The most wonderful morning.

From my mormors old camera, the Gevabox.

From my mormors old camera, the Gevabox.

I’ve had the most wonderful morning today. I drove quite early to the hospital to get my insoles and was lucky to be the first one there. I don’t think it took more than five minutes to get them adjusted to my two pair of shoes. After that I drove to the marina, the sun was shining and there was a weak but just enough warm breeze to keep me cool. I took several photos but only with old cameras, it would have been too much with my digital too because old cameras weigh lots more than modern ones.

 

Sotis is getting bigger now.

Sotis is getting bigger now.

DSC_0022 (10)

Mosquitos don't need lots of water to become more. I do hope the puddle dries out fast.

Mosquitos don’t need lots of water to become more. I do hope the puddle dries out fast.

DSC_0024 (11)

Vacation season has started and I saw lots of people walking their dogs and I wished I could have brought my two too, Sune would have loved to swim in the lake, Nova would have liked to drink the water 🙂 There was also a big group of Canadian geese and those are not birds to mess with 🙂 They refused to move when I came walking so I had to walk in a half circle around them and realised how much they poop, it looked like lots of smallish dog poops to be honest but they were green 🙂 I also passed through thick clouds of midges, our black flies but they don’t like me especially much thankfully. I think one or maybe two bit me but that’s it.

 

There isn't much water left in the creek now but he still jumps in when he can :-)

There isn’t much water left in the creek now but he still jumps in when he can 🙂

DSC_0028 (11)

DSC_0029 (12)

DSC_0030 (10)

 

It was when I walked by the water I suddenly started to long for the ocean. The lake is big enough so it behaves like an ocean in most ways but there it doesn’t smell the same, no salty smell with a touch of seaweed and that smell that is so hard to describe. Small fish jumped up in the air so I think pike, walleye and perch might have been out hunting or perhaps even trout. I guess it would have been a good morning to fish so I almost regretted not bringing a fishing rod. We can fish for free in the ocean and the five big lakes here but we do need a fishing license in almost all other waters.

 

DSC_0026 (11)

DSC_0031 (12)

DSC_0032 (12)

DSC_0033 (11)

 

I parked the car in the center of the city too and walked around for an hour or so before I finally found an open café. Odd that they don’t open early so people can have their morning coffee and a croissant there. I could however get some Thai food already when I arrived in the city, they obviously don’t think it is odd to have cooked food that early in the morning 🙂 I just can’t eat cooked food that early though so I never went in even though it smelled delicious.

 

Just imagine how many shades of green there are.

Just imagine how many shades of green there are.

DSC_0035 (10)

DSC_0036 (11)

DSC_0037 (11)

It takes around an hour to get to Falköping from Lidköping if one drives legally 🙂 so I had to leave before 11am if I wanted to be in time for my appointment at the optician. I did have some time left when I arrived so I walked around in Falköping too. I bought some tea and the best ice cream there is in that town before I went to the optician which is on the same street.

 

DSC_0038 (9)

DSC_0040 (9)

DSC_0041 (9)

DSC_0042 (8)

We managed to take a short walk when I came home, the flies drove Nova crazy so she turned homewards as soon as she could, there aren’t that many flies but they behave insane so I think thunder might come soon, they predict thunder for tomorrow. None had however predicted showers for today and I guess that none of us is surprised that it did rain here 🙂

 

The rest of the photos were taken with the Balda Jubilette. I still have a long way to go to get really good photos with most of the old cameras, it is a totally different thing to use them.

The rest of the photos were taken with the Balda Jubilette. I still have a long way to go to get really good photos with most of the old cameras, it is a totally different thing to use them.

A19521_005A

A19521_006A

A19521_008A

It is time for a pot of tea and after that a walk if the flies starts to behave normal again.

Have a great day!

 

A19521_019

A19521_020

A19521_021

A19521_022

6 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Bah, bah, black sheep. Have you any wool? Yes sir, yes sir, three bags full.
    Sotis isn’t quite big enough to supply three bags full but he seems to be getting there quickly.

    I love seeing skippers. They hold their wings funny and it always looks like the wings have been folded up in the middle or have some weird deformity. There are several different species of skippers here and a lot of them look very much alike.

    The little lake near me has a large Canada goose population. The poo is everywhere. It’s grass green and white and it’s mostly on the grass so it’s a little difficult to see it. Add to that the dog poop that lazy owners don’t pick up and it can be an adventure walking around there.
    Even though it’s a tiny lake, it has some really big fish in it. Every summer there are a couple of pairs of cormorants who manage to nest and feed young on the fish from the lake. Now and then, while walking along the shore, I’ve seen big fish come right up out of the water to bag a food item. By huge, I mean a couple of feet long which is pretty big for a lake that’s only three miles in circumference and maybe 20 feet deep at most.

    Today is sunny and mid- 70’s F. A lovely day. Tomorrow will be the same and Sunday will be hot.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 17, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have the same soing here but our lyrics says bä, bä, vita lamm which means bah bah white lamb and our lamb only habe one sack full 🙂 That’s enough to make one sunday skirt for mother, one holiday coat for father and two pair of sock for little brother. Since there was a little brother there must have been a bigger one too (or sister of course) but that child gets nothing! 🙂

      I rarely see the poopehere since the fields also is filled with cows 🙂 I guess one must see it like they are fertilizing the lawns in Lidköping since no one hunts them in the dark of the night 🙂 Well that would be three hours this time of year since it is full of light the rest of the day here right now 🙂

      Tiny lakes quite often have big fish and thet is what is most healthy for both the lake and fish actually. The lake in the bog here doesn’t have big predators but a zillion small fish.They become so many that there isn’t enough food in the lake to let them grow big. Big predators would quickly make the balance of food and fish population right though.

      The rain is pouring down outside at the moment, Nova refused to go outside 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 18, 2016 at 4:35 am

      • The older child gets nothing because she’s the one singing the song to the lamb and will be the one to turn its fleece into gifts for her parents and little brother. I have an explanation for everything. 😀

        June 18, 2016 at 7:39 pm

      • 🙂 and is perhaps the one having the lamb as dinner later on 🙂

        June 19, 2016 at 8:46 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like a very lovely day for you!! I know exactly what you mean about longing for the ocean. I totally long for it each and every day. Love the smell too….salt, fish and seaweed. No better smell in the world in my opinion!! Being landlocked with only 3 rivers in this city I miss the power and beauty of the ocean. We have a massive Lake called Lake Winnipeg where our cottage is. Sometimes it feels like the ocean but it doesn’t fool me!! 🙂 we had quite the thunderstorm this morning and lots of rain. Its very humid now and our mosquitoes are wicked now. The city has started fogging but we are not going to be the zone for tonight. They use malathion which I am nervous about so I put our address on the no fog list. They will turn off their fogging machine 100 meters from our property and then back on after another 100. I am probably not popular with my neighbors but that’s OK! 🙂 Off to get my haircut this afternoon and that’s it! Have a good evening!

    June 17, 2016 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It truly was 🙂 I grew up with that smell and later on I didn’t live especially far from the ocean so I do miss the smell but most when I am by the big lakes here, Ilove the forest even more so it is too bad the forest isn’t just beside the ocean 🙂

      This lake feels just the same but since it has no ocean smell it doesn’t fool me either 🙂

      The prediction for thunder now in the morning is gone but it is still there for around noon. It rained so badly now when I opened up the door for the dogs that Nova just turned and walked in again 🙂

      It is so hard to get permission to do anything towards flies and mosquitos in this country that when someone actually get permission it’s headline news here 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 18, 2016 at 4:42 am

Leave a Reply

