I just wish this was over now!

DSC_0030 (13)

I’m still not especially well to be honest, the coughing has kept me awake most parts of the night and I’ve now seen a lot of night-time tv and I won’t miss that when this finally is over 🙂 I now also have an aching right foot heel 🙂 I gave up after waking ap the zillionth time coughing my lungs out and walked downstairs. I’m not sure why but when I had three more steps to walk before I had come down to the bottom floor I just too one big leap out in the air 🙂

 

The garden do get a special shine on rainy mornings.

The garden does get a special shine on rainy mornings.

DSC_0033 (14)

DSC_0034 (13)

DSC_0037 (14)

I’m not quite sure how I did it but I landed like a super hero always does in films, You know when they land in high speed and hard but in full control sort of half kneeling with one hand on the ground 🙂 🙂 🙂 I guess looking at all these super heroe movies finally paid off 🙂 Still I did land on something with my right heel and I can feel that very well right now 🙂 I think that the coughing at least has stopped when I’m awake though, it would have been better if I coughed while awake but not while I was sleeping though but at this stage I’ll take anything 🙂

 

Delphiniums have opened up.

Delphiniums have opened up. All standing photographs are more manageable if You click on them.

Soon the weed flower bed will look at its best. The bright yellow Greater celandines, the deep blue geraniums and usually quite a lot of white flowers too.

Soon the weed flower bed will look at its best. The bright yellow Greater celandine, the deep blue geraniums and usually quite a lot of white flowers too.

Perhaps I should plant some Betony in the weed flower bed too.

Perhaps I should plant some Betony in the weed flower bed too.

The first Foxgloves flowers too. Normally I have more white ones than the common pink.

The first Foxgloves flowers too. Normally I have more white ones than the common pink.

The fever came back too but today it finally has lowered so much that I think it is over for this time. So it looks like I have been through the worst now but I won’t celebrate until it is over 🙂 I’ve had the kitchen door open as much as possible (we’ve had lots of rain so it has been open in between showers) so that the dogs have been able to go outside as they’ve pleased. Taking walks have not been an option, My energy has run out after just a few yards 🙂 Unfortunately that has meant lots of flies in my home and today I finally gave up and brought out the heavy weapon, fly poison spray! It is some kind of nerve toxin which is harmless for mammals and spiders for instance but very effective towards flies. Smells bad though so I forced the dogs outside while it was doing its job. There will soon be thousand more here but at the moment my home is nicely fly free 🙂

 

Butterflies just love chives.

Butterflies just love chives.

DSC_0048 (7)

DSC_0049 (8)

The red leafed elderberry bush has pink flowers.

The red leafed elderberry bush has pink flowers.

We’ll celebrate Midsummer’s eve here tomorrow, it is almost or perhaps just as big as Christmas here and even though the christian church tried to make it a christian holiday (John the Baptist’s birth day) they failed utterly and it is still a very pagan holiday here. This should of course have been celebrated on the solstice but politicians didn’t seem to like that we had another paid holiday so they moved Midsummer so that Midsummer’s day always came on a Saturday. How they failed, even employers want to have Midsummer’s eve off so together with the unions they decided we should have Midsummer’s eve off but with full pay 🙂 but more about our holiday tomorrow.

 

DSC_0054 (6)

DSC_0056 (5)

The rest of the photographs comes from the Kiev4.

The rest of the photographs comes from the Kiev4.

A19519_021A

It is time to try and fall asleep sitting in front of the tv again. It is sunny and rather warm with very low humidity outside today, would have been perfect to take walks in if I hadn’t had this cold. Tomorrow might get nasty warm with humidity around 97 % all day, so even if I’m much better by then I still won’t have any energy to do anything anyway 🙂

 

These photographs were taken where I lived before I moved to this cottage. I don't think it is a nature reserve but the land owner keeps it like it was. A fallen tree stays where it is and the path that might be blocked takes another way around the tree after a while :-)

These photographs were taken where I lived before I moved to this cottage. I don’t think it is a nature reserve but the land owner keeps it like it was. A fallen tree stays where it is and the path that might be blocked takes another way around the tree after a while 🙂

A19519_023A

A19519_024A

A19519_025A

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Så otroligt mycket vackra blommor du har! Fast det är ju precis den här tiden då Sverige är som vackrast och det är nog fint överallt – utom längst norrut där jag hörde dom hade fått snö!! Stackare!!! 😦
    Här är så otroligt varm just nu att jag – och Santos – föredrar att vara inne. Rolle däremot är ute och rensar runt pionerna på Pennys grav – jag har misskött dennämligen! 😦 😦
    TREVLIG MIDSOMMAR
    Susie

    June 23, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja nu är verkligen den vackraste tiden! Ja stackarna om de fått snö!

      Här ligger runt 20 så det är rätt behagligt men fuktigt ute. En svag vind hjälper lite i alla fall. Har korsdrag i huset men det känna knappt 🙂

      Man hinner inte alltid med allt, framförallt inte om man so du haft hälsoproblem.

      Trevlig Midsommar och jobba inte ihjäl dig nu när du har gäster, de kan gott hjälpa till!

      Christer.

      June 23, 2016 at 2:18 pm

  2. jaz

    that cold sounds awful. i hope it leaves you soon. your garden looks beautiful. i love all of the flowers. it seems like we always have high humidity here and i hate it.

    June 23, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have to admit that this cold was a nasty one. I think it is slowly leaving now ands I long for that first night without coughing 🙂

      I think we have a slightly higher humidity here than most places since the bog is just outside our homes but we rarely have it that hot as You have so often thankfully. High humidity and hot weather is a nasty combination!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 23, 2016 at 2:21 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I am sorry to read you are still unwell. Do you think you need to visit the doctor with the fever and the coughing? You might have a touch of bronchitis. I do hope that fever finally breaks and you feel better. Today is going to be hot as is tomorrow. We have a great chance of thunderstorms tomorrow with the humidity building and the temperatures. They are saying with the humidex it will feel like 32 or greater. Yuck. I hate it when it gets this hot. Yesterday was incredibly lovely at 22. That’s perfect. I love that betony. I have planted sweet woodruff last year and I do hope it takes and then takes off. Its a low ground cover and the leaves and little flower are delightful. The grackles have pulled all my marigold flowers off. Not sure they they do that, they don’t eat them and marigolds have a unique smell which I would have thought would be unpleasant – but I guess not!! I also need to find a recipe using collard greens. I am not sure if I told you that I bought what I thought was cabbage but turned out to be collard greens. I have never had them so I have no clue what to do with them! Off to research Google I guess. Have a good evening and hope you feel better soon!

    June 23, 2016 at 3:29 pm

    • Dianna

      P.S. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Forgot to mention – you should have had a cape on when you landed like a superhero! That would have made it totally legitimate! 🙂 And the final photos of where you used to live are amazing!!!! You live in a very beautiful spot. I may just have to come for a visit one day! 🙂 And bring dog treats….

      June 23, 2016 at 3:32 pm

      • That would have been cool but since this was involuntarily I would most likely have messed up in my cape and broken my feet or something 🙂

        Most of Sweden actually look like this, I’ve heard that this is the most urbanized country in the world. My dogs would love You for the rest of their lives, if You bring the right kind of treats 🙂

        June 24, 2016 at 4:45 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I thought I possibly would have to call the doctor today but after waking up at 2am because I was coughing my lungs out I suddenly felt how my throat got better and then the fever gave up too 🙂 The coughing will stay for long, that I’m used to but if the fever and the thraot stays the same there will be no call to the doctor 🙂

      oday will be rather warm and most weather sites says we’ll have plenty of thunder later in the day.

      I managed to weed away lots of sweet woodruff in my earlier home before I understood what it was 🙂 🙂 The Betony would survive in Your climate zone and it spreads in a nice speed.

      Some birds do like that and I never really know why. I know ravens love the yellow male flowers on Pines, I think they decorate their nest with them. Birds however have a very bad sence of smell so they most likely don’t care about that.

      I had to check what collard greens are and it looks like we’re growing one here, it is quite often eaten at Christmas as stewed. I think however that it can be used in much the same way as cabbage but it gets bitter if it gets too old.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 24, 2016 at 4:42 am

  4. Hi Christer,
    That was a super move. 🙂 Good thing you weren’t coughing at the time or it might have taken your mind off your superhero form. 🙂
    I did one of those moves on the stairs once. I was at the top of the outside stairs at work. There were more than three steps. Concrete with railings. Somehow I tripped over something at the top. I figured I was going to fall anyway so I jumped. Somehow I managed to land on my feet with my hand on the railing and facing back in the direction I’d come. My friend was at the top looking down at me in silence. I said “Well that was gracefully done”, and she replied “Yes. Graceful like a young elephant.” I opined that young elephants had their own particular kind of grace and she should know because she grew up with them. She assured me that’s what she had meant. Right. 🙂

    I love your weed garden. Mine does not look so nice. It has celandine and buttercups as well as some ferns and some kind of purply-pink phlox. But all those things go to seed very quickly and end up as spindly ex-flowers with leaves. Maybe I should throw some random flower seeds in there and see what transpires. Blue betony would be cool.

    Yesterday my favorite knife fell down behind the kitchen stove and when I tried to get it out with the kitchen tongs, it fell all the way down and underneath. The stove can be moved but I didn’t take into account that it’s a heavy 1950’s model and probably hasn’t been moved since 1972. It didn’t move this time either but I managed to pull my right hamstring muscles. Walking is uncomfortable today for me as well. I feel your pain.

    I hope your cold and fever go away but if they don’t go soon, you should see the doctor.

    Enjoy the day in spite of everything.

    June 23, 2016 at 4:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes coughing does make the mind wonder elsewhere, like if one will survive it or not 🙂 I am impressed by Your jump, graceful or not 🙂 Isn’t it odd that we sometimes can do things like that and other times we fall like a tree in a storm just by walking over a threshold 🙂 🙂

      The good thing with my weeds are that they continue to flower over and over again until it gets too cold, I guess that’s why they spread so good 🙂 The problem with throwing randome seeds in to a weed bed is that it almost must be a worse weed than the ones already growing there to stand a chanse to survive at all 🙂 Betony would survive well though and it has a few relatives that most likely would take over totally 🙂

      It is always our favorite knives that we drop like that, I did the same thing a few days ago but managed to get it back by using the poker to the fire stove. I do hope that hamstring of Yours get better soon!

      I woke up at 2am today while coughing my lungs out. I went downstairs and suddenly I felt how my thraot felt better and after that the fever sunk 🙂 I will cough for plenty of days more though but I think it is going the right way now 🙂 Knock on wood and all that 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 24, 2016 at 4:55 am

  5. Christer,
    I’m so sorry you still have that awful cold. Coughing saps your energy, and when you can’t sleep, it takes much longer to recuperate. I’m glad to hear you think you’re heading toward being well.

    I hate flies in the house. There were 3 yesterday, and I have no idea how they got in. I managed to get all of them outside as each one landed on the screen door. I opened it and out they went.

    Your flowers are just so beautiful, even the wild flowers. There is a lot not too far from here. There used to be a house on it, but the house was torn down. That lot is just filled with the most beautiful wild flowers. My sister also has a wild flower garden.

    Feel better!!

    June 23, 2016 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I think it has turned now 🙂 I woke up at 2am while coughing my lungs out and when I went downstairs I could feel how my throat got better and the fever is gone too. I do hope this was it because I’m really tired of this now. The coughing however will most likely stay for quite some time more, it always does.

      Three flies indoors would be a fantastic day here 🙂 I can have up to thirty if I’m unlucky and I do put up new sticky fly papers almost every week 🙂 🙂

      Old properties like that always have wonderful flowers and even if one tried it can never look as beautiful in ones own garden if one tries to get it the same there, wildflowers don’t like planning at all 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 24, 2016 at 4:59 am

Leave a Reply

