.

    Nova and Sune are looking as though they have never seen you climb before. 🙂 Are they clad in cotton grass tufts?

    Even dressed in summer green, the bog still looks creepy.

    I have successfully (I assume) moved my iPhoto library to an external drive. All the things seem to be there. Now I am deleting most of the photos on my hard drive in the hope that it will free up gigs of memory. There are 62G of photos in that library. Most everything is backed up and stored in the cloud and on thumb drives. I still have a horrible feeling that all these will fail and my photos will disappear forever. But I need to upgrade the OS and for that I need space on the hard drive. Wish me luck. El Capitan installations can be difficult, I’m told.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 12, 2016 at 5:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Slightly wrong yes 🙂 Still it is better than what our weather men can do 🙂
      We’ve had a really nice day here. We walked to the bog again later in the day but the wind had calmed down so I think all flies out there found us and some bit us too. Still, this year seems to be a good fly year, not as many as there usually are 🙂

      I think You have cotton-grass in northern USA, I know they have it in Canada. It spreads only by seeds so I doubt one can call it invasive and it can’t grow if the ground is dry. I do like it and back in the good old days when peoplestarved and froze to death they used it by mixing it with wool when they made yarn.

      I’ve noticed that a dog rarely look upwards and really don’t understand where I am when I stand on a ladder calling them 🙂 Today they actually looked up and yes that is cotton-grass 🙂 I do like the bog now too but it is something special when I walk out there in winter.

      I do hope everything worked as it should so You won’t lose any photos but I know what You mean 🙂 62G is quite a lot 🙂 I’ve never used the cloud even though I can, sort of don’t trust the cloud not to start raining elsewhere if You know how I mean 🙂 🙂

      I guess it is a good thing to know that it can be tricky with the upgrade but still 🙂 My last two upgrades have worked somewhat smoothly thankfully but every now and again I’ve had a minor upgrade and suddenly I can’t find anything 🙂
      I do wish You luck with all my heart 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 12, 2016 at 7:51 pm

      • I spent the day just deleting photos from my computer so I haven’t gotten around to the actual upgrade part. I had over 11,000 photos on the hard drive and it’s down to 3,400 which has freed up a bit more than 50 gigs of memory. I’ve come to the conclusion that a gig just isn’t as big as it used to be. Used to be that you could fly a space ship to the Moon on 2 gigs. 🙂
        It’s funny but as I was going through all those photos, I kept wondering why the heck I had saved them in the first place. Most of them were lovely but not really anything worth keeping.
        Cloud storage is okay for stuff you need to get at across different devices. But some Cloud storage things like Google don’t store the photos in the same image quality as the originals. And what they offer as far as organization tools is minimal. Flickr had the best organizational tools. Moving photos and organizing them is easy. Google and Amazon Cloud, not so much.

        June 13, 2016 at 1:57 am

      • Hi Caryn!

        11 000!!! 🙂 No I’ve noticed that too, the gigs have shrunk somehow 🙂 Today if the only had 2 gig in a space ship it wouldn’t even start 🙂 🙂

        I do delete most photos after using them in my blog but I do have a few, around 50 that I want to save. I have around 100 in the laptop I used to have but now have forgotten the password, lots of photos of the old clan (Viran, Erna, Hector and Orvar). I’ll bring it to an IT guy one day so he or she can open it up for me 🙂 I would like to have some real photos of them all before I get too senile to remember anything 🙂

        If they don’t have the same quality I can’t see the use of it, I wonder if most people know that. They are most likely informed somewhere in the fine print but no one reads that 🙂

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        June 13, 2016 at 7:18 pm

      • Upgrade seems to have gone well. I need to figure out how to get the Top Sites display to stay in the format I like instead of the stupid one that is the default.
        My dogs look up all the time. It might be due to their small size but more likely it’s because squirrels climb trees. 🙂

        June 13, 2016 at 5:27 pm

      • Hi Caryn!

        Congratulations to a smooth upgrade 🙂 I always have problems finding anything after a big upgrade and I can almost never get it to look like I want to so I usually give up and tries to adjust to the computer instead 🙂

        Yes squirrels seems to make my dogs look upwards but that’s it 🙂

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        June 13, 2016 at 7:25 pm

  4. Christer,
    I love those cotton plants. I haven’t ever seen anything like them. Everything is so nice and green. It is here as well. Spring and early summer are so pretty.

    The day was quite hot for this time of year, but now the night is chilly. It was near 80˚ during the day and is down to the 50˚’s at night, perfect weather. It will be like this all week.

    I’m glad you weren’t attacked by the flies and there weren’t any ticks. Gracie’s new collar has kept the ticks away. She had 4 or 5 of them but now none. I hope next winter is colder so we don’t have this problem again.

    My hair was a sweaty mess when I finished cleaning the chairs. I was so hot I even felt a bit dizzy. That was it-I left everything, came inside. I was glad for the cold drink and the couch!

    June 13, 2016 at 2:08 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like that grass too but I have no place to have any since the vole punctured my pond.

      Spring, presummer and early summer are the best parts of the year.

      We had another night with below 32F, just barely but we shouldn’t have it this late in June.

      We’ve been hoping for at least a period with nasty cold weather during winter, preferable without snow so the ground freeze but no luck so far. The rest of it can be warm and nice though 🙂 The flies came later in the day instead and I did get a few bites too, first it hurts and then it itch and after that I love fly poison 🙂

      A cold drink and a couch is always right 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 13, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

